We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night to Remember”
Review of Urban Deli

Urban Deli
Ranked #14 of 242 Restaurants in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Urban Deli lives up to it's tag line of 'old fashioned. Slightly sophisticated'. We love to put a spin on some favourite old fashioned dishes like our popular meatloaf sandwich. We have the deli classics like Montreal Smoked Meat and our popular Reuben Sandwich. Urban Deli was featured on the Canadian Food Network's 'You Gotta Eat Here' featuring our Muffuletta & Uptown Big Beef Bad Boy sandwiches and our famous lemon sour cream pie, which has travelled as far as Alberta & Ontario. We also offer catering for lunch or private functions. If you are craving something other than deli, see Italian by Night for our authentic Tuscan Style Italian menu for dinner.
Denton, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Night to Remember”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

To be honest, after failing in love with Nova Scotia and specifically Cape Breton, I was a little disappointed as we drove into St. John.( A little too urban after being in NS) But after walking around and certainly after the experience of dinner at Urban Deli, I have a new appreciation for this charming city. This was our last night in Canada, and we chose Urban Deli/Italian by Night. We arrived at the restaurant a few minutes before our 8 p.m. reservation, and the restaurant was pretty full. Luckily for us, we were greeted by Fran, who only works on Thursday nights ( we found out later). She told us that we had a table but that if we wanted to wait a few minutes we could have a booth. She was extremely accommodating and offered a table for us to have drinks while we waited. When our table opened up we moved and the evening only got better from there. I don't want to bore you with too many details but the details are what made this night one of the best evenings out we've had in a long time. We love food and cooking and usually restaurants don' t measure up. Because we have such high expectations, we don't always get what we are seeking. Well, this restaurant exceeded our expectations, and it did on all fronts. The food was fantastic-- from the antipasti platter, to the salad, and then the piece de resistance, the seafood risotto. It was amazing. We finished with a lemon cake dessert that was light and not too sweet. The food was what a good meal should be--superior ingredients cooked just right. The wine was delicious as was the Prosecco we had after dinner As for the service, Fran outdid herself. We got lucky with Fran. She did an awesome job, and the night wouldn't have been the same without her. She is a true professional and it showed in everything that she did. She is totally an asset to the team. I highly recommend Italian by Night at Urban Deli, and I challenge you to have a better experience anywhere. Still reliving the experience!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XUXUXUXU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    57
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
saint john
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Service can be a little wonky and you have to go early to have the most option but we've gone here a few times and my favourite the rueban with sweet potato fries. Yummy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Everything about our " Italian by Night " experience was the best. The people, the owner, the service and of course the food, were as good as it gets. This was a great evening out that we will remember for a long time. Thank you very much

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigspk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbandeli, Owner at Urban Deli, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Ahhhh yes, I remember your visit! Thank you for sharing your Italian by Night dining experience with us. Our team loves this type of acknowledgement / validation!

We are very proud of our summer menu (like our other menus). The summer does allows us to incorporate more seafood and local ingredients to our menu.

Kim, who does a lot of the work in prepping the summer menu literally sings to her food as she is cooking it...we always get a chuckle listening to her sing. If we could get her to do it in Italian, we could charge a cover (lol).

Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Elizabeth & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just had the pleasure of dining at Urban Deli. Traveling in the area on business I have overlooked this restaurant in the past due to the name.The staff was warm and professional and the food was outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbandeli, Owner at Urban Deli, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Stewartsville NJ...

Thrilled that you visited us!

Yes, our name does not always represent what our total food, service and atmosphere entail. Especially since we've added the Italian by Night to Urban Deli.

Our original layout / plan was to have a deli counter and sell meats, chicken liver pate and other great sides 'to go' - similar to the deli's in NYC. We simply ran out of space. Maybe that will be dream phase two :).

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. My team and I very much appreciate your feedback.

Elizabeth, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive, but good”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Urban Deli is sophisticated but comfortable. We were there in the evening for Italian night and the food was well prepared. The salads were delicious and the penne with sausage was tasty. I didn't like the seafood risotto though--too much butter. I am a little fussy about food though and have had many different versions of risotto to compare with. So someone else may like it fine.
It seemed pricey to me, but that could be the region and not the restaurant. I was only in St. John one night, so have no idea what other restaurants cost.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryc93_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
urbandeli, Owner at Urban Deli, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Marcy

Thank you for visiting Italian by Night while in Saint John. We are thrilled that you chose us!

We love the fact that our food is fresh and we take pain-staking efforts in preparing it each week. All sauces are from scratch and we also import from Italy to ensure the quality and authenticity.

Taking a moment to compare US & Canadian purchasing power, we do not see the great pricing here in Canada that US suppliers can offer their restaurant clients. I believe it also has to do with our smaller population - we have a population of 875,000 in all of New Brunswick, which is one block of people in Manhattan (lol).

Our seafood risotto - I'm sorry that it was not your favourite dish during your visit. There is a little over 1/2 ounce of butter in each portion and the rest is stock and slow cooking.

When I did my research here in the East, we would be considered at the lower end of the pricing scale for an authentic Italian (casual fine dining) restaurant in Eastern Canada.

I hope you enjoyed one of our great house-made desserts to finish your meal?

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us!

Warmest regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Deli also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Urban Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing