We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Decimal81

Decimal81
Ranked #17 of 236 Restaurants in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Uptown Saint John, Decimal 81 is dedicated to exceptional food quality, creative cuisine and sophisticated dining.
Soquel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal. Complimentary red pepper and tomato soup. Outstanding. The lamb was superbly cooked and the crusted salmon also. Creme brûlée perfect. Service was good. The only complaint was lack of ambience as there were very few people dining there. It is nicely decorated and I should imagine it hopping at weekends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    22
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Great brunch, awesome dinner”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My fav brunch place in SJ. The menu is relatively limited but has all the essentials! I.e. omelette, eggs benny, french toast, bfast sandwich, and traditional bfast (eggs, bacon/ham, hashbrowns, toast, fruit). All for $6-10! The quiet, calm atmosphere is great for catching up with friends on a lazy weekend morn.

Had dinner here before too. Prices were reasonable for the quality of food. We had the salmon and chicken, and both were excellent. The starter salad was great too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just as good as The Keg.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

No more, no less. Ingredients were fresh and local but they lacked that special je-ne-sais-quoi. Not bad though either. Service was excellent, food was hot and on time. Price was affordable for fine dinning. Just not "special".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dukesask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
623 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great food, world class and a bargain”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I travel all round the world and can safely say the food we ate here was as good as anywhere especially at the price. Same food in Paris would have been 5 times the price and no better. How this place rates behind a java coffee house in the market on trip advisor I don,t know. We chose the $45 5 course tasting menu. Every thing was excellent and the portions were more the size we would expect in Australia as a normal plate not a tasting portion. The risotto was probably near the best we had ever eaten as was the lemon tart dessert. Service was very professional without being stuffy and very up there with the menu ingredients and cooking. The wine list whilst small had fair choices with reasonable prices to start at. If you like real food cooked really well don't miss this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place and very intimate.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Pricey, but good. Saint. John has some great pubs, but we were looking for something a little more romantic. The place is nice and the service is great. I was expecting this to be the best meal we'd had in Saint John, but it wasn't... still recommend it though if you're looking for something other than a pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SebC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Decimal81 also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Decimal81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing