We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Amazing Leti..”

Saint John Ale House
Reserve with OpenTable
Saint John Ale House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 240 Restaurants in Saint John
Price range: $11 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union street,City Rd onto Smythe St
Transit: Situated directly on the Saint John waterfront,we are perfectly situated for all types of travel, including the Saint John Transit. There is a taxi stand in front of the Hilton Hotel. We are connected via indoor pedway to Market Square retail,business complex and Harbour station.
Description: We are a progressive pub with loads of local craft beers on tap and in the bottle. We have great Chef Jesse Vergen that seeks out the very best of local ingredients to present an ever evolving menu. We are cutting edge, fun and entertaining...seek a reservation online or give us a shout. We sit on the waterfront in Saint John with great entertainment and a big patio for fun all summer long!
Williamstown, Canada
2 reviews
“The Amazing Leti..”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great experience as far as our server "Leti" is concerned as she won't have it any other way. After walking the city for a while with our 70 year old parents we stopped for lunch. We were tired and a bit demanding. Most servers would allow that setting to affect their attitude toward their guests. Leti took that as a challenge and turned it all around to completely make our day. Thanks for that !! The prices, on the other hand, are extremely high.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    253
    137
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
413 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good place for beer or wine.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Located on the board walk and a good place for people watching. If nothing else, stop here for a glass of wine or a pint of beer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best maple bacon wrapped scallops appetizer”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

On a week long business trip, ate here 3 times. Service first two times, excellent. Leti on night 2 was great. Will come back next time in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wjwolf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location ok food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location but the food was really just average. My mussels came out dry as a bone. Not a drop of broth in the bowl. Weird. Oysters were good, clams were just big and tough. Lousy wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genece M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Chose based on trip advisor rating, menu choices and proximity to the delta. Our server was amazing and very accommodating considering we were there with an infant and two busy kids under five. I had the lobster sandwich - it's huge and totally something that can be shared by 2. Food was good, location by the water nice. My husband liked the beer sampler where he got to try 6 smaller glasses of different draft beers. All in all a great place to catch a dinner on a patio in the nice weather!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OntarioRNmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint John Ale House also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Saint John Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing