We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saint John, NB Best Western” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint John, Canada
1 review
“Saint John, NB Best Western”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great hotel, staff were friendly and helpfull. Rooms a good size with a frig and microwave, the desk that was in the desk was alot larger than you would finsd in any other hotel which made it great for working at night. The be was confortable and there was extra chairs to sit and which TV if required. The btreakfast was both hot and cook food including eggs and sausage with homefries or waffles, cereal, toast fruit etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, Sales Representative at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for leaving such great feedback for us. I'm happy to hear that our friendly staff were helpful, and that our room made your business stay a pleasant one. Thank you again for your great feedback, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Saint John!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    150
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
110
127
27
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clyde River, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Unlike previous reviewer who didn't have good experience travelling with pets, we had a great experience with this hotel. We were travelling with a dog, and booked a king size room. However, the hotel seems to have only some rooms that are pet friendly, which is understandable - lots of people with allergies etc.

I have received an e-mail from a staff member, explaining in a very professional and friendly manner that only some rooms are pet friendly and who asked me very politely if it was ok to move us into a room that had two queen beds instead which also had cheaper rate. We didn't mind, as you really don't need a king size bed anyway. From then on, everything was great.

There is a pet fee, however, this is advertised on the website and it's not a surprise. There are some hotels that dont' charge fees, but majority do. We had travelled for a month with our dog, and even though we had some luck booking places that don't charge, in most hotels it is standard. At least the ones that the owners would also like.

We were greeted in a friendly manner, they acknowledged our dog too when we came in, and every time we passed reception everyone was friendly and smiling.
The rooms are very clean, everything seemed new, decor was nice.

When I requested a brochure of New Brunswick, the staff went out of their way to get me one in English- they didn't have one at reception. This might be a small thing, but the details and service are what counts.

The only negative I can think of is the location - it is not in the city, but in industrial looking area. On the other hand, this area is great if you need to shop, as all the big retail stores are right there.
If you don't have a vehicle, this is not a place to stay, but if you do, this is just short drive from the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has a car and a pet. Also Pet-Valu store is minutes from the hotel :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank addie76h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, Sales Representative at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm really happy to hear that you and your pet had a great experience at our hotel. I will pass your kind feedback about our staff on to the rest of the team. It would be lovely to have you and your furry friend back with us on your next visit to Saint John! Thanks again, and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked suite online and checked off the pet option... when I arrived at hotel they tried to put me in double room because of dogs (2 20lb Boston terriers). Got them to give me a king room instead of a double (I had booked a suite). Charged 15 $ a night for dogs, per night, not per stay. Their explanation was cleaning (hotel employee with walmart steamer afterwe checked out we saw him) so dogs ended up being a 75 $ charge and staff were incredibly rude. They made you feel like you were doing something wrong by having pets.

Checked out and moved to Hampton no pet fee way nicer room and great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, Sales Representative at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are a pet friendly hotel, but we do have select pet friendly rooms and the restrictions are listed on the website. We are sorry to hear if you experienced any inconvenience because of this, and hopefully next time we are able to take care of you better. Thank you again for your feedback and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ansleme, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Since I am on the road most of the year, I really need to sleep at night in a calm and comfortable room, The beds are the most important piece of the rooms, at this hotel, I can sleep like a baby. Thanks to the Best Western to care about everything to make our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, Sales Representative at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
I wanted to start by saying thank you for your review. I love reading great reviews like yours because we all work so hard here to make all of our guests stays comfortable. I'm also really glad that you had a calm, comfortable sleep here at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very clean and pleasant accommodations and friendly staff. Pet friendly was important to me as I was traveling with my little dog. Everything was great! I have stayed here before and will do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're so happy to hear that your stay was great, and we will pass this on to our team members. We hope to see you again soon, and your furry little friend! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We choose this hotel as a one night stop on our way to Nova Scotia because of its pet friendly advertisement. It was very convenient to take the dog in and out to a green space with out disturbing the other guests. The room was clean and large, and the beds were comfortable. There were many restaurants in walking distance including 3 pet stores. For a single evening it was perfect but we would have stayed more if we stayed again. All things considered it was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101AnnieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are so happy you chose to stay with us, and that you enjoyed your stay! We know how important your furry friends are, and our pet friendly wing is located on the first floor for your convenience. It would be lovely to have you guys back with us the next time you visit Saint John! Happy Thanksgiving and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the Best Western and was most satisfied. It is conveniently located near restaurants and many stores for shopping. The only downfall was the WiFi connection was extremel.y slow. As I was on business, my intent was to work during the evening. Unfortunately, the connection was so slow I was unable too

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahara18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are so happy to hear about your satisfaction with us, but I feel bad that you were not able to enjoy our wireless internet. We have noticed that our internet has been slow recently, so we have taken action. We have approval to switch vendors, and the new company will be at the hotel on October 30th to do a site survey, and proceed with the switchover shortly after. The internet service will be much faster and smoother with this new upgrade, and we are all looking forward to it! Hopefully you can come back to enjoy this service too. We value our guests' opinions and we understand that great service, breakfast, internet and cleanliness is on top of our clients' priorities. We're definitely working on it and we are going to provide you with much better internet soon. HappyThanksgiving and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.9 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
3.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Majors Brook Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#3 Family Hotel in Saint John
#3 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites! This beautiful, new hotel is within convenient walking distance to shopping, restaurants & a movie theatre, and has 77 rooms to choose from, including whirlpool rooms and suites. Guests will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi, as well as a mini-fridge and 42" LED TVs in all rooms. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, fitness centre, a 24hr business centre and 3 meeting rooms. Earn airline miles or points towards free stays by enrolling in BW Rewards for free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel Saint John
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel And Suites
Best Western Saint John
Saint John Best Western
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing