We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chipman Hill Suites
Ranked #1 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Quiet and charming”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We chose 71 Sydney for one night's stay en-route to Nova Scotia from Portland and were very pleased with our choice. As explained on the Chipman Hill Suites website, there is no manager onsite. Instead, instructions for accessing the key box and gaining entry are emailed several days before your reservation. We (as well as another couple staying there at the same time) had some difficulty with the key box, but otherwise found the system just fine. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The parking situation can sound a bit daunting from the information emailed ahead of time. Those planning to stay on a weekend evening should note that there's excellent free parking just behind 71 Sydney--quite convenient, especially since we arrived in a downpour.

Room Tip: No elevator, so be prepared to navigate stairs with luggage. We didn't mind, but this might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atastefortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Baltimore;

We are soooooooooo pleased that you chose to stay at Chipman Hill Suites on your trip home from Nova Scotia. Thank you so much for choosing us.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated.

Thank you again for your business, and we hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to our area, and perhaps spend a few days in Saint John to get to know the Bay of Fundy area from "the other side" of the Bay, here in Southern New Brunswick. I would be VERY happy to give you some suggestions on what to see and do.

Thanks again for taking time to review us here on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    87
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
155
320
99
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent 8 months living in a suite at 77 Coburg St. It was great, and had everything I needed- the bed was so so comfortable, and the shower was great. The housekeeping was exceptional- every week Shelly went above and beyond my expectations. Anytime I had any other issues- which were few, and nothing serious- a staff member would come and take care of things immediately. If I'm ever back in Saint John (which I hope to be) I am definitely staying at Chipman Hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montbrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Montreal;

We are so happy to have you stay at Chipman Hill Suites.

We very much appreciate your wonderful review, especially as you have mentioned the four things that we think are the most important:

Great Housekeeping
Great Service
Great Bed
Great Shower

These are items that we feel are most important for guests and we try very hard to get them right. Sometimes, people don't notice how great a bed is, only if it is uncomfortable, but we purchase the very best mattresses and box springs and linens and pillows and we are always delighted when people remark on our beds.

We always want our guests to have everything they need, and I am so happy to read that Shelly looked after your every requirement so well. (I am not surprised, her guests love her!).

THANK YOU again for your business, your friendship and for taking time to write us this lovely review.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are spending 3 nights at Chipman Hill Suites at the 71 Sydney building. A beautiful, historic building in a beautiful and historic part of St. John. Rather like being in someone's gracious home. The parlor floor of the building if gorgeous...one could spend a day just sitting in the glass enclosed 'solarium' type room reading and enjoying the room. The fantastic stained glass windows alone are worth the stay!
Our room is quite nice, spacious, with a bedroom, sitting area and small kitchenette.
It's a great location to walk around this lovely city, easy walking to the main attractions and many restaurants.
All communication is done by e-mail prior to arrival. There is no 'desk' where one 'checks in'. Instructions are sent how to get into the building, and keys are left in the building when you arrive. Staff can be reached by phone, though this has not proved necessary. All questions have been answered quickly and thoroughly via e-mail. We've never experiences this kind of check-in procedure before, but it works great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from NYC, Donna;

Thank you VERY much for choosing to stay at Chipman Hill Suites, 71 Sydney, on your recent visit to Saint John. We loved reading your complimentary words about our building and were very happy to share it with you!!

We very much appreciate your kind comments about our check in procedure. Many of our business guests, in particular, appreciate having everything set up for them and being able to bypass the check in desk. Of course, as you mention, staff are available 24 hours a day with a phone call.

I have also read your reviews for two of the nearby uptown restaurants. I have never tried "Taste of Egypt", but based on your review, I know that I will, and soon.

THANKS again for your business and for taking time to write us such a complimentary review.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We attended a family wedding in St. John NB and many of the guests stayed the week end at Chipman House Suites , Sydney Street in downtown NB. The building is a Victorian style building with large suites which include kitchenettes. We had a fantastic stay, 2 minutes from the city market and waterfront. A definite favorite and a return visit is planned.

Room Tip: There is one suite on the main floor, should you have stair challenges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evansj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest From Halifax;

Thank you very much for choosing Chipman Hill Suites as your home-away-from-home while you were attending a wedding here in Saint John.

We very much appreciate your business, and your kind comments about our business and our facilities.

We always enjoy having guests here who are attending a wedding and are happy to have wedding pictures taken here at Chipman Hill suites.

Thanks again, and we truly appreciate your review.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay, were planning on spending another night on our way back from Peggy's Cove, but had flat tire on Motorcycle, this place called us back in 10 min. on a Sunday I might add & helped us feel better with understanding & let us cancel at last min. The building itself is clean & beautiful.Nice to have microwave & frig in room, had a quick breakfast in morning & we on our way. One of the staff was extremely helpful when I was trying to get a stain out of my shirt. Great location & great restaurants close by, enjoyed our stroll in the morning before we had to catch the ferry which to was very close. Apparently buildings are over in Saint John- well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaThe2Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guests on Motorcycle from Kitchener;

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Chipman Hill Suites, and for taking time to write such a complimentary review.

Aren't our staff GREAT??

We all try hard to ensure that our guests can have a great experience with everything they need in one of our historic buildings! I am so glad that you did, too. (Sorry about that flat tire!!)

I hope you had a great trip home and thank you so much for staying with us. I hope you return on your next visit to our area.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Chipman Hill Suites last week for a night, on our way back to Montreal, and loved it. It's perfectly located in the uptown area of the city (i.e the city centre/historic neighborhood). We were at a walking distance from many cafes and restaurants as well as the boardwalk, and a few minutes away from the market and a small park.

Our room was in the Sydney Street building (Chipman Hill Suites is a collection on 12 buildings scattered around uptown). Tip: make sure you save which street and building you're in as if you enter 'Chipman Hill Suites' on google map, it would take you to one of the building which might not be yours.

The building where our room was located is historic, and its interiors are charming and decorated with great taste. There were three spacious common rooms on the ground floor where you could relax, read and even play the piano.

Our room on the second floor was lovely: spacious, with big windows, with a small kitchenette (with coffee maker, toaster, stove, small fridge) and clean bathroom.

I would highly recommend a stay at Chipman Hill Suites, it only adds to the charm of St John.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farahlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Farahlie, from Dubai;

WELCOME TO CANADA!!!!

I am sure that you are our guest from the furthest place away this summer! I hope that you really enjoyed your trip to Canada and to Saint John in particular. The entire staff join me in wishing you safe and happy travels.

Thank you so very much for choosing us, and for taking time to write us such a gracious and kind review.

We were so very happy to have had you come to stay.

Thank you again.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed in a bachelor suite at 5 Chipman Hill from the end of May to August 2013. I was in Saint John working for the summer and Chipman Hill proved the perfect place to stay. It is in a great, convenient location uptown. You are close to public transit, the city market, and many other fantastic amenities that uptown Saint John offers. The Chipman Hill staff aim to please, with my email inquiries always answered promptly. It is great to see a historic building in such wonderful condition and in use retaining its original features. You can tell that the staff have a lot of pride in the building! This was my first time to Saint John and Chipman Hill provided me with a comfortable, beautiful and safe place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Sarah, From Toronto;

We were so happy to see your glowing review, Sarah! Thank you so much for taking time to write it.

It was such a pleasure to have you staying at 5 Chipman Hill, and we are so pleased that we met your expectations for great service and responsiveness.

You are so right that 5 Chipman Hill is such a convenient place to stay. Within walking distance of just about everything.

We very much hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Saint John, and once again, thank you so VERY much for writing us such a great review!!

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chipman Hill Suites
Chipman Hill Suites
#1 of 7 in Saint John
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipman Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipman Hill Suites

Property: Chipman Hill Suites
Address: 1 & 5 Chipman Hill and 76 Union Street, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chipman Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chipman Hill Suites has a beautiful collection of Victorian mansions located in the historic "uptown" of Canada's oldest city, Saint John, New Brunswick. Designed for your comfort and convenience, each of our rooms has a private bathroom (of course) as well as a fully equipped kitchenette (some even have a full kitchen). Each totally non-smoking building has complimentary on-site laundry machines (complete with soap!) for your convenience. Our buildings are located within easy walking distance to the top restaurants, tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping venues, and business offices. Our beds are the very best, with piles of beautiful pillows and wonderful linens. Come and let us share one of our beautiful historic buildings with you, and make it your home away from home for your stay in Saint John, whether for a night, a week or an extended stay. We welcome you to Saint John and to Chipman Hill Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chipman Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipman Hill Suites Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing