We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Was Not Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858
Ranked #4 of 14 Saint John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We arrived from the US, late, in a pouring rain, and left shortly after breakfast....it just wasn't enough time. This fine, large property is exquisitely furnished, the owners were very hospitable, and the bedding and breakfast were very good. Sadly, we had lots to see in NB, NS, and PEI, and couldn't spend more time at the Homeport, but we loved the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDaytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 221 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2014

If you want perfection go stay at the Hilton; however if you want to be truly comfortable and see St. John for its true splendour then you should stay here. Homeport is perched high up on a hill overlooking St. John and consists of two incredibly old grand homes that were properly joined by a link that Ralph had built in 2000. The architecture and interior of these homes are absolutely stunning in every sense and the history behind them is incredible.

We travelled through New Hampshire, Maine, and then arrived into New Brunswick on our way to PEI. I was worried about St. John for two reasons. Firstly, we have never stayed at a B&B before and secondly, we were weren't sure "how" to experience the city. Fortunately there is a terrific walking path that takes you down to the harbour, then into the downtown core. We are in our mid 50's and found the walk to be fun and invigorating. The people in St. John couldn't have been nicer and we experienced it for what it is.

We arrived back at Homeport and enjoyed the best bed of all of the places that we have stayed. The water pressure and temperature was great, the television and wi-fi worked well, and it was a very comfortable stay. Breakfast was wonderful also and a strawberry waffle was prepared for us, accompanied by an assorted of fresh muffins, fruits, and cereals, etc.

Homeport doesn't have perfect paint, decor, or smell but would you want it to? It would ruin the feel and ambience of these homes that were built in the mid-1800's. You simply wouldn't experience St. John for what it is, and you would shortchange the overall experience. I understand the owners frustration with some of the negative reviews that are written here - they are, in my opinion, untrue and unjustified.

Choosing this B&B was one of the best decisions of our trip. You cannot go wrong with this spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Veranda Room - no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DeborahMcDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Homeport Historic Inn in Saint John NB is a charming property, with commanding views and lovingly very well kept by proprietor, Ralph. We found it very well located as regards proximity to Saint John downtown and the awe-inspiring natural attraction known as the Reversing Rapids. Great value for money for this location so close to a major North American city. Host, Ralph, is very genial and a font of knowledge as regards dining in Saint John, other city and regional attractions, and local history. Our room was large and very comfortable with lots of period charm, and parking plentiful. If our travels take us back to that part of Canada, we will certainly revisit Homeport at Saint John.

Room Tip: Pack selectively according to length of stay. Good rooms require stair climbing - which is entirely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HughErinaNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great Location in St. John. Wonderful breakfast. Ralph, our host, showed us how to walk into the center of the city along the shore. Views from the "Widow's Walk" of the whole harbor. Our room was inexpensive and beautifully historically maintained. Ralph can share stories of local politics, history, and places to eat and visit. We biked the Fundy Trail (about 1/2 hour drive away) and were awed by the beautiful bay, hills, landscapes and solitude.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criticalcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The rooms were spotless and comfortable.

The owners were extremely helpful in explaining directions around the city.

Breakfast was delicious.

There was a nice collection of DVDs to watch.

There is also a really nice view of the city from here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed one night and were upgraded due to the construction work on Douglas avenue. The room, Fort Latour, was very comfortable and we were even found feather pillows as we do not like artificial ones. The bathroom was wonderful with very nice toiletries. Unfortunately we do not find urban landscapes very attractive and the flyover and railway tracks were not our idea of a good view but I am sure that this inn is the nicest place to stay in Saint John. It is very close to the reversing Falls and we went 3 times to look at the changing waters. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order and our host certainly had thought of everything one might need include printed directions on how to get out of town.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Loretta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Be aware that this is an old inn with lots of nooks & craneys and plenty of ambiance, not one of the stark modern hotels. We stayed here in the Veranda Room for two nights in late June. The room was large, with a great view of the harbor. The furnishings were comfortable and appropriate for the decor of the room. The bath was old, but functional which is all we needed. Breakfast was a different menu each day. Very good - cooked to order by a very friendly woman who would adjust the offerings if they were not to your liking. The hosts were friendly and very informative, making suggestions for spots to visit if asked. There was wifi in the inn, but it did not reach to some of the rooms, including ours. However, there were many private spots on the main floor for lounging with the laptop, so we did not find it a major problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-RTravelers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hello B R traveller Thank you for the kind review of your visit this June. we do try to keep the place looking tip top with summer restoration and ongoing maintainence well under way now that the late spring has left us and the house is having a chance to dry out. And the yard and lawns that looked so poor in early June are trimmed and tidy finally. Glad you enjoyed your stay . Wish we could get WIFI thru the full property but is very large and heavily constructed with 18 inch thick floors and several 2 foot thick brick partitions between rooms where the 18 old original fireplaces are located. But we have provided a strong signal in much of the house and in particular the reception hall and a good place to work or catch up on those vital links to home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
1,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chipman Hill Suites
Chipman Hill Suites
#1 of 14 in Saint John
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858

Address: 80 Douglas Ave, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 1E4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range: $99 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a hill with a commanding view of the Bay of Fundy, and the Historic Port and Skyline of Saint John the Homeport Historic B&B/Inn c1858 provides the perfect setting to relax and enjoy the gracious ambiance of Canada's oldest incorporated city. The twin homes were built in 1858,and were constructed for a prominent shipbuilding family whose boat yard was located a few hundred yards below on the harbor tidal flats. Its unique Italianate architecture reflects the opulence of the time with very large bright windows and rooms, 10 foot ceilings, free standing spiral stair cases, and detailed wood work rosettes, finials and columns. Of particular interest is a pair of carved figure heads that have stood sentinel in the formal twin parlors for nearly 150 years. Come stop for a while and enjoy these magnificently restored Mansions and be pampered in Five Star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing