We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Value for the Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Saint John
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“No Value for the Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel and found that the quality for what we paid for was simply not there. Food was over cooked and over priced. Portions are small in comparison to price and quality simply did not compensate for that. Rooms are nice but musty....Staff are friendly and there is no free parking so checking in on a Thursday and leaving on a Sunday cost us 60 dollars. Other hotels in the area offered free parking and free breakfast and the rooms are just as nice so we might give those a try next time. Sadly, this hotel wasnt terrible but had nothing extraordinary to offer to bring us back. Atleast the Delta down the street has free parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Leslie H
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that we were unable to delivery the levels of service you expected during your recent stay. We are very apologetic for the food quality and your comments have been raised with our Culinary team.
We do not own the parking garage adjacent to the hotel, so unfortunately are unable to offer this service on a complimentary basis to all our guests. There are however several parking lots adjacent to the Aquatic Centre (where the weekend Swimming Competition was being held) where parking is either complimentary or available at minimal charge on weekends. All are within a five minute walk of the hotel.
We appreciate that many of our guests, particularily those travelling with families or for pleasure, prefer the convenience of room rates which include breakfast. We do have packages available which offer various inclusions (eg..breakfast, parking, dining room vouchers, guaranteed waterview etc..) depending on the guests preference. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and perhaps choosing one of these packages. Thank you once again for your honest feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again when you return to Saint John. With kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    336
    146
    62
    34
See reviews for
194
315
40
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
321 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed two nights in this well situated smaller Hilton property in St. John. Very pleased with the room and the common areas and staff. There is a mid 80s era mall walking distance with a great brewhouse and other eateries or you can walk a few blocks to many dining options in the historic part of downtown.
Nice gym and pool, staff went out of their way to make me comfortable.
For elites, no concierge lounge here but they'll give you breakfast vouchers which include a great breakfast (continental). You'll be happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Flipper95
Thank you for your very positive feedback on your recent 2 night stay with us. It is very pleasing to hear that our staff went out of their way and that you enjoyed your breakfast at the York Bistro. On your next visit to Saint John we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guests once again. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I should have been utterly disappointed by my recent two night stay at the Hilton Saint John: I did not get the room with harbor view that I had booked. The wait for the elevators between my room on the 11th floor and the lobby was endless at time (more than 10 minutes on some occasions). The access card for the room did not function in two occasions (requiring a trip to the lobby with a long wait at the elevators both ways) and I could not get a temperature above 20.5 C in the room.

However, I will not hesitate to stay again at the Hilton Saint John because of the wonderful service provided by the staff who did their best to minimize the impact of having a very large number of young and very active guests attending a convention in the nearby conference center during that week end. One of the measures was to keep those “regular” guests on the same floor and in the process, I was upgraded to a Junior Suite and offered complimentary Breakfast and Internet to compensate for the inconvenient. The room was facing the city rather than the harbor as I had requested but the view was also nice. After I left, I received an email of apologies from the front office manager who also offered me an upgrade and free breakfast and Internet for my next stay at the hotel.

It also does not hurt that the hotel is very conveniently located, offer comfortable room and an excellent restaurant where I had the best seafood chowder I have ever eaten. The service in the restaurant was also outstanding in line with what we had received elsewhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Paul603
Thank you very much for your very balanced feedback on your stay over the Victoria Day weekend. We are sincerely apologetic for you not receiving the room type which you had requested. Also for the long wait times at the elevator and key card difficulties. We understand how frustrating this can be. Despite the problems you encountered, we thank you for acknowledging the efforts the hotel team made to try and make you as comfortable as possible during an extremely busy weekend.
We hope that you will take us up on our offer of upgraded accomodations during your next visit to Saint John. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I definitely would recommend the Hilton in St. John to anyone that is looking for a central location. It is within walking distance to the Market Place, several quaint pubs/restaurants. The view of the harbour and or City is amazing. The staff is friendly, willing to accommodate anything you request. The rooms are clean as well as the linens. It is definitely a hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Doreen S
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. It was wonderful to hear how you enjoyed your experience at the Hilton. The views of the harbour are indeed wonderful, and as you mentioned, our location allows you to walk to all attractions in the Uptown area. Especially pleasing to us are your comments on the friendliness of the hotel team and the overall cleanliness. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was very impressed with the Hilton in Saint John New Brunswick. The staff were absolutely wonderful and the hotel was very up to date in furnishings and clean. I stopped into the bar for a drink and the staff in the bar were also awesome! I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Darlene W
Thank you very much for your very generous comments. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. The team at the York Bistro + Pub are proud to hear that you were ade to feel so welcome...and we hope to be able to welcome you again very soon on your next trip to Saint John! With kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I don't think that one can ever be dissapointed when staying at a Hilton. The service was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpfull. The room was great and clean. Had a king size bed and a couch, a work desk, a tv, microwave and fridge. Too bad we were only staying 1 night.
Had breakfast in the restaurant and wow they had everything! Croissants, fruits, yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausage and even smoked salmon!

The location is right on the water and a bit hard to find but after turning in circles a few times we finally found it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JsHappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
JsHappytravels
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you had just an enjoyable visit. We very much appreciate your positive comments on the overall service. Our culinary team are very proud of the breakfast buffet at the York Bistro..Chef will share your experience with his brigade!
Regarding your difficulties in locating the hotel, it can be misleading if you are using a GPS and enter '1 Market Square' as your destination. The Market Square complex covers an entire block and many systems will bring you to the Market square entrance on St Patrick Street..rather than to the Smythe Street side of Market Square where the Hilton is located. By entering 'Hilton Hotel..75 Smythe Street' you will arrive at our door. Thank you for your patience and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

An excellent hotel. Very nice location (right downtown), close to shopping at Market Square, and on the water. The rooms are large and very clean, and the staff are first rate in terms of friendlieness and service. Lots of hot water, and the wi-fi connection is quite good. A bit pricey (especially for parking), but otherwise an excellent place to stay in St. John.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unitedfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
UniitedFarmers
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the location to be perfect for your needs. Being on the water and right next to shopping malls and uptown businesses certainly is a big plus. Most appreciated are your positive comments on the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of our staff. We hope to welcome you as our guest again very soon. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint John

Property: Hilton Saint John
Address: 1 Market Square, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint John
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint John 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hilton Hotel Saint John
Saint John Hilton
Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing