We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour and beer!”

Big Tide Brewing Co.
Ranked #19 of 236 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Big Tide Brewing, located at 47 Princess St in Saint John NB. Hand crafted beer of all styles brewed on-site, and a full service restaurant.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
610 reviews
479 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Tour and beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We came here on a tour from our cruise ship. The guide was very friendly and he gave us a brief tour. I'm a bit of a beer snob but he was able to answer my questions. The beer was varied. Some great, some weird, but overall a great experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    65
    27
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food and GREAT BREW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

First time there and will return. Service was great as Katherine was very helpful in describing the food and good knowledge of the beer. Had the Kolsch and just sled down. Food was very good - sirloin tips. The only drawback or change I would suggest is serving at least a slice of bread with the meal. Had two slices and was charge $ 1, not complaining as that was the policy.
Would definitely go back with hesitation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really love this place. The choice of craft beer is excellent, and great pub food, with a bit of a twist. I love the turkey burger and the club quesadilla! Nice, laid back place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good brew, average grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A nice atmosphere and interesting idea for this small brewery to turn pub. We stopped there in Aug 2013 for dinner and had no problem getting in and finding a table (though I think this is the story for most of the city).

The staff & bartender (owner?) were very friendly and we had a good conversation about some local attractions and the best way to get there. The local beer was excellent. The food was average pub food, definitely nothing special about it.

If you're hungry, hit the Subway a few blocks North and then come back to Big Tide for a few drinks and maybe a trivia night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We came back to the Big Tide twice, and found delicious beer, and good and interesting food. Each of the beers I tried was superb. The food was also quite good. I particularly enjoyed the Thanksgiving Club (even better than a standard hot turkey sandwich). The place had a great atmosphere and great staff. I was quite satisfied!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chamberlain2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Tide Brewing Co. also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Big Tide Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing