We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve at Chipman Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chipman Hill Suites
Ranked #1 of 15 Saint John B&B and Inns
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Years Eve at Chipman Hill”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My partner and I are excited to be returning to Chipman Hill Suites once again as we plan to have a fun New Years Eve in Saint John with friends.
Last year it was great to be in the city core so that we could walk to our party, as well as enjoy beautiful King Square at night. Our room was in the Union St. Suite, which provided a lovely view over the Harbour facing Partridge Island as well as the Boardwalk. I loved the suite, which had everything we needed, from wine glasses to a coffee maker for our first coffee of the day.
We really love to visit my old hometown, especially so because we know we will have an awesome stay at Chipman Hill Suites and the staff are just amazing!

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCollins4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, formerly from Saint John, now from Halifax;

Thank you so very much for writing us such a lovely review. We really appreciate your taking the time to do it!

As you may be aware, we read our reviews aloud to our staff at our meetings, and it is always so nice when a guest mentions that the staff are wonderful, because they truly are. Our staff really care about our guests and everyone does their best to ensure that our guests are comfortable.

We truly appreciate your repeat business each time you come home to Saint John. Thank you so very much.

We look forward to seeing you again this New Year's Eve.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    90
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
159
328
99
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Chipman Hill is a super nice and comfortable place. With an optimal structure and good conservation visitors enter an environment of the nineteenth century. Apartment located in the heart of Saint John near shopping, museum, beautiful squares, bars, banks. The best place to stay when coming to Saint John.

Room Tip: Rooms on the e west side are quieter Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Italo;

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a nice review for us here at Chipman Hill Suites.

We are very pleased that you and your colleagues are staying with us, and very happy that you enjoy our historic nineteenth century atmosphere here in uptown Saint John.

It is our pleasure to look after you during your stay here in Saint John and we wish you very great success and enjoyment with your new endeavours here in Canada.

Thank you once again for writing us such a nice review.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I arrived in Saint John with my friends ha little over two weeks and I am very satisfied with the service of Chipman Hill . One important thing to be clarified is that the location of the Chipman Hill Suites is very good and is close to everything you might need for the day - to-day , Bank , Markets , Shopping , and more

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Joao;

It is our great pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues to Saint John and to Chipman Hill Suites.

All our management and staff are very pleased that you have chosen to stay here with us, and we are very pleased that you find our facilities both safe and conveniently located near everything that you need.

We very much appreciate your taking time to write us this nice review and we thank you very much. We wish you and your colleagues all the best success with your new endeavours here in Canada.

Thank you again.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Family, friends and business bring us to Saint John frequently and one of the high lights of our visit is staying at the Chipman Hill Suites. We have stayed in many of their beautiful historic buildings and have enjoyed suites of various sizes from bed-sitting rooms to three bedroom units. The larger suites are wonderful for visiting grandchildren. The suites have everything you need for housekeeping complete with free laundry facilities, including the detergent. The free wi-fi and cable are an added bonus. We find the location of each building is so convenient a they are all within walking distance of the downtown area. The manager, Marilyn Bountalas, makes our visit that much better by being so obliging with everything we might want or need. She and her friendly staff go above and beyond. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Ellen;

Thank you kindly for writing such a nice review for us here at Chipman Hill Suites.

You are a very valued guest and we truly appreciate your repeat business year after year.

It is very nice to hear how well our larger suite suited you and your grandchildren, and we were very happy to provide it for you.

All our staff join me in wishing you happy travels and to thank you once again for your very kind review which was read aloud at our staff meeting this morning, much to the pleasure of Marilyn, who was very pleased to have her name mentioned in such a complimentary way.

Thank you again.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I spend about one night a week in Saint John and have recently changed my hotel of choice to Chipman Hill Suites. The central location is fabulous and the amenities in each room are consistent and far better than what I was receiving in the large chain hotels. The check in and out procedures are great time savers and the staff are attentive to any problems. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Saint John. I have recommended the Hotel to friends, family and colleagues, with positive responses from all

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest From Moncton;

Thank you so very much for taking time to write us such a complimentary review, and for making Chipman Hill Suites your hotel of choice here in Saint John for your frequent visits.

We really appreciate your complimentary remarks concerning our buildings, rooms and business in general.

We are very grateful that you took time to review us here on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Thank you most sincerely,

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

GIRLS: Planning a shopping trip to Saint John.......make Christmas shopping fun, shop till you drop, pick up your favorite take-out, and a couple of bottles of good wine, then relax with your friends. There's nothing more fun to do after power shopping for Christmas than to gather round in your "Jamies" with your friends, drinking good wine until the wee hours of the morning...laughing and catching up. We so often think, "we should do that"...yes we/you should and I know the perfect gathering spot....Chipman Hill Suites, my favorite is 71 Sydney, lots of room for gathering in the BEAUTIFUL Sitting Room, and the bed will never feel so good...you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity to stay in the Penthouse make sure you take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Halifax;

Thank you so much for once again choosing Chipman Hill Suites as your home away from home while in Saint John.

Your description of a "girl's weekend away" is very tempting....and sounds like a lot of fun. At 71 Sydney Street, there are 10 rooms, so there is room for you and all your girlfriends. (If you book all 10 rooms, the common areas are all yours as well at no extra cost, you have rented the whole house........have a pyjama party!!)

We very much appreciate your taking time to write us this stellar review. It means a lot to us, so once again, thank you VERY much.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend a couple of days in Saint John touring the area. Our stay at Chipman Hill Suites turned out to be a highlight event as we were treated to a most elegant accommodation. We were so impressed with the tasteful décor and the fact that every need we had was thought of and pre-planned for. How very thoughtful. What a joyful experience. Can hardly wait to do it again. Sandy & Sandie Merrithew

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guests, Sandy and Sandie, from Lindsay;

It was our pleasure to have you stay at Chipman Hill Suites once again this year.

We very much appreciate the kind words in your review and would like to sincerely thank you for taking time to write it.

We hope that you will visit Saint John again soon, and that you will once again choose to stay at Chipman Hill Suites.

THANKS again.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipman Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipman Hill Suites

Property: Chipman Hill Suites
Address: 1 & 5 Chipman Hill and 76 Union Street, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chipman Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chipman Hill Suites has a beautiful collection of Victorian mansions located in the historic "uptown" of Canada's oldest city, Saint John, New Brunswick. Designed for your comfort and convenience, each of our rooms has a private bathroom (of course) as well as a fully equipped kitchenette (some even have a full kitchen). Each totally non-smoking building has complimentary on-site laundry machines (complete with soap!) for your convenience. Our buildings are located within easy walking distance to the top restaurants, tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping venues, and business offices. Our beds are the very best, with piles of beautiful pillows and wonderful linens. Come and let us share one of our beautiful historic buildings with you, and make it your home away from home for your stay in Saint John, whether for a night, a week or an extended stay. We welcome you to Saint John and to Chipman Hill Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chipman Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipman Hill Suites Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing