We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Carl and Jim were amazing and very personable hosts. The house is beautiful and the breakfasts were exceptional. Carl and Jim provided recommendations for restaurants and things to do and see. They also enlightened us with the history of Saint John. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephiechung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trickey-Crooks, Owner at Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your recent visit to our city and for sharing our home with us. We are glad you had a great visit and look forward to your return.

Good health and safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    14
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is fantastic. Very nice hosts. We ended up getting there much latter than we had planned. Did not get to see much of the town. When we were driving in I was a little concerned as the town is going through a renovation. We were told by James that the town is very safe. Loved the place. Talked to several very friendly natives. Would love to back again and spend more time. Would absolutely stay here again

Room Tip: We stayed in the cranberry wine room. The balcony was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phraater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trickey-Crooks, Owner at Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your brief visit to our city and for the opportunity to share our home with you. On your next visit we hope you will plan 3-4 days so you can experience more of what our city and surrounding areas can offer. We are at times a hidden gem that people miss. When coming back let us know and we will help you to fill your days rain or shine.

Good health.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

An elegant historic property, meticulously maintained, with most accommodating and gracious hosts. Our second time after three years, and it was even better. The only B&B to consider when in Saint John, NB.

Room Tip: Our favorite is Mahogany Rest. Ask to see the music video that was shot in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEZ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trickey-Crooks, Owner at Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for your visit and your comments. It was good to read that we have maintained and even possibly improved upon our service. We so enjoy return visits and welcome your feed back. It was so much fun to have the Hunter Hayes video shot in our home and neighborhood. Check out "I want Crazy' but remember that the room color was changed for the video and the furniture you see are props and not what is usually there.

We will look forward to a third visit in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The inn is absolutely love, and perfectly located on a quiet side street in the central part of historic Saint John. Walkable to everything. The owners Jim and Carl couldn't be more gracious. They're also well acquainted with the history of their inn, and the area, know the best places to eat, what beers to enjoy, and they make a fantastic breakfast. There's a friendly cat on site who I was told by the owners was featured briefly in country star Hunter Hayes' video for Call Me Crazy, which was shot at this inn. Who doesn't want to stay in a beautiful Queen Anne inn with a famous cat?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeredithKLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The house is brillant and you feel welcome as soon as you step inside. Carl and Jim are very good hosts and nothing seem to much trouble for them. We do not think there is anything that they do not know about Saint John and the area around there We stayed for four nights and if we come back to Canada I am sure we will try to stay their again. The breakfasts are great fresh fruit,home made jams to go with the toast and a different hot dish each day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crankyveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trickey-Crooks, Owner at Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings,

We are so glad to hear that you had an excellent visit to our city and had the opportunity to share our home with us. We will look forward to a return visit in the near future. Until then good health and safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The house is HUGE and beautiful and very well maintained. The room we had was grande with bay windows. Our house guests Carl and Jim made us feel right at home and had great ideas on visiting the city. The morning breakfast was superb. Next time we visit the area we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonshiner_2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trickey-Crooks, Owner at Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings from Saint John,

We thank you for your recent visit to our city and for the opportunity to share our home with you. We are glad you had a good visit and hope that we will have the opportunity to meet again and share more of what we and our city has to offer.

Until your return we wish you good health and great adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A delightful old residence right in the historic part of downtown Saint John. Carl & Jim were most welcoming and had lots of suggestions of what to see and do and where to eat.

Breakfast on our first day included home made French Toast and on our second day home made pancakes as well as fresh fruit salad coffee etc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trickey-Crooks, Owner at Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Good day. Thank you for the review of our property. We are very pleased that your stay with us was very positive. We strive very hard to meet and hopefully exceed the expectations of our guests. It was clearly a pleasure to share our home with you. Hopefully we will have another opportunity to do so.
Carl & Jim Trickey-Crooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.4 mi away
Chipman Hill Suites
Chipman Hill Suites
#1 of 16 in Saint John
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 220 Germain St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 2G4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahogany Manor Bed And Breakfast Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing