We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'd stay again”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. I think the rooms were updated recently.

I enjoyed the breakfast they have a large selection. My only complaint is the pancakes don't taste good and the cinnamon rolls didn't seem fresh. I'm assume the cinnamon rolls are frozen and reheated.

I'd stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaplePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for staying with us!

We appreciate your comments.


Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    155
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
125
128
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tremblant
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a room with 2 queen size beds overlooking the harbour. A fridge and microwave were available in the room as well as a table and chairs to eat if we wished to. Breakfast was great - hot and cold. Scrambled eggs, waffles, pancakes, omlettes , bacon, danish etc. etc. To have this included in the price was terrific. Parking was easy and the location of the hotel was central to the uptown area and close to the highway for easy travelling. The staff was super friendly. We didn't swim in the pool but it looked more than adequate. An excellent place to stay - now if they would only put make-up mirrors in the bathroom it would be perfect!!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendasboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our Hotel on your recent visit with us. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, N.S.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here on a stopover on a trip to New England. We arrived at 8PM at night and left at 9AM the next morning so we did not have a chance to enjoy many of the hotel's amenitites. The gentleman who checked us in was extremely courteous and friendly, and had us on our way in less than 60 seconds. All staff we met went out of their way to greet us and ensure everything was good with our room and our stay. We had a standard room with 2 queens beds, which was what we had booked. The room was a standard size and spotless. Bathroom was a bit on the small side but also spotless. Hotel was quite full but we heard no noise when in our room. Breakfast was standard HIExpress fare but well attended to by staff. Great experience and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stokil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments and for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Saint John!

Our veteran houskeeping staff is so appreciative when our guests notice their attention to detail and "spotless" is their goal each and every day. I have passed along your comments to our entire team.

Thanks again!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We wanted to stay in St. Andrews but the Algonquin was not open yet so we decided to stay in Saint John and do some traveling. The four lane highway most of the way to St. Andrews is nice.
Our first morning the owner was introducing himself to each of the tables and leavening his card so he could be contacted. Since PEI was the address on his card this must have been a visit. We stayed three nights and we only saw him the first day but the service was excellent from start to finish. The beans on the breakfast buffet was a nice treat. The pool was not standard as it was 9 feet deep at the one end. This was a good surprise for the kids who liked jumping in. The hot tub was also crazy with a 5 foot depth. The hotel was dated but upgrades had been done. Our AC was not 100% but it is the East Coast it always cools down at night.
The highway off ramp beside the hotel was closed but the alternative was the reversing rapids so we would check every time we passed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pointsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the tme to write a review on our Hotel!

We've had lots of guests stay with us this summer who had planned a night in St. Andrews as well. With our location it's just less than an hours drive---- to visit St. Andrews and all the attractions in and around Saint John.

We appreciaste you staying with us!
Come back and visit soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was ok. The room was alright, clearly they've tried to update into "suites" one bed in the main area and a second bedroom, for kids in the back. The a/c was in the back so the kids were cool and those of us in front area were too warm. The door for the adjoining room was in the kids area which i found weird.The bathroom toilet kept running, and the shower started out with red-rusted water. The toilet roll holder would not stay shut so the tp kept falling off whenever it was used. Breakfast was ok. Pool was decent , but many unsupervised kids were there and soaked the deck so you couldn't walk, or set anything down. Hot tub was really deep. Like 5ft in the middle. They also have a kids play room next to the fitness room which was also neat, but of course there were things like- car track, no cars, etc. It was an ok hotel. Clean enough, fine for one night. Still looks tired. They clearly tried to improve it. Desk employee never bothered to ask if things were ok upon check out. Supposed to be one of the better hotels there, but it's squeezed between IBM and xerox and felt very exposed, with a mainfloor walkway to left of elevators, open to IBM anyone could just walk in where the desk clerk couldn't see them. Was ok overall but at the cost I won't be hurrying back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfishmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear jellyfishmum,

Thank you for your candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am sorry our hotel was not able to live up to your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, ME
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a King Suite with separate kids room. Never heard anyone, ever, and saw the hallway strewn with morning papers in the am (BUSY). Teens didn't mind the little kid theme separate room--liked having their own room, period. Their friends LOVED the jungle theme room:) Excellent breakfast, plenty of choices. People who complain about it just have too much, period. Nice touch having lemonade stand and icy water bottles in the lobby for summer. Wonderful accommodations for the price. Lots of room lighting. Desk lamp had extra plugs built in it for all our hand-held electronics. Met the owner (Mr. D. Murphy) in the pool area, by fluke, very witty, sharp and gracious--asked many questions about our stay, concisely. Could almost hear his brain working. Lovely, clean, modern-tiled pool area; perfect temp. for the huge hot tub; don't see anything as nice at this level, usually. Felt sooo good after long day on bleachers. Many "extras" in the room make it homey and NICE. Beds were spectacular. No extra pillows or blankets (summer?) but bet they would have been delivered pronto, on request. Only strange things were: 1. having the heat-A/C in the kids' room (not in the adults' room); 2. the back door open nearly every time we went to the pool in the daytime, even though an armed guard was always in sight of the door, in the parking lot connected to the office building next door; and 3. No pub (in Canada, too--what's up with that?:) But it wasn't a big deal to us...seriously... Mega plus: Free parking & free wi-fi. Plenty of car spaces too. Room for SUV with car carrier on top. Not many hotels in St. John can say that... Staff members were diligent, very polite and good-natured, eh?

Room Tip: Harbor side, naturally. One of the only hotels in the area without double beds:) (Despise Full size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacoFamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
It was great to hear that your experience at our Hotel was a positive one!

Our owner who is from the Maritimes takes great interest in how guests feel about his properties. Several of the extra's that you find here and other DP Murphy Hotel Group properties are unique Hallmarks. Glad you were able to meet him during your stay!

The security personnel you spoke of work in the Place 400 Complex which is next door to us. There is a Pub located in that complex along with a small cafe which is open during the day - week days. Also a great Pub (Portland Pub) just a couple of blocks up the street.

Thanks again for staying with us!

Hope to see you again next year for the Swim meet... or sooner!

Cheers

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel proved to be an excellent stay after a long road trip. Hotel was conveniently located near the harbor in Saint John and was a short drive to the downtown core. Staff was very friendly and the beds were quite comfortable. Free breakfast was excellent. The only negative I can say about the hotel was that the picture on our room's flat screen was very fuzzy. I think the hotel should upgrade to HD channels. Aside from that, it was great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us!

So glad to hear you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities and enjoy our Express Start Breafast.
Please accept my apology for the poor picture quality. We have recently upgraded to HD TV throughout the Hotel and I have asked our maintenance team to check into the issue with your particular tv.

Thanks again

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
562 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
296 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing