We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a very nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We havent stay in this hotel in years and were very impressed with the renovation.
Great location just off the Harbour Bridge on Main St makes it an easy place to find.
The clerk on the desk was very nice and quick to get us to our room
Loved the cosy beds and nice linens (my pet peeve)
They had the standard HIE breakfast in the morning looked after by fast staff...nothing was left unfilled...
We'd stay again if need be....

Room Tip: you can have a harbour view which I think would be nice with cruise ship in the summer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that your recent stay was satisfactory and that you enjoyed the quiet and the comfort of our guest rooms. Your comments will be circulated to our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 426 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

I spent three days in this hotel during March break 2014 in one of the Suites. The suites were a little on the small side but acceptable. Front desk staff were friendly and rooms were quiet. We had a great view of the harbour from the 4th floor. Breakfast was excellent and unfortunately I see from other posts I probably should of tipped. The pool and hot tub are of a size and quality I have not seen in many hotels. There is an mezzanine over the pool which probably many people aren't aware of. The Fitness room was well equipped although I didn't use it and next to it was an area for for children. My only one comment would be this hotel needs an automatic open front door. I saw myself and others struggle to bring in luggage and other items. I had to drop everything in my hands and open the door. This is something I'm sure could be done at a moderate cost.

This hotel is recommended and I would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel on your recent stay!.

We're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our facilities and amenities.
We have been obtaining quotes for the automatic doors you mentioned and hope to have these installed sometime in the next few months.

Thanks for staying with us.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March 2014. The outside does not look like much but the inside is clean and acceptable for the price. The room is fairly big and very clean. All was in working order. Free parking and free breakfast. I noted that you can have soup around dinner time for free also. Over all a very acceptable performance.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank nicole n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We are glad to hear that your recent stay was an enjoyable one. Your positive comments on your stay have been shared and are much appreciated.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The room were clean comfortable and modern. Everything functioned as it should. Breakfast was one of the worst aggregations of inedible garbage I have ever seen. They did have real bananas but everything else was highly processed junk food. Decided to move after one day. I need to start the day with a good breakfast. The fitness center I had a look at but did not use. There wasn't a lot of equipment in there so I didn't bother. One of my gripes with most hotel fitness centers is that they don't have regular exercise bikes, they only seem to use the recumbent bikes, not sure why that is, but this one was the same. So if you don't care about breakfast or the fitness center, the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apond58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We value your comments and feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that we could not meet all of your needs while visiting the city. In case you did not get a an opportunity to experience our full breakfast line up while you were with us...here is some of what we offer. Fresh bananas, apples,fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese & western omelets,crispy bacon or sausage patties, beans,variety of breakfast breads,bagels,muffins & cereals,oatmeal, a selection of fruit juices and skim & 2% milk,signature cinnamon buns,flaky biscuits, hardboiled eggs,100% Arabica Smart Roast® Coffee,Assorted yogurt
Holiday Inn Express is also rolling out some new options as early as next month which include turkey sausage, greek yogurt and a new Oatmeal station with condiments. Also several gluten free items.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just to say that it's a good check in plus the room is very comfortable. Staff is friendly and especially the breakfast staff. So sorry that the people that use the bratfast do not tip the staff. So sorry guests think it's free and not service. You shoud be ashamed. Give a couple of bucks..They work hard!!!

Room Tip: this is the best value to donwntown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seaslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We sincerely appreciate your time reviewing our Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear how satisfied you were while visiting Saint John. We are very proud of our staff and the service they all deliver to our guests.
Thanks for staying with us!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Nicest hotel around, staff very friendly and we had a good stay !

Room are clean and breakfast is included!
I stay there for business and then as well on the weekend with the girlfriend and we had an awesome stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Marc12907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We sincerely appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear how satisfied you were while visiting the city and the surroundings. Our Team continually provides terrific customer service and show how much they care about our guests every day. Glad you noticed.
Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here during a hockey tournament!! The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and knowledgable. Popcorn as the kids arrived back from the rink was a great touch! The microwave and fridge in the room was very convient. Great location as 2 of our games were in the rink beside the hotel. Some resaturants(McDonalds, Subway, Pizza Delight, Deluxe Fish and Chips) and stores (Shoppers drug mart, Dollarama, liquor store) are within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Saint John Area!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear your family and team enjoyed their weekend here and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels Saint John
Delta Hotels Saint John
#7 of 19 in Saint John
274 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
1,095 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: $111 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing