We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and inexpensive tour of Saint John”

City Tour of Historic Saint John - Saint John Transit
Ranked #7 of 13 Tours in Saint John
Type: City Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Holiday, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and inexpensive tour of Saint John”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

For $20PP this was the best value we found. Just turn left on Water St. upon exiting cruise terminal, a couple of blocks to Princess St. and wait for bus. With 2 ships in port on day we were there 3 tours were scheduled, 10:30, 11:30 and 1. The bus arrives about thirty minutes before departure, pay $20, pick seat (40 passenger bus) tour begins on schedule. Our driver Ken was great. As a native of the area he had a wealth of knowledge and interesting history of the area. We made stops at the City Market, Reversing Falls, and had other photo ops while still managing to experience the city of Saint John. We didn't feel rushed and with Ken's wit and sense of humor we felt we had gotten much more than our two hour tour cost. After leaving the bus I suggest either crossing Water St. and walking up Princess St. half a block to Callahan's Pub or continuing along Water St another block or two to their mall, which houses several restaurants, shops, a museum and a Tim Horton's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“All of the cruise ships charge at least twice the price of the City Tour”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

At $20, the City Tour is a great bargain compared to what the cruise ship excursions cost ($40-$50) for the same thing. And I can't imagine the one we took could have been any better. Well worth the money, and you get a local's perspective. It hits the highlights - Reversing Falls and City Market - as well as local points of interest (Donald Sutherland's boyhood home!).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank RosebankMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience and great value for the money”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

There aren't many options for tours in St John. I came across this tour on the Saint John Transit website and my wife and I decided to give it a try. We had a great time! Our tour bus driver (Grant) was extremely knowledgeable about the area. Grant took us through downtown St. John and explained many historically significant locations. Next stop was the reversing falls, which were quite impressive. To find the bus stop, turn left once you exit the cruise port and walk down 3 blocks or so. The bus stops on Water street on the opposite side from Barbour's General Store. The driver will place a sign on the sidewalk once the bus arrives. One item of note: the website states that tour departure times are noon & 2:00pm, but on our tour date (7/28), it was 11:15am and 12:30pm. Excellent value for only $20.00 per person.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank JD_Who6614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok Option for $20”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My boyfriend & I took a cruise to Saint John in October. This was our first time in Saint John. We had not booked a tour through the cruise, figuring we could find something to do on our own. We quickly discovered that Saint John did not have alot to offer. The reversing falls & the old city market are the main attractions. We found this bus tour for $20 & decided it would kill some time. Our driver was a little quirky but informative. We went to the falls, but he was unsure of the time the tide was changing so we got there when the river was "slacking"..not much to see:-( Stopped at the old city market for about 15 minutes, don't need much time more than that. Overall the tour was ok..not great but worth the $20. Definitely bring a camera. After the tour we went to O'Leary's Irish Pub, seemed to be the place to be. Also tried the Bloody Cesars, which were awesome, at a bar around the corner.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank JerzGurl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
1,001 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Excellent, inexpensive city tour service”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I visited in Saint John on a Princess Cruise this month. As per usual, Princess wanted >$50 for a city tour. We discovered that the City of Saint John offers, guided, one and two hour tours a very short walk from the ship. Be advised that this tour only runs from June through early October - not year-round.

You find the tour across the street from the Barbour's General Store. You basically line up at a sign placed on the side walk. The city bus will arrive, you give the driver $10.00 (US) and off you go.

The driver was very knowledgeable, and drove us all around downtown, the various city neighborhoods, and to the Reversing Falls. You can get off at the Reversing Falls and wait for the next bus for the return trip (but it is over an hour wait.) My wife and I could not get over how good a value it was - an excellent tour for much less then you'd pay if you'd booked it on the cruise ship.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Tour of Historic Saint John - Saint John Transit also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to City Tour of Historic Saint John - Saint John Transit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing