We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858
Nearby Hotels
$139
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$104
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regent Motel(Saint John)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
156
49
11
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
49
11
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsveranda roomwidow's walkeggs benedictterrific hostscaptain's suitenova scotiahill overlookingbreakfast was deliciousbeautiful furnishingsbed breakfastcommon areaslovely homefollowing morningspent two nightsstayed longerold houseminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 222 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

my wife and I stayed here on our first night into Canada on our way to Nova Scotia via the Ferry...our stay was very enjoyable and our hosts were very warm and helpful with information about the area...the breakfast was outstanding...the room we stayed in was the La tour...great view of the harbour....large bathroom, but no door on it and so the toilet was just kind of out in the open near one of the two doors for the room itself...the sheets were a bit worn and had seen better days...but, overall it was a very launching point for our trip into Nova Scotia

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C_A_T_SCATSCATSCATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Homeport twice -- once on our way to Nova Scotia and once returning. The hosts were exemplary in every way -- sincerely interested, fun, engaged, friendly and knowledgable about their town. (Yes, the walk which meanders along the waterfront is not to be missed if you have the energy and good knees). Ralph and Karen have done a fabulous job keeping this historic structure alive and the views overlooking the city and the small grounds are peaceful, the little gardens lovely. Being cyclists, and thus always hungry, the breakfasts were wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As you drive into St. John on the highway, you just have to look up on the hill to see the very imposing Homeport B & B. As we drove up the driveway we still weren't too sure what to expect but once you step through the door - well, it is a different world. It's almost impossible to describe in words. Grandiose and more. So beautiful, from the phenomenal architectural details, the stunning staircase, the seamless connection to the 'second' house, ceiling heights and views that go on forever. To think that these had been private homes, well, we can only dream. The bedrooms are in keeping with the rest of the house. Well appointed rooms with beautiful furnishings. Both Karen and Ralph are very generous with their time and are happy to share the history of the house with you and of course, they are both interesting people in their own right. There are two lovely young women who seem to be in charge of the kitchen and on the morning we were there, we had delicious homemade bread and blueberry pancakes along with fruit, juice and good coffee. We also had a choice of yogurts and cereals. A wonderful atmosphere, all at a very reasonable price. If ever you need to go to St. John, do not hesitate for a moment to stay at Homeport. You will be so glad to have had the opportunity to share the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SQUBAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a lovely historic inn and a great value. The owners, Ralph and Karen are generous with information, the breakfasts are delicious and little touches are everywhere. Guests have several sitting rooms to enjoy and wine is available, which I'd never seen in a b&b. Well-behaved dogs are also allowed. You'll want to tour the house, which is filled with interesting artifacts; it's actually two houses joined together in the mid-19th century. Two caveats which don't subtract from the rating: there are a number of stairs to climb to get to the house and then up to the rooms. More importantly, the professional photographs don't show that a) the property outside is quite small and b) the inn is in a nieghborhood of older houses of varying size and state on a street just off a busy highway in a neighborhood that's a bit run-down. As I say, nothing detracts from the excellance of the inn and it is up the hill, but the photographs suggest a country-like location, and that isn't the case. On the other hand, the McDonald's half a block away actually serves decent coffee early in the morning.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear generous, old-fashioned but with comfortable beds. There is some ambient noise from the street and highway.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

In terms of hospitality the Homeport can't be beaten. Karen and Ralph are exemplary hosts.
Very professional, charming, knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. There when you need them but not smoothering you as some B & B hosts do. It seems almost an insult to call this a B & B.
It is a stunning achievement by joining two historic properties together and creating in the process a magnificent mansion. Anybody would be proud to call this home with towering ceilings, abundant light and an elevated position with interesting views. Wandering around we were captivated by the furniture and furnishings with enough antique bric-a-brac to fill an auction house. We spent two nights in the Crows Nest and did not feel more comfortable during our fifty day road trip. The breakfasts were excellent and Homeport does seem to attract some fascinating guests. If you are travelling to St John then we commend you to stay at the Homeport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captaingeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews