We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Saint John)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillcrest Motel(Saint John)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
217
174
43
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
174
43
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tubevery eveningwalking pathpancakesexercise roomreversing fallsgood sizeyogurtpancake machinelots of parkingoff the highwaydesk clerkstayed one nightmaritime provincesbreakfast areaclean roomsclose to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 441 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This Holiday Inn was very good and a great place to stay if you are just stopping overnight as it is just off the highway. The amazing thing is that when we checked in as a Priority Member we were offered a complimentary water, pop or beer. The room was extremely comfortable and breakfast is included. We were pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina4463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 21, 2011

Thanks for staying with us...and recommending our Hotel! It was a pleasure having you as our guest!
And thanks for being a Priority Club member. Our Hotel recently won the 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award for excellence in Quality, Service and Overall satisfaction of our guests. We were one of only 44 Express properties out of over 1800 to have won this award. What makes it so special is that our scores were based upon surveys from our guests and mainly our PC Members who spend a lot of time on the road.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The hotel is a boxy structure, the lobby low-ceilinged and a bit cramped. The room was a bit small but adequate. Renovated circa 2005 so everything is still relatively fresh.

Features the usual HIE amenities, e.g., upgraded bed and bedding, hot breakfast, including cinnamon rolls, in the morning. I liked the to-go coffee cups -- nice big size with a colourful logo image on them. Better than the usual small styrofoam you often get. Thank you, HIE!

Pet-friendly with no extra fees for the pets.

There's a Tim Hortons within walking distance. And a McDonalds, or, at least there will be -- they were building or renovating it when we were there September 2011.

I agree with this guy: “OK für eine Nacht”. Great for a one night stop-over, but, if you are in town on business for the week, you might prefer the Hilton or the Delta.

PS. I may not be a professional writer, but I did sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallBounces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 16, 2011

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel.
Yes we are "Pet Friendly" ...and our Hot Express Start Breakfast is a great way to start each day! While our signature Cinnamon Buns are amazing, I hope you had a chance to try the scrambled eggs,omeletes, bacon and sausage. A lot of our guests are surprised by the wide variety of items included.
There are several restaurants within a short walk of our Hotel...and the uptown area is just a 20 minute stroll where there is live entertainment, fine dining and unique shopping experiences.

Thanks foir staying with us!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed here on Canada Day. Very friendly welcome by the front desk, and very efficient service. For Canada Day, cake and some sort of punch were offered to guests; always nice to do something extra for national holidays!

Room was well equipped, and I had a good night's sleep. Swimming pool and jacuzzi are very nice, although it was very busy there most of the time. Ample parking space in the back of the hotel.

It's a twenty minute walk to downtown and to the waterfront.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryWrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 8, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel!

Canada Day!!!! We're glad you could be here for it...and take part in Canada's first incorporated City's celebration!

Our team here takes great pride in doing the "little extras" for our guests and we're glad you noticed. Hopefully you had the chance to take that short walk to Market Square where all of the events were going on and were able to see the Fireworks that night from our Harbourview rooms.

Thanks again for staying with us!!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed at the HIE in Aug 2011 with a friend of mine we were very happy it was only a pit stop our way back to Ontario. The hotel was great the staff was helpful, the rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. The only thing was we had asked for two beds but only got one which was okay as we just wanted to sleep. The location when you put it in your GPS can be confusing if it is not up to date one minute you can see the hotel the next your like where do I get in? Key the entrance is on Chesley Drive. There is also a lot of construction going on so even if you have a view of the water all you see is the bridge a touch of water and a lot of construction. The pool and hot tub were perfect temperatures and were very nice to relax in.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a water view room or a corner cause even the street view corner rooms will get a view of the water.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 5, 2011

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel!

We wish you had more time to visit our city! With unspoiled natural parks, the Bay of Fundy, St. John River, History lined streets full of Maritime charm...we know you would have stayed longer!

Our long term staff are experienced in taking care of all of our guests as though they were in our own homes.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the Hot Tub and Indoor Pool which is the largest Hotel Pool in the city. Also hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet while you were here.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you are out East again.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last couple of years, and recommend it as a reliably clean, comfortable and quiet place to stay. It's just off the highway in Saint John, close to downtown, and also on your way through to the US border. They have a very good hot buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 5, 2011

Thanks for your feedback...and for being a regular at our Hotel!

Glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. It certainly has lot of options and the Hot items are rotated daily - scrambled eggs and bacon along with omelets and sausage. Add these with our signature cinnamon buns, fresh fruit, cereals yogurt and much more - including our newly added pancakes...a terrific start to any day!

Thanks again for staying with us!

Hope to meet you on your next visit

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews