We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in a Great City”
Review of Hilton Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Saint John
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Was recently in Saint John for work and stayed for 5 nights at the Hilton. Located on the boardwalk overlooking the harbour, close to pubs, seafood restaurants, shopping. My room was large, clean and comfy with a partial view of the water. Very comfy bed, quiet at night. Could hear people who were up very early closing their hotel doors which was a tad irritating.

Went to the bar with groups of colleagues also in town for business and the service was fast, friendly, accommodating and the wait staff were welcoming and funny.

Had breakfast at the hotel restaurant each morning and the food was plentiful, while not necessarily creative.

My only recommendation would be to have a small. Store on site where you could buy water, something to read, snacks - the local stores close early.

All in all highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a full harbour view room - very sunny and great view to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brontesassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Brontesassy
Thank you for your very favourable review. We are very please that you enjoyed the hotel location and service during your 5 day visit to our city. Your suggestion regarding the store is very well taken and something we will seriously consider. Kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

First of all, for GPS purposes the address is not 1 Market Square as is shown on the hotel web site. You will go in circles trying to find how to get to the hotel even though the sign is visible from a distance. The actual address is 75 Smythe St which you will eventually find out from the front desk staff.
Hotel is somewhat old with some frayed edges. But on the positive side the staff are very nice and efficient and really try to help.
Parking is across the street and there are lots of restaurants in the area. Location is great - once you find how to get to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are parking across the street for less than 24 hours it's cheaper to pay the parking atte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

clike
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel location and the efficiency of the hotel staff. We are sorry that you had difficulty in locating the hotel. The association with Market Square can be misleading. We are part of the overall Market Square Complex which encompasses not only the hotel but the Convention Centre and Market Square retail and office complex also. As you correctly point out our GPS address is 75 Smythe Street (this is where the hotel front entrance is located). This GPS address, plus detailed driving directions, are provided on the hotel page on 'hilton.com' under the 'maps and directions' tab. We hope to welcome you back again soon as our guest. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

this was the worst hotel we stayed in out of our 14 days travelling through Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick. It was dirty and poor service overall. Location was excellent, so much potential wasted.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank mg25_2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

mg25_2525
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the comfort and cleanliness of your guest room. We sincerely apologize for this and assure you that this area is of great importance to us as we ensure the comfort and satisfaction for our guests. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality service and accommodations you deserve should you return to our area in the future. Kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I always stay at the Hilton for business. This hotel has it all - a great lounge and restaurant area, a decent gym and a pool. Having web service in the room in a big plus! You can count on clean facilities and friendly staff too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sheila Deanne M... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Sheila Deann..
Thank you for your very favourable review. Thank you also for your loyalty to Hilton when you travel on business. We are very pleased that you enjoy the facilities and our service standards meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next business trip to Saint John. Kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location is good, indoor walkway to the farmers market and indoor shopping. Staff is friendly. The full breakfast buffet was excellent. The bed & pillows are comfortable. The room was very dusty and average, we expected a much nicer room for a Hilton.

Room Tip: We asked for a corner room, is was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Llm 68
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments on the hotel location, comfort of the beds, and the quality of the breakfast buffet. We apologise sincerely for the dust you encountered in the room. This has been brought up with our housekeeping team for immediate review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show the levels of room cleanliness we wish to demonstate to our guests. Kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I went over for him to have back surgery, he was in the hospital for 5 days and I was back and forth to the hospital but the staff were very friendly and helped with anything I needed. I felt safe coming in at night by myself through the under ground parking lot since it was only a few feet from where you park to the hotel door. The room was amazing, and I got a good price through the hospital discount. This was his second back surgery in 3 years and we stayed at the Hilton the first time as well. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Devin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Devin H
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and thank you also for returning to stay with us this second time. We are pleased that you loved the hotel room and that the hotel staff made you comfortable during what must have been a stressful time. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that your next trip is strictly for pleasure. Kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had a great stay at the Hilton, a great view, staff was excellent. The food was great, wonderful breakfast... fresh eggs hot coffee. it was great. I had a good time, I was able to walk in the centre of the city, lots of shops and of course Tim Horton coffee shop. that it for now,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gilbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Gilbert D
Thank you for your very favourable review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you found the service and food quality to be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest again very soon. Kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint John

Address: 1 Market Sq, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint John
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: $116 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint John 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hilton Hotel Saint John
Saint John Hilton
Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing