We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Saint John)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside Motel(Saint John)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillcrest Motel(Saint John)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
211
169
43
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
169
43
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tubevery eveningwalking pathpancakesexercise roomreversing fallsgood sizeyogurtpancake machinelots of parkingoff the highwaydesk clerkstayed one nightmaritime provincesclean roomsbreakfast areahotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 429 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I spent our wedding night in the Presidential Suite. I must say that I was truly amazed at how beautiful the room was. We were treated like royalty and had a perfect stay at the hotel. The room was spacious, furnished beautifully, had many extra touches and a beautiful two person jet tub. It was meticulously clean and we had tons of fluffy towels and beautiful robes. I cant recommend this hotel (and particularly this room) enough. I should also mention that we have stayed in a queen room as well and it was also very nice. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crousej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks so much for your recent review of our Hotel!

And congratulations on your special day!
Your comments have been circulated to our entire team who strive each day to make every guest experience comfortable and enjoyable.
Our housekeeping staff will be beaming over the "Meticulously clean" comment. They are a veteran bunch who take great pride in their work.

Thanks again for staying with us and come back soon!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

While traveling from PEI to USA, we stayed at the Holiday Inn and Suites St John, NB.

Lots of parking front desk host (John) was super friendly and could not do enough to help. Centennial breakfast was included and was a great way to start the day. The Holiday Inn and Suites were immediately off the exit to the highway and a very quick entrance to continuing to destination. Thanks for starting our vacation in the Great Way you did. Happy Islanders !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid-PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks for your recent comments on your stay with us!

Glad to hear your experience was a good one and that John took great care of you. He is one of our many long term employee's who truly know Guest Service and care about making every guest stay a wonderful one.

Thanks for saying with us! Come back soon.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

2 adults and 2 children stayed in Kid's Suite.

Small issues: phone on beside table did not work, no door on kid's bedroom (pocket door could easily work), "free" breakfast was not that good.

Larger issues: youth hockey team booked on our floor-they were up and down the hall until about 1:30 a.m.; our room was adjacent to stairwell and same hockey team was also booked above us and below us-we heard them "pounding" up and down the stairs all night; we did lodge noise complaint at about 11:30 and the young man who dealt with complaint was sympathetic but noise continued;

Why would a family room be booked in the middle of this hockey team???

Huge issue: telephone on desk actually sparked at 4:12 am! AND hook on ladder of bunk bed completely snapped off. This ladder could easily twist with a child on it and given the size of the room the child would hit a piece of furniture on the way to the ground!

We did leave these issues with the desk clerk who checked us out and was told that she was sorry but that was her only response

Room Tip: Make sure room is not adjacent to stairwell and ask if there are any large groups booked close to your room!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.
Holiday Inn Express is committed to providing a comfortable, clean product, along with friendly courteous service, however your situation indicated we must continue to try and improve.

Please accept my sincere apology on behalf of the Hotel for the poor experience you had during your stay with us. Rest assured that the team here has taken care of all of the concerns you have written about. I am glad that we had to opportunity to communicate with you directly since your stay to go over each item.

If you are travelling to Saint John in the future, I ask that you give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and I will ensure you a more pleasant and satisfying stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff were super friendly and pleasant. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy. Breakfast was great. Hotel was full the night we stayed and didn't hear a thing during the night. Will most certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahamamamaPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent review !
We strive to make every guest stay here a positive one. From the veteran team of Guest Service Agents to an outstanding Housekeeping crew, maintenance and Breakfast Bar - each member takes great pride in their part of that experience.

Thanks for staying with us and come back soon!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for business. Was upgraded to a king suite with my priority club status. Room was nice, clean and fairly modern, no complaints there. Fitness center was good with the essentials for working out. The hotel location is easy to get to and close to the downtown core where there are numerous restaurants and shopping. (within walking distance but easier to drive). I did have issues with the wired internet and my laptop firewall, but the speed was very good. Wireless internet was fine but slower of course. There is no restaurant onsite, but they offer the holiday inn express start breakfast offering a selection of hot and cold buffet style menu items that were all good. All my experiences with the staff were exemplary. I will stay here again on my next visit to Saint John.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for staying with us recently and for being a valued Priority Club Member! So glad to hear you were able to take advantage of all the facilities/amenities while you were here.
I have posted your comments for our entire team.

Hope to meet you next time you are in Saint John!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews