We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charged to much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“charged to much”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

i stay here all the time when i come to saintjohn, and this time when i booked they wouldn't give me the price the bill said. very upsetting and kind of rude about it. I would think since i come here when im in the area that they would have given the price to me that i booked for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are so sorry to hear this. If you booked a room at a certain rate, you would definitely be charged that rate upon checkout. I would like to know exactly what happened, so that if there was a misunderstanding or mistake, we can make it right. If you could send me an email at jasmine@bestwesternsj.ca or call me at 506-657-7907 (direct number), I will personally look into this for you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will investigate on what happened and solve it as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    153
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
122
129
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Poor lighting - the lowest wattage of CFL bulb - insufficient to read by. Very low TV volume - management need to supply hearing aids for the hard-of-hearing if the are going to keep it this low. It was a very hot day, and the curtains blocked the air conditioner, which kept the space beside the window very cool, but did nothing for the rest of the room, and the TV was preset to make everybody look fat and short. (These last two are fairly common problems in many other hotels, of course. The location is semi-industrial. There is no restaurant in the hotel, and no restaurant listing supplied in the rooms. I would stay somewhere else, if I were you.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave-at-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. In part of our green program, we have energy saving lightbulbs that take a bit more time before it brightens the room. However we will look into this more, as well as curtain deflectors. We actually have some restaurants listed inside of our guest directory in each room, as well as menus at the front desk and the attendants are always willing to help out guests looking for dining options. Although we wish you had a better stay, we do appreciate the comments as it helps us improve to better serve our guests in the future. Hopefully someday you will give us another chance but in the meanwhile we will work on your constructive feedback. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I pulled into this place in the pouring rain on our motorcycle and were tired, wet and Hungry. As with most Best Western's and what I love about them, we pulled right under the Canopy at the entrance. And when we checked in the clerk insisted we keep the bike underneath and intimated that they might even build a separate bike shelter soon. This Best Western is located in what looks like a new shopping district just out of the downtown area, but it seemed to have a of everything you would need. We booked our room earlier that day, and it turned out that our room was incredibly spacious and had t hot tub right in the room. There are much smaller rooms, and much cheaper but this was really nice for the price.

We gathered up all our cloths and did our laundry, had a swim (good size pool - plenty of light) and a hot tub in our own room, and then walked out the door feeling clean and fully refreshed. We had our choice of several places to eat within walking distance and chose the Boston Pizza which was one of the closest as well.

We had a nice dinner with a very short walk back. When we came back I noticed several other bikes had now pulled in for the night.

I believe the clerk said the hotel was only 4 years old.

Breakfast was included, but it was your typical buffet thing, at one of these places, but seemed to have a little more variety. We had juice, cereal and toast there then went across the street to the Tim Hortons.

As a side note - One of the screws of my sunglasses had come off so we I walked into the Hakim Optical right next door to the Tim Hortons just across the street from the Hotel, and the lady took my glasses right away but the screw holder on the glassed had been striped so she was going to have to make one up, and said would be about half an hour. I told her we were waiting next door and I would come back. Within about 15 minutes she walked into the Tim's with the glasses like new, and would not take a dime or a coffee.

All the staff at this Best Western were really nice, and we just found the place to be very clean and comfortable. Easy access back onto the highway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyRider54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so glad you chose to stay with us, and that you had a great experience in our Jacuzzi room. We recently re-decorated it as well. We are indeed shopping for a bike shelter for our parking lot as we do have many guests that love to ride bikes and we understand how important it is for them to be well taken care of. I was also happy to read that Hakim Optical took such good care of one of our guests! I will have to mention that to them!! Thanks again for such a nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel has nicely appointed clean rooms with comfortable mattresses and bed linens....it was a pleasant stop as we were traveling through the area. I especially liked the fact that the bathroom has some good counter space - enough so that you could leave your toiletries bag out and not have it in the way. A full breakfast is included in the price of the room which makes it more reasonably priced, too. After we checked in and went up to our room, Sarah, the desk clerk, called our room to ensure everything was fine with the room and to see if we needed anything - now that's caring customer service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDiekema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the pleasant and wonderful feedback. Sarah, along with the rest of the team, does go above and beyond in customer service and we are lucky to have such a wonderful team. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed our services and likewise, we love having you with us! Thank you for choosing the Best Western PLUS and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Tx
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was nice and the staff was helpful. The room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was a step above the usual included breakfast.

Don't take the discount certificate for the East Side Mario's--go someplace else and pay full price!

Will definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate all of the feedback you have given us, and we are humbled by your compliments. Thank you very much! Also, it is very helpful to have feedback regarding the discount coupons for nearby restaurants so that we are aware what works for our guests and what does not. We are always trying to provide any savings to our guests but we also appreciate knowing what is going on as well. Thank you again for the helpful comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

lots of shops ,and restaurants in walking dist. handy to highway. staff well prepared, and friendly .parking area should be larger..hotel stands out very visible from road... will definitely stay again when in saint john..the rest of the crew was impressed t

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. It is nice to hear what our guests think of us, and especially when you are so kind to us! We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Musquodoboit, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great Hotel to stay at when in Saint John NB, very clean and fresh, excellent staff amd service, I always stay in this Hotel when I know I will be working in the area, clean rooms and very comfortable, Most excellent value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your encouragement! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
2.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Majors Brook Dr, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#3 Business Hotel in Saint John
#3 Family Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites! This beautiful, new hotel is within convenient walking distance to shopping, restaurants & a movie theatre, and has 77 rooms to choose from, including whirlpool rooms and suites. Guests will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi, as well as a mini-fridge and 42" LED TVs in all rooms. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, fitness centre, a 24hr business centre and 3 meeting rooms. Earn airline miles or points towards free stays by enrolling in BW Rewards for free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel Saint John
Best Western Saint John
Saint John Best Western
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing