We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saint John Hilton Hotel”
Review of Hilton Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Saint John
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautiful Hotel with the backdrop of the Saint John Harbor Front. It is obvious that this hotel has undergone extensive renovations. It has been modernized and has a very warm appeal for its guests. Certainly recommend this to any travelers that want a cozy place to stay while they plan on visiting the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Craig P
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found that the hotel had a warm appeal. Thank you also for giving us your opinion on the extensive renovation project which we have recently completed. With kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 872 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here while attending a swim meet. First time at the Hilton; previously have stayed at the Delta which is also connected to the inside walkways that allow you to get to the pool and Harbour Station without going outside.

Friendly staff; easy checkin. Room was quite large (with 2 queen beds). Beds were comfortable. Room also had fridge and microwave. Only down side is that parking is expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichA252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

RichA252
Thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay during the Swim Meet at the Canada Games Aquatic Centre. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the size, comfort, and furnishings of our guest rooms. Also the convenience of walking through the interior pedway to the Aquatic Centre. The underground parking adjacent to the hotel is not owned by the Hilton. as an alternative, there are several exterior parking lots within a five minute walk of the hotel where parking is either free or available for a minimal fee on weekends. We hope to welcome you back as our guests again for next years competition! Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arrived late off the Digby Ferry and reception manager was excellent putting us in a dockside room which was exceptionally well furnished. We went to dinner and were amazed when 6 of the main dishes were not available because we were told the restaurant had been busy - this I could accept if some additional items were offered ( which surely be possible for a hotel of this stature) - this left only a few items so being 9pm I had to opt for fish and chips which would not have been my choice. The restaurant manager apologised in a half hearted way and left us feeling dis-satisfied. However the following morning when Reception asked everything OK I told them of my discontent and they promptly halved the restaurant bill - that is what I call great customer service - I do hope the restaurant Manager takes note that reputation actually is worth more than a few dollars!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

MGWedmoreUK
Thank you for taking the time to write and give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologise for the lack of options on the restaurant menu. As you correctly point out, a hotel of our stature should not permit this to happen. It is unacceptable and a review has been done to ensure availability of stated menu items at all times of the day. Thank you for your balanced critique and your very positive comments regarding your front desk experience and the efforts made by the front desk manager to compensate you for your poor restaurant experience. Once again please accept our apologies and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to our City. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Prince Edward Island.

First, the good: This upscale hotel has a spectacular lobby with a lot of marble. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. A cruise ship (Carnival Glory) was docked just outside this hotel at the harbor. We decided to eat dinner at the restaurant. As we were nearly finished, we were excited to learn from wait staff that the Glory was underway and she would be turning around just outside in the turning basin. What a great sight as she gingerly came about and headed out to sea !! We parked in the public parking garage under the convention center across the street. Connection to the hotel is by a tunnel underneath the street.

Second, the not-so-good: With regard to parking, the hotel does NOT have an arrangement for validating (free) parking so we had to pay the full $15.00 overnight fee on our departure.

In our room we found a coffee maker that makes one or two cups at a a time. However, the cups were paper --- not ceramic!! Our brew got chilly in just a few minutes. Also there were no drinking glasses--- only paper cups. The air conditioning left much to be desired. Too humid and not cold enough...never got below 68 degrees F.

There was a small, blue, plastic recycling bin (tub) in our room. What a strange contrast to an otherwise modern, eclectic room design...? Maybe the hotel is required to have this under regulations of the confederation.

Finally, couple of minor things:

There were not enough chairs in which to sit
Only ONE bath towel per person

Room Tip: If they have it, ask for the coldest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gajayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location for a first time expereince of St. John New Brunswick. Would definitely use again. Close to everything and everything was convienent and we had a great view of the harbour. Everyone made our visit special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Jane L
Thank you for your very favourable comments. We are delighted that your first visit to Saint John and experience at the Hilton was an enjoyable one. We are also pleased that you were able to take advantage of the hotel location and enjoy the wonderful harbour views. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family as our guests again on your second visit to Saint John! Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel and found that the quality for what we paid for was simply not there. Food was over cooked and over priced. Portions are small in comparison to price and quality simply did not compensate for that. Rooms are nice but musty....Staff are friendly and there is no free parking so checking in on a Thursday and leaving on a Sunday cost us 60 dollars. Other hotels in the area offered free parking and free breakfast and the rooms are just as nice so we might give those a try next time. Sadly, this hotel wasnt terrible but had nothing extraordinary to offer to bring us back. Atleast the Delta down the street has free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Leslie H
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that we were unable to delivery the levels of service you expected during your recent stay. We are very apologetic for the food quality and your comments have been raised with our Culinary team.
We do not own the parking garage adjacent to the hotel, so unfortunately are unable to offer this service on a complimentary basis to all our guests. There are however several parking lots adjacent to the Aquatic Centre (where the weekend Swimming Competition was being held) where parking is either complimentary or available at minimal charge on weekends. All are within a five minute walk of the hotel.
We appreciate that many of our guests, particularily those travelling with families or for pleasure, prefer the convenience of room rates which include breakfast. We do have packages available which offer various inclusions (eg..breakfast, parking, dining room vouchers, guaranteed waterview etc..) depending on the guests preference. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and perhaps choosing one of these packages. Thank you once again for your honest feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again when you return to Saint John. With kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed two nights in this well situated smaller Hilton property in St. John. Very pleased with the room and the common areas and staff. There is a mid 80s era mall walking distance with a great brewhouse and other eateries or you can walk a few blocks to many dining options in the historic part of downtown.
Nice gym and pool, staff went out of their way to make me comfortable.
For elites, no concierge lounge here but they'll give you breakfast vouchers which include a great breakfast (continental). You'll be happy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Flipper95
Thank you for your very positive feedback on your recent 2 night stay with us. It is very pleasing to hear that our staff went out of their way and that you enjoyed your breakfast at the York Bistro. On your next visit to Saint John we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guests once again. Kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint John

Address: 1 Market Sq, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint John
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: $116 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint John 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hilton Hotel Saint John
Saint John Hilton
Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing