We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillside Motel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The motel is older and basic. The small room included a small fridge, older stove and oven and dishes - we didn't use these. We picked up the free, small continental breakfast (packaged oatmeal, cookies, fruit, coffee, tea and milk) at the office and went to our room to eat. The TV was older and could have been clearer at times, but there were lots of channels - all day Olympic coverage. There was no AC but it cooled down at night. There was a limited view of the Bay of Fundy, but you overlooked industrial areas. The room was clean but there was a lot of black in the shower - mold? There is no phone (phone books - yes), hairdryer or facial tissues. Shampoo was limited. Lokish at the desk is very friendly and helpful. It is in a residential area with shopping areas and Irving Park nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ruckenbackdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    89
    31
    12
    15
See reviews for
43
79
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night en route from Quebec to Halifax. $75 inc for big room with 2 double beds. Room had kitchenette was basic and a bit dated but very clean and fresh. Room
Was on a corner with views to the sea( over the industrial area) and to the city. Breakfast included but very basic, fruit and porridge. The standout was the helpfully staff, so friendly. Would definitely recommend - budget but no dump!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank stockjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was stuck for the night without a room in Saint John. I went to one of the big name hotels, but it was under construction. I needed a decent room i could drive right up to. I called and was offered a suite at a very reasonable price. When I looked online and saw that the motel was ranked a 1 star, I nearly kept driving. I'm glad I didn't. The gentleman that greeted me was extremely hospitable and his wife was very friendly as well. I made him show me the room and I was blown away by the size of the room. It had 2 bedrooms, full bath, full kitchen (w/ SS appliances) and sitting area. big flat screen tvs in both rooms.

These are converted houses. From what I understand the main motel rooms are much smaller. None the less, my stay was fantastic and the staff/ owners are great.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the suites unattached from the main motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This motel complex is a short distance to the west of downtown Saint John. Very convenient to a number of restaurants with a very reasonable price. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with microwaves and small refrigerators. It even has a view of part of Saint John. The owner is very concerned with the traveler's comfort, which is quite unusual for budget motels. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I stayed as a solo traveler in a suite like unit nearest the highway, which had two adjoining rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gadfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night, there is no AC but there is no need!!! It is a quick place and on top of the hill with a great cool breeze. You can see most of the city from the window! The manager gave us great information on what to see and where to see it !!

Room Tip: The corner rooms have alot of windows for great lighting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fbyrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Once in awhile you come across a motel that feels like home. This is one of those motels. It is a bit of an odd place and there aren't a lot of bells and whistles. But it is clean and the owner clearly cares about his guests. It is worth going to this motel just to meet him. And the price is great. I would far rather stay in a place like this, with all its peculiarities, than in some generic hotel that costs twice as much. I am very glad that I chose to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed one night at this motel in August of 2012. The owner is super cheerful and friendly. He gave us plenty of advice of nearby attractions. He was very thoughtful in offering us a free upgrade to a suite-like accommodation. It's a plain, very basic lodging for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LKKnSPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.8 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#10 of 19 in Saint John
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Motel

Property: Hillside Motel
Address: 1131-1141 Manawagonish Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 3X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hillside Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to exceed your expectations to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Providing the best hospitality is one of our main business. If you need additional service e.g. internet access, fax access, extra towels, extra blankets or pillows please contact Housekeeping or motel manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Saint John
Hillside Motel Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing