We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau St. John, St. John, New Brunswick, Canada”
Review of Chateau Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Saint John
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chateau St. John, St. John, New Brunswick, Canada”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our first night in Canada on our way to PEI, we stayed at Chateau St. John. What a lovely room, granite countertop, desktop, work areas and emaculate. The breakfast is adequate, coffee so so. We were so pleased with our room that we stayed another night on our return. Location in the city is not so hot but we were merely passing through. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed twice and both rooms quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    141
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
135
259
14
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Good for a one nite stop. Our room was large and lovely. Staff helpful. Has no restaurant so we had to drive into town for dinner. Desk said it was walkable but as we drove we did not agree. Streets were deserted, neighborhood not terrific but did have a good dinner at Billy's Seafood! Breakfast at hotel was ordinary motel breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My sister and I took our 89 year old father to P.E.I. for a few days vacation. I relied heavily on tripadvisor reviews to select our hotel for our first night's stay. I was not disappointed! Chateau Saint John was everything I could have hoped for. Our accommodations were very spacious and very, very comfortable. Our room was next to our father's room which made visiting back and forth easy. The hotel is easy to access from the highway. Parking and a continental breakfast are included in the price of the room. For the traveler en route to another destination, this is the ideal stop along the way.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced east. Nice lights at night. Couldn't hear the traffic from the highway nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying In one of the sister hotels and I wish that we had stayed in Saint John!

This hotel was immaculate. HUGE room and bathroom. Good breakfast. So clean.

Would recommend to everyone especially for the price!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebabe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We picked this hotel based on the Trip Advisor high ratings. We stayed one night during our 2 week tour of the Atlantic Maritime Provinces. It was raining and nearly dark when we arrived at the hotel, we missed the exit at first because of the bridge construction.

The hotel appears to be quite new, so everything is nice and clean and tidy. Our room was large and quite comfortable, however the bedcover must have been chosen by the decorator to go along with the chateau antique type furnishings. The bed was comfortable enough, but the large bedcover was the only blanket on the bed and it was very heavy and uncomfortable.

There are no restaurants nearby and since it was raining so hard, and being unfamiliar with the area, we really did not want to go back out. We decided to just pick something up in the little market area next to the front desk and heat it up in the microwave. The choices there were really limited. The hotel has a bar, but apparently it does not serve any food.

We always appreciate a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator. However, we really like to have a fridge with a small freezer to re-freeze the ice packs that we use in our small travel cooler. This refrigerator had no freezer section.

The breakfast bar had a good selection of food and even real plates! The one problem I encountered here was that the hot water spout on the coffee pot was up so high that I could not see if my cup was full.

All in all, the hotel was comfortable enough, and had the weather been better, I might have enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was a great place to stay. Rooms were super clean, well decorated, good size and most importantly, nice and affordable! Staff were so pleasant and helpful. Just a superb spot to stay. Complimentary continental breakfast, good access to uptown and a nice view of the city centre. Free heated underground parking and free wifi. So thoughtful and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukesask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
636 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed for one night. Excellent clean room, really nice staff, good enough breakfast included. A bit too far for most to walk to town but only 5 min drive to town and reversing falls. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
951 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Saint John

Property: Chateau Saint John
Address: 369 Rockland Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#1 Business Hotel in Saint John
#1 Family Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure, we are confident you'll agree that Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites exceeds the standard of excellence in Atlantic Canada. We are conveniently located downtown Saint John, N.B. (Exit 123) and across from the Harbour Station arena. Designed with travellers in mind, Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites has raised the bar on quality, service and comfort. Situated only minutes from the famous Reversing Falls and City Market, the hotel pays tribute to Saint John's long and illustrious history (oldest incorporated city in Canada), through its unique decor. Combining the essence of yesterday with the technology of today. Chateau Saint John delivers an unforgettable experience and ambiance. Chateau Saint John - Hotel & Suites wants every guest to feel like he or she is our most important guest. No effort will be spared by our friendly and helpful staff to ensure all your needs and expectations are exceeded. Make your next visit to Saint John unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Saint John Hotel Saint John
Chateau Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing