We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Option in St John”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858
Ranked #4 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Option in St John”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We first discovered this lovely placed when our beloved Sheltie was still alive and we needed pet friendly accommodation, but even though we now travel petless, we plan our trips between Massachusetts and Cape Breton to ensure an overnight stay in this charming B and B overlooking the harbor in St John. The Innkeepers, Ralph and Karen could not be more warm and welcoming, the rooms are tastefully furnished with period appropriate pieces, breakfast consists of a range of choices including homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, and always some sort of hot cooked option (Ralph's eggs Benedict highly recommended when available).

Room Tip: You can see the various rooms on line and choose the one you'd prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fauxpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your experience at Homeport. It is very gratifying to me as the owner when folks take time to share with others their visit. We do carefully read these reviews and with our own in-house review forms we do act on comments and suggestions if we find we are lacking in services.

And thanks for adding a tip to visit our website to see complete details of all our rooms. Each of our rooms are unique in its décor and hopefully something will appeal to our prospective guests. You may also book your favorite room direct from our website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    44
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
140
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friend and I were only staying for 1 night in Saint John before heading up to PEI and Nova Scotia. Ralph greeted us at the door and answered all of our questions about Saint John. The actual home is very nice, and the rooms are all decorated. The main sitting room is nice. Our bedroom was more than adequate for us with 2 beds and a nice bathroom. Everything was very clean. The breakfast in the morning was blueberry pancakes with sausage along with fresh fruit and cinnamon rolls freshly made. Overall, a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roaddogg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Located between the reversing falls and the city core of Saint John. This BandB impressed with great rooms with generous bathrooms and a large sitting room. The house is a very well mantained victorian style house with antiques in the rooms makong you feel like beeing in the 'belle-epoque'. The hosts gave a warm welcome and make one feel almost like at home and were very helpfull in providing information about the possibilities around Saint John . Breakfast was just delicious and in the morning the hosts provided us with very appreciated help for our futher travel journey.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We held my parents' 50th anniversary dinner at the Homeport for 26 people. We definitely made the right choice when choosing the Homeport. Ralph & Karen were wonderful and very accommodating hosts. The dinning area was bright, comfortable and warm, great atmosphere, loads of space to mix'n mingle, fantastic food & wonderful service.
Before everyone arrived we had a look at a few bedrooms and they are gems.
If you need a classy place to host an event or stay for the night Homeport is where you should stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We travel to Nova Scotia yearly and we cross over on the ferry from St. John, New Brunswick. We discovered this wonderful B&B a couple of years ago and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Karen and Ralph are the perfect hosts, who will provide info. on what to see and where to eat or they'll just sit and visit with you. They really take the time to make you feel at home. We have stayed in most of the rooms and they are all quite comfortable. We always get a good night's sleep. The breakfasts are out of this world. The dining room set up encourages you to sit with other guests and we have met some really nice folks during our stays. Wish it was closer so I could visit more often!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ptzmom_nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Luckily all the reviews I'd read before booking this room turned out to be right on the money. Great place to stay. A very nice couple who run it along with 2 adorable dogs.Cute rooms, comfy beds.
Would stay here anytime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

my wife and I stayed here on our first night into Canada on our way to Nova Scotia via the Ferry...our stay was very enjoyable and our hosts were very warm and helpful with information about the area...the breakfast was outstanding...the room we stayed in was the La tour...great view of the harbour....large bathroom, but no door on it and so the toilet was just kind of out in the open near one of the two doors for the room itself...the sheets were a bit worn and had seen better days...but, overall it was a very launching point for our trip into Nova Scotia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C_A_T_SCATSCATSCATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.9 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.6 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858

Property: Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858
Address: 80 Douglas Ave, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 1E4, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a hill with a commanding view of the Bay of Fundy, and the Historic Port and Skyline of Saint John the Homeport Historic B&B/Inn c1858 provides the perfect setting to relax and enjoy the gracious ambiance of Canada's oldest incorporated city. The twin homes were built in 1858,and were constructed for a prominent shipbuilding family whose boat yard was located a few hundred yards below on the harbor tidal flats. Its unique Italianate architecture reflects the opulence of the time with very large bright windows and rooms, 10 foot ceilings, free standing spiral stair cases, and detailed wood work rosettes, finials and columns. Of particular interest is a pair of carved figure heads that have stood sentinel in the formal twin parlors for nearly 150 years. Come stop for a while and enjoy these magnificently restored Mansions and be pampered in Five Star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing