We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal Inn was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Traralgon
1 review
“Coastal Inn was ok”
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Prior to booking this Hotel I read some of the reviews and they were mixed, to say the least. However, the price for an Executive Room was unbeatable!!

The Exec Room was very nice indeed with all the amenities that I've come to expect. I can't help feeling that the new owners have tried too hard and just put too much into one small room! The Hotel was reasonably positioned with about a 10 minute walk into the CBD.

The one strong impression that I take back to Australia is that the front desk staff are desperately in need of training in customer service. Quite frankly, they were rude and indifferent to customer needs. My wife and I struggled to unload the 6 cases onto a trolley and squeeze into an elevator. No-one offered any assistance and if a bell-boy existed we didn't see one during our 2 night stay.

  • Liked — Value for money!
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Tips/Secrets — In summer, walk from the Hotel into the city via a route along the shoreline
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teflonkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    61
    64
    45
    57
See reviews for
113
75
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 8, 2006

This hotel is perhaps the most overrated hotel in the St John area. If you manage to get lucky and find a clean room to check in to, you are likely to find the staff rude, discourteous and unhelpful. I've been travelling to St John for 4 years and this is the worst value for money I've seen so far.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint John hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2006

Price was right and the room and serivce were great too.I enjoyed the pool and the new restaurant was oh so good. Worth the money and I will stay there again

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2006

This full service Hotel has without a doubt the best view in the Maritimes.
The service was first class and everybody was so friendly we felt we were staying in a
family style accomodation.
We cannot wait to return to the area.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 2, 2006

I stayed at the Coastal in Fort Howe/St John and I was very happy with my stay. The service was incredible, lots of sweet local ladies helping make my stay comfortable. I was originally only staying 2 nights but made it 4 in the end. I would recommend it to family and friends any day, well worth the money to me, I stay at a lot of hotels and its hard to find one actually worth the price. Local shopping and such was very good too. Canada is indeed beautiful and the fishing isn't half bad either.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2003

We arrived in the middle of a hurricane after a trans atlantic flight from Ireland via, London, St Johns and Halifax where we were delayed to discovert that the hotel had given our room away. There was no alternative offered so we stayed with a friend who just happened to be home that night. I found this attitude to be offhand and incredibly insensitive. We had a 4 night booking and we agreed to come back the next night. Unfortunately our first impressions were not changed. The room was filthy and overlooked the car park and the wondows had no curtains which meant that we needed to draw the blinds during the day which meant we were in permanent darkness. It was sunny outside but we had to read at midday by elewctric light which I found to be horrendous. Room service coffee was served in paper cups and the service was slow and very inefficient. The restaurant was worse still with badly cooked food, sandy filled coffee and filthy utensils, crockery, carpets and serving staff who were more interested in collecting tips that offering any kind of service.
I will NEVER stay in this hotel again. It is cheap at $60CAD per night but for the standard of accomodation it is way overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jack471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Address: 10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing