We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously Good!!”
Review of Italian By Night

Italian By Night
Reserve with OpenTable
Italian By Night is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 241 Restaurants in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Every detail of the restaurant, the honesty of the food, the warmth and expertise of our servers and the urban rustic decor all play an integral role in capturing the essence of eating in Italy. Italian by Night is an urban Italian restaurant and bar with a cuisine focused on combining imported Italian ingredients with local seasonal ingredients. We use old world techniques in a modern kitchen.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
“Seriously Good!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Table of 10, quick service, yummy food, right price -- lovely people.

Can't wait to return!

Thanks so much Liz!!

sfxo

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_F_Foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    11
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, casual feel.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here for a quick bite as it is really close to the Delta Brunswick. I only ordered a pasta dish but it was fast and very tasty, yet unpretentious. Decor is really nice, dining room is not too quiet but not loud, and feel is on the high side of casual. Elizabeth, the owner, is super friendly. In just a few minutes of chatting with her, I found her passion and efforts are evident. I will definitely return on future visits to Saint John. Definitely recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fierykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbandeli, Owner at Italian By Night, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your post. I definitely recall talking with you when you picked up your food 'to go'. Halifax, your home town has great restaurants and typically the highlight of my visits there. We'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Saint John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“WITHOUT DOUBT A FIVE STAR RESTAURANT!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I am thrilled to write a review for Italian By Night, located in the Urban Deli premisis on historic King Street in Saint John, New Brunswick.

My husband and I and our very dear friends with whom we dine regularly, went to Italian By Night this past Wednesday night.

The atmosphere was lovely, and the service, and menu were excellent also, but none of this even bears discussion once you have tasted the food.

Truly, it is absolutely fabulous.

There are four courses on the menu, and the diners may choose all four courses or only some of them.

The four of us shared two appetizers, two pasta selections and then each chose our own entree.

The food was simply "melt in your mouth". I absolutely cannot wait to go back.

The owner and the chef make a point to visit your table and advise you on what to order and dishes and cutlery are swapped out quickly for fresh ones once used.

Truly a night to remember and one to be repeated. A TRUE STAR ON THE RESTAURANT SCENE IN SAINT JOHN. Why didn't we try it before? It has been open for a year. We will be back in the very near future.

My husband and I own Chipman Hill Suites hotel here in Saint John. We will be making a point of sending our guests to Italian By Night for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chipmanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The meal was delicious... with great items to choose off the menu. The service was spectacular. Definitely one of the best restaurants in Saint John!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkillamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian By Night also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Italian By Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing