We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospital Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospital Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a reservation for one night stay at Howard Johnson. We ended up staying 3 nights. My husband had an appointment at the Regional Hospital to start his new treatment. After the treatment we decided to stay at the hotel for a few extra days. I do not drive so the trip would be too much for my husband. The staff extended a hospital rate of $75 per night. This included a made to order breakfast each day. The hotel is convenient located and comfortable. The room had a kitchenette that was equipped with a small fridge, microwave, sink, and a small dining table. We will stay again for his next set of treatments.

Room Tip: Very nice size room and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliemichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    58
    64
    43
    54
See reviews for
107
75
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is great and accomodates anyone. We were there as a get-a-way for ourselves and stayed 2 nights in July. Rooms were nice, beds were very comfortable. Pool was clean and great. Fitness room was a bit small but it did the job. The free made to order breakfast was one of our favorite things. The hotel staff were friendly and very accommodating.
The free Wifi was good to have as we were looking up places to go for site seeing--once we figured out the places we wanted to go we asked the front desk staff who were excellent to talk to. So helpful to us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funguy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our family attended a wedding last month at Howard Johnson Plaza. The bride had set-up a block of rooms with the hotel for all her out of town guest. The group was set-up in the same area of the hotel. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The wedding was in their ballroom. Over 200 guest attended, very elegant. The décor was nice, chair cover and sashes to complete the look. The meal was a generous portion and very tasteful. Everything flowed very nice. The bride had also set a meeting room the following morning for the gift opening. A group of approximately 30 of us had gathered in one of the rooms off the restaurant. We had breakfast in the room. The hotel also offers a complimentary made to order breakfast (nice touch). We had a great time Sarah & Jamie CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room with two king beds, harbor side and very conformable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. We came in via plane and the hotel offered a free shuttle to the hotel from the airport. We were greeted by the driver holding a sign with our names on it.We arrived at the hotel to a fast check in. The front desk gentleman was very pleasant to talk to, very knowledgeble. We got settled in our room which was very clean and spacious. We then went for supper and were treated to free pizza and pop. That was great. Then we walked to the cities dowwntown(which is within walking istance of the hotel via an outdoor walk-way). We had a great timme on he boardwalk and then walked back to the hotel. My husband had a few things for work to take care of and was able to do so via the free wifi offered by the hotel. We had a very comfortable sleep in the beds and enjoyed a free made to order breakfast in the morning. we truly enjoyed our 3 night stay. We used the pool and fitness room which helped us relax. This hotel was a great value. With the ammmenities they offer why would you stay anywhere else.
We will be back whether it be for a get-a-way, business, or family, this will be our choice of hotel.

Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our roomm, which had 2 double beds, all new bedding, new flat screen tvs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

And I was brought back to Saint John again for a visit...decided to stay with the folks at Howard Johnson Fort Howe again. I was welcomed in the lobby with a smile & great service! I love the feeling that you are walking into somewhere where people care about you. The fact that this location is in a perfect central area of the city makes it a great option. My room was perfectly clean & cozy as well :)

Staff pleasant, friendly & helpful as always! As I said in my title...Never cease to please!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently spent 2 night at this hotel and when we arrived we were greeted by warm friendly front desk personel. The check in was quick, and then we were off to our room. The room we stayed in had a King size bed which was vey comfortable, and the room itself was clean and bright. The hotel offered for its guests a nice indoor pool, free made to order breakfast, and free pizza and pop on Friday and Saturday nights. We took them up on the offer for the free pizza and pop on Saturday evening and we were pleasantly surprised. It was delicious.
The hotel is close to the downtown part of the city as well. Within walking distance, but if you are driving the hotel offers free parking!!
So over all our experience was wonderful. It was like being at home. Everyone of hte staff were friendly, the restaurant on site served great food for a great price, and we slept peacfully.
We will definitely make it our first hotel choice when visitng again.

Room Tip: King Size rooms are big and clean and the beds are so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed just one night in October 2012 on our way to Cape Breton. The price was reasonable as it included a cooked to order breakfast, and, as it was a weekend night, free all you can eat pizza and pop (there is only so much you CAN eat). The whole place was adequate but a little tired and could have been better cleaned (but no horror stories). The bedroom carpet had been hoovered but had seen better days and bore the marks of years of wear and tear. It was passable but we've had better in other hotels for the same price and if it is to continue it needs some upgrading or, at the very least, a bit more attention to details, especially with regard to cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Digforwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.5 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Address: 10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing