We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what it is.”
Review of Hilton Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Saint John
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Overpriced for what it is.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for a night, and had booked the hotel based on it's star rating and the fact that we've previously had good experiences at Hilton hotels. However, there were many things that detracted from our stay and the overall value. Parking was an issue. It is self parking at a lot across the street for twenty dollars a day. No valet parking available, strange for this kind of hotel. Wi-Fi access is not included and is approximately 13 dollars per day. Free Wi-Fi was supposedly available in the lobby but the signal was so weak I was not able to connect. The heating/cooling system was extremely noisy in our room. Room was ok, but there was a hairpin on the floor when we first got to the room, and a few other things that made it seem less than clean. Nothing major but when you're paying more for a room it makes you wonder why bother. There always seemed to be someone smoking right outside the entrance, which was not great to walk through. The restaurant on site was ok, staff were friendly, but the prices were a little silly. $12.95 for a continental breakfast?

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
InvaS
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very sorry that your recent stay was not to your satisfaction. Your comments on the charges for breakfast and wi-fi are well taken and we will endeavour to highlight the availability of packages which include these services. Regarding the parking fees, unfortunately we do not own the underground parking lot adjacent to the hotel so are unable to offer this service on a complimentray basis. Your comment on smoking outside the building is valid and we will post additional signage advising patrons of the correct location, further from the main entrance. The presence of a hairpin is preventable and we apologise sincerely for this oversight on the part of our housekeeper. Despite these disappointments, we hope to be able to welcome you again and experience our hotel as we would wish all our guests to experience it. Kind regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    342
    149
    63
    34
See reviews for
197
320
41
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just spent a night at the Hilton, Saint John. Love how you can go through pedways to Market Square and all the way to Harbour Station without having to go outside. Check in and check out were very quick. Downsides of staying here: not having breakfast included and having to pay $15-20/day for parking. Also I saw where a mini fridge was recently removed from my room, ie. dust where it recently was, however when I phoned down I was told that there were no fridges available at that time. Only two, small, slow elevators.

The upsides were the pedways, quiet rooms, comfortable beds and pillows and big, fluffy towels. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful also.

I would stay here again if I had business in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrobertsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
lrobertsw
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Thank you also on your favourable comments regarding the comfort of the beds, and the room, and the friendliness of the staff.
We apologise sincerely for the presence of dust when the minifridge was removed and for the unavailability of a fridge when one was requested.
We would very much like to offer the option of complimentary parking, however are unable to do so as we do not own the underground parking lot adjacent to the hotel. We do however offer packages inclusive of breakfast and internet, which are proving popular with business and leisure travellers. We hope that during your next visit you will choose one of these options. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed for a conference and the hotel was very clean. I had a comfortable room with a great view of the ocean. The staff was great, the lobby was bright and clean. The location is excellent, close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that your recent stay with us during your conference was a pleasant one. Your positive comments on the cleanliness, the staff, the location and the views from your room are most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
291 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed here approximately quarterly while on business in Saint John over the past few years. I cannot imagine a better place to stay.

The hotel is extremely well managed and maintained, with a staff that is consistently competent and courteous. It is well located downtown on the harbour, with easy access to anywhere in the city.

Consistently clean and quiet rooms, spacious and well appointed. The addition of bathrobes would be a nice touch, however.

Really a delightful place to look forward to in Saint John.

Their restaurant has the same calibre of staff, a wonderful vantage point over the water, and decent food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ottawatraveler
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Thank you also for your loyalty to Hilton and to our hotel during your travels to Saint John. Your comments on the service, cleanliness, quietness, and spaciousness of the rooms will be shared with our team. The suggestion to have bathrobes available to all guests is appreciated and something we will look at implementing. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We originally wanted to stay at this hotel for a night, but we loved it so much that we stayed for aditional night. clean rooms, nice staff, beautiful view (right on harbor), great swimming pool and good food. we ordered meals from the restaurnt to our rooms and all the meals were the best we had at any hotel by far! location is also supreme, close to everything!

Room Tip: Definitely do a harbor view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elnaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Elnaz S
Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted to hear that your recent stay with us was so enjoyable. Your comments on the service, cleanliness, location, and views of the harbour are very much appreciated. We will also share your comments on the great food with our culinary team. We hope to welcome you as our guest again very soon. Kind regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful location right on the harbor and so nice to be able to get to everything so easily through the connected pedway system. The staff was very helpful in suggesting things to see and do in Saint John. The basic breakfast was a bit lacking, but overall I was very pleased with the property.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rootdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Rootdoctor
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is great to hear that your found the hotel location wonderful and enjoyed the convenience of the pedway system to access adjacent malls and entertainment complexes. We hope you will stay with us as our guest again soon. Kind regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at Hilton Saint John on April 2/13. We stayed in a basic room with 2 queen beds. Very nice room...all new and updated. Hot Breakfast was included in our package. Breakfast was so so so. The eggs and sausages were all over cooked and dried up in the warming platter when we got there at 9:30 am and they served until 11 am..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Georges
Thank you for your review. we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We apologise for the poor quality of certain items on the breakfast buffet. Your comments have been passed on to our Food & Beverage team and we will strive to ensure this problem does not reoccur. Thank you again and we hope to have the chance to welcome you as our guest again soon. Kind regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
285 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint John

Property: Hilton Saint John
Address: 1 Market Sq, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint John
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint John 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hilton Hotel Saint John
Saint John Hilton
Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing