We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Economical Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Economical Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for business. Was upgraded to a king suite with my priority club status. Room was nice, clean and fairly modern, no complaints there. Fitness center was good with the essentials for working out. The hotel location is easy to get to and close to the downtown core where there are numerous restaurants and shopping. (within walking distance but easier to drive). I did have issues with the wired internet and my laptop firewall, but the speed was very good. Wireless internet was fine but slower of course. There is no restaurant onsite, but they offer the holiday inn express start breakfast offering a selection of hot and cold buffet style menu items that were all good. All my experiences with the staff were exemplary. I will stay here again on my next visit to Saint John.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and for being a valued Priority Club Member! So glad to hear you were able to take advantage of all the facilities/amenities while you were here.
I have posted your comments for our entire team.

Hope to meet you next time you are in Saint John!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    127
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
100
103
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel provided all the amenities for my stay, except there was no restaurant. Located a short walk from downtown but right on a busy road. Bed was very comfortable and room was clean! Staff were also nice and assisted me right away. I Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubalover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your recent review!

Glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities provided.
As you noted we are just a short stroll from several restaurants in the area and there is a great walking trail called the "Harbour Passage" just a few minutes from our rear parking lot.

While our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet is a great start to the day - we have now added "Soup Nights" (Mon - Thu, 5:30-7pm). This will be complimentazry as well from October to the end of April.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Truly a wonderful trip. Situated just 3 minutes from Harbour Station (we went to a Sea Dogs game). The hotel lobby is very clean and very welcoming. The staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was awesome, cereal, milk, juice, great coffee, awesome cinnamon buns, great eggs, toast, pancakes, yogurt, fruit and the list goes on. The pool was pretty good and has nice windows to allow for a lot of natural light and plenty of chairs to sit in and watch the kids. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms are recently renovated and very clean. It was a very nice surprise to see the mini fridge, microwave and the KEURIG machine. What a touch!!! And 2 free bottles of water. Not a big expense, but a nice touch, as I have seen a lot of hotels put water in the room and charge you $3+ per bottle. Seriously, this hotel has all "the extras" and all the "little things" totally looked after. Huge Kudo's to this Holiday Inn and Express!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oranje2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
"Awesome" !!

That is what we strive for!
So glad you noticed all of the "little extras" provided. We really listen to our guests and try and provide a great experience for every stay.

Thanks again for your comments and for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

lways look for Holiday Inn Express when we travel. Always consistent. Arrival was great. When we called to reserve, I had on-line pricing for our room from my smartphone, (I am a Priority Club Memeber, etc), but was given a better rate than what was on there website! Saved almost $50.00. As we were travelling with our son on vacation, we got the Kids room, (Bunkbeds, seperate room, video game, etc). What a nice treat for our son. Pool area was very modern and clean. Great for unwinding after a day in the car. Greeting & checkout was typical HIE standard`s, by that I mean, professional and courteous. Now, the one small negative, not sure if the Breakfast lady was having a bad day, but her slamming cupboard doors, and frowning and generally not enjoying her job was very evident. Other than that, great experience, convenient for the St. John-Digny ferry as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durango_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for your review and for staying with us over the Holidays!

Glad to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our themed "Kids Suites". They are indeed a hit with families!.
Hope you visit us the next time you are in Saint John.

Our new parking deck is open and renovations complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I booked a King Suite to stay for a wedding we were attending. The hotel was within walking distance of the reception and dance so we didn't have to drive after.

The room was quite large with a king bed, couch, fridge, microwave, kuriug coffee maker, and two flat screen tv's. The room was at the end of the hall so it was very quite. We used the hot tub and pool and also had the great free breakfast.

I'm sure you might get a hotel for a few bucks less, but the quality of the room and property was worth the money.

Room Tip: There are two suites on each floor and are a bit quiter since they at the end of the hall and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel!
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with is and were able to relax in one of our cozy King Suites.
Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay here was completely enjoyable. Our room was large, comfy and clean with all the amenities we desired. The staff bent over backwards to ensure that our visit was great. The construction outside was quite striking, but as others have said, once you navigated your way to the parking lot and the front desk, everything was top notch. Check in was quick and was accompanied by bottled water, always a nice perk. We are great walkers and so were totally taken by the Harbour Passage. We walked downtown one day and took in the sites. Downtown St. John has become a very tourist friendly area. The market and the boardwalk were our favourite places. We also went the other way to the Reversing Falls which was a definite hike, even for us. It was, however, a lovely hike with lots of grand scenery, including playful seals. Breakfast had a wide variety of tasty choices served in a nice atmosphere. Our only negative was that we did wish there were restaurants to our liking closer by. We would recommend this hotel to travellers for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harleyjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
"Completely Enjoyable" ------- We love to hear that!
Our staff aim to please and I'm so glad you noticed.

Thanks for staying with us and come back soon!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was super. The room was large clean, and comfortable. Great breakfast with lots of choices and even soup on week day evenings. Most important the staff were so helpful. The young lady that worked the night desk help me find the hotel as I drove in. She also helped me find the Hopewell Rocks and gave me a tide schedule. She went above and beyond to help me in everyway. The staff were also considerate and friendly especially since we were from another country and way down south.

Room Tip: The only problem we had was trying to find a way to get in the hotel and find a parking place. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alabamabusybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks for commenting on your recent stay! I've just posted your comments for all of our team to see. Certainly makes everyones day as we strive to make all of our guests experience a positive one!

We just started our complimentary "Soup Nights" a few weeks ago and they certainly have been a hit. It is a fall promotion...however we are looking to extend it since it has been so popular.

Thanks for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed all of your trip to Canada.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.7 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#2 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Delta Brunswick
Delta Brunswick
#7 of 19 in Saint John
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing