We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Breakfast Included in Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Included in Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visited Saint John, NB and checked into the hotel in March 2013 weekend. Fairly new building it seems, and close to Walmart and the main plaza in town, though you will need a car to get to them...unless it's summer and you just want to walk.

King Size room has plenty of room! Big desk to work on. and a lounge chair to, well, lounge on. Hallways are quite dark, but why would you want it too bright anyway. New carpet, bathrooms are in good order. The tubs has this one-piece enamel on it, so no grimy grouts to worry about.

Breakfast started at 7am (weekend) and included scrambled eggs, sausage (didn't see bacon), and you can make your own waffles...includes standard cereals, juice and coffee. Got a corp discount, so I got much value for my stay. A staff earnestly cleans the mess, so kudos to them.

Didn't get to try the pool or the gym, but there were families in the pool and they seem to enjoy the facility...small pool though, I think, but I'm just trying to find faults here. LOL.

Bed is comfortable and had 4 pillows so rested quite soundly. I have 3 young kids at home, so the sound of silence was eerie. I almost missed the noise. I said ALMOST.

Nice touch, the TV remote control was in these bags that says Clean Remote or something like that. Wish I took out my CSI kit to confirm, but it felt clean to me anyway :-)

Would stay again if I visit Saint John. Nice town. Didn't smell, though the IRVING plant is around.

Stayed during a BOIL ORDER (can't use tap water for drinking due to high bacteria content). No worries, brought bottled water. Used that even for brushing.

Saint John Airport reminded me of a small old-fashioned Canadian Tire. It's that cute :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EhMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the detailed feedback of our hotel. Your comments are truly appreciated. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have the chance to accommodate you again in the near future! Best regards, the team at the Best Western PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    152
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
114
128
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at the Best Western in Saint John. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. They managed to find extra pillows for us, which is rare in my experience. The rooms were clean and modern. There was a pool and exercise room, although we never took advantage of them. There was a free hot buffet breakfast which was pretty good. They allowed us to check out an hour later which was very convenient for us as we were in town for one of our child's sporting events which did not begin until early afternoon. Best of all was the price, $114 taxes in with CAA. Hard to beat that deal, you definitely get your money's worth at this hotel. We would definitely stay again!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Underduraltension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the detailed review, as it was nice to read about your stay and what you thought of the different services we offer. We are here to make our guests happy and any feedback is certainly appreciated! Thank you again for your encouragement and we hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, NS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Robert H
Feb. 25, 2013

This was our first stay at this location and will use it very time in the future. Everything was clean and comfortable and the staff were top notch. We took special note of the young lady working the breakfast facility in the morning and she keep everything clean and tidy. We took note also that she would use plastic gloves when handling food items and would change them with each different item. Very nice to see.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank truroyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always nice to hear compliments about our staff, as I know they are keen on keeping our guests happy and work very hard to provide excellent service. I will be sure to pass this along to the lady mentioned, as I know it will make her day. Thank you again for the wonderful compliments and we certainly look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed here on multiple occasions the past few years. They have always been very helpful in giving me good rates and last minute stays. The staff is friendly and helpful with any questions you may have. The breakfast buffet is about what you would expect (typical continental offerings plus a waffle maker, eggs and bacon), but it could last a little longer than 9am during the week. The rooms are well maintained and everything is relatively new. It has free Wi-Fi which I find very helpful and has a print room that is free to use. The rooms also has a bar fridge and microwave. It has a reasonable exercise room and small pool. I find the price more reasonable than some other chains for the same quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigBangBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I was very happy to read that you have stayed with us on multiple occasions, and we certainly take all of your feedback to heart. We are extending our breakfast time starting April. We are listening to all of your comments as they help us improve our services. Thank you again for your review, and for helping us improve. We are here to make sure you have a pleasant stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was traveling for business and that was the only hotel with available rooms in the area. I used to rent at another location but was surprised with this hotel. It is well situated near restaurants and room was cleaned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I am very glad to hear that you got to try our hotel and were satisfied. Thank you very much for your kind comment and we are always working to improve each and every day so we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Nice rooms and friendly staff I enjoy staying here, just don't count on breakfast. There is a poor selection of cold stuff and the hot food is neither cooked enough or hot and has been this way for the last year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank STEVE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSsaintjohn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I have taken note about our breakfast not being hot enough and have let the breakfast staff know. It turns out that they have been keeping the settings on low because the lids are getting too hot for guests to touch but we are going to insulate the lid handle so I have passed on this message to our staff and they will regulate it more carefully and put something over the cover handle. Hopefully this will make your stay more pleasant next time! Thank you for choosing us as your hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
2.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Majors Brook Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#3 Family Hotel in Saint John
#3 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Saint John Hotel & Suites! This beautiful, new hotel is within convenient walking distance to shopping, restaurants & a movie theatre, and has 77 rooms to choose from, including whirlpool rooms and suites. Guests will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi, as well as a mini-fridge and 42" LED TVs in all rooms. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, fitness centre, a 24hr business centre and 3 meeting rooms. Earn airline miles or points towards free stays by enrolling in BW Rewards for free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel Saint John
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel And Suites
Best Western Saint John
Saint John Best Western
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing