We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodations!! Clean, charming and reasonably priced!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chipman Hill Suites
Ranked #1 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
Lubec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb accommodations!! Clean, charming and reasonably priced!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have stayed here numerous times, and this last time was excellent as usual. The location was great for downtown shopping, Place was impeccably decorated and maintained. I could not ask for better digs!!

Room Tip: they are all good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerLubec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Roger, from Lubec, Maine;

Thank you so much for taking time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate having you stay with us each time you are in Saint John.

We are really glad that you find our uptown locations convenient, and thank you for your kind comments on our maintenance and housekeeping.

We hope you will stay with us again soon. It is time for Christmas shopping!!

Thanks again

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    86
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
152
316
99
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent place to stay whether you are in the city for the night or if you are planning to stay for a few weeks or months. The room that I am in has all the basic needs I require. The kitchenette makes it easy when you want to prepare your own meals, there is free laundry in the building which is an added bonus, and the staff are always helpful. My housekeeper Giselle does an excellent job keeping my room neat and tidy and is always making sure that my stay here is as comfortable as possible. It makes you feel you are at home whenever you are away from home. The rates are also very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Kirk, from Charlo;

It was such a pleasure to read your review. Thank you very much for taking time to write it.

We read our reviews aloud at our staff meetings, and it is always special for a staff member to be recognized in front of their peers in such a complimentary review as this. Thank you very much!

We very much appreciate all your positive comments about our business, particularly, that it is good value for the price paid, and that we provide complimentary onsite laundry, including detergent, which makes life a lot easier for people who are away from home a lot.

Thank you once again for your continued business, and for the great review.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our stay at CHipman Hill suites. The historic building was full of charming features that certainly add to the building's character and appeal and it's location could not have been better as we found ourselves within walking distance of all the major city's attractions.
Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were extremely comfortable with a generous supply of quality pillows! The room also had a fully equipped kitchenette which proved very convenient for obvious reasons. As well, our suite had a large sitting area and a beautiful bay window giving us a great "bird's eye view" of the city!
Lastly, all communications with the staff of Chipman Hill Suites were nothing but positive. Their friendly and professional manner was very welcoming. All said, we will stay with Chipman Hill Suites again and would happily recommend them to anyone traveling to Saint John!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Christine, from New Glasgow;

Thank you very much for choosing Chipman Hill Suites for your recent visit to Saint John. We do appreciate your taking time to review us, and especially for writing such a complimentary review.

Our staff work very hard to give our guests a quality experience, and we very much appreciate your kind remarks about our wonderful mattresses and pillows etc.

Cleanliness is Job #1 and we are always very happy when a guest notices that their suite is spotless as that is absolutely what we intend to deliver each and every time you stay with us.

We hope you will stay with us again soon and once again, thank you very much for taking time to review us here on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Recently stayed at Chipman Hill, again and was not let down in the least! Each of our stays have been wonderful! We had a great room with probably 10 foot ceilings, a sitting room, kitchenette, bedroom and bathroom with nearly all of the original moulding, trim and woodwork left in tact. To make it even better, the king size bed was one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Stuart, From Truro, NS;

It is always wonderful when our "next door neighbours" from Nova Scotia come to stay here at Chipman Hill Suites.

Thank you very much for taking time to write us such a lovely review.

Your kind comments about the comfort of our beds were very much appreciated.

There are many different ceiling heights in our buildings, as we work, as much as possible, with the existing framework of our historic buildings. With the exception of the penthouses, which are up to 22' high at the highest point, the rest of our ceilings range from 9' to 14' high!
The highest ones are on the main floor of 9 Chipman Hill, and these are the ones with the most intricate historic plaster work.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in Saint John.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent two nights at Chipman Hill while attending a very intensive workshop, and at the end of the day, it was just like coming home. The room was lovely and the bed was the best! And the staff was wonderful from the first contact I had on line. Chipman Hill has become my first choice for accommodations in Saint John.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckFredericton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest From Fredericton;

Thank you so very much for writing this lovely review.

The sentiment offered in your review is exactly what we are "going for" as we build our suites, furnish them, and look after our guests who stay in them. "A Home Away From Home" is exactly it!

We are very grateful for your extremely kind words, and there will be many smiles of satisfaction on the faces of our staff members when your review is read aloud at our next staff meeting.

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay here at Chipman Hill Suties, and we hope that you stay with us again soon. (Perhaps for a visit that is not so hectic......some "you" time!"

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have stayed at several Chipman Hill locations, and they are all both distinctive and good value for money. We stayed at Union St. in August of 2013. The Union St. location is as central as one can get in Saint John, and the buildings are fine old Victorian properties. Our suite was well appointed, with all the kitchen facilities we required, and a very comfortable bed. We had views both towards the harbour, and onto Union St.
I definitely recommend Chipman Hill, and this location in particular.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Hugh, from Dartmouth;

Thank you so very much for taking time to write us such a complimentary review. We were very happy to have you stay with us again, and look forward to your next visit.

It was very kind of you to mention the "distinctive" nature of our business and buildings. We have no "cookie cutter rooms", each one is different, and we try to preserve as much of the historic character of our buildings as possible.

It is wonderful that we are able to offer both a historic building and a harbour view in some of our suites. It is especially grand on one of the cruise ship days!

Thank you so much for choosing Chipman Hill Suites once again, and for taking time to write us this lovely review.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My partner and I are excited to be returning to Chipman Hill Suites once again as we plan to have a fun New Years Eve in Saint John with friends.
Last year it was great to be in the city core so that we could walk to our party, as well as enjoy beautiful King Square at night. Our room was in the Union St. Suite, which provided a lovely view over the Harbour facing Partridge Island as well as the Boardwalk. I loved the suite, which had everything we needed, from wine glasses to a coffee maker for our first coffee of the day.
We really love to visit my old hometown, especially so because we know we will have an awesome stay at Chipman Hill Suites and the staff are just amazing!

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCollins4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, formerly from Saint John, now from Halifax;

Thank you so very much for writing us such a lovely review. We really appreciate your taking the time to do it!

As you may be aware, we read our reviews aloud to our staff at our meetings, and it is always so nice when a guest mentions that the staff are wonderful, because they truly are. Our staff really care about our guests and everyone does their best to ensure that our guests are comfortable.

We truly appreciate your repeat business each time you come home to Saint John. Thank you so very much.

We look forward to seeing you again this New Year's Eve.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipman Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipman Hill Suites

Property: Chipman Hill Suites
Address: 1 & 5 Chipman Hill and 76 Union Street, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chipman Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chipman Hill Suites has a beautiful collection of Victorian mansions located in the historic "uptown" of Canada's oldest city, Saint John, New Brunswick. Designed for your comfort and convenience, each of our rooms has a private bathroom (of course) as well as a fully equipped kitchenette (some even have a full kitchen). Each totally non-smoking building has complimentary on-site laundry machines (complete with soap!) for your convenience. Our buildings are located within easy walking distance to the top restaurants, tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping venues, and business offices. Our beds are the very best, with piles of beautiful pillows and wonderful linens. Come and let us share one of our beautiful historic buildings with you, and make it your home away from home for your stay in Saint John, whether for a night, a week or an extended stay. We welcome you to Saint John and to Chipman Hill Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chipman Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipman Hill Suites Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing