We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chipman Hill Suites
Ranked #1 of 14 Saint John B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Recently my Husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Chipman Hill Suites. What a treat that was. I was impressed with the comfort, cleanliness, and the beauty as soon as I walked into the building. As we turned the key to our room and walked in we were greeting with an amazing King Sized Sleigh Bed with the most comfortable mattress!
The room was beautifully decorated and well organized for your every comfort. The kitchen had everything necessary for someone staying a few days to a month or more. It was like stepping into a second home. They are centrally located close to wonderful restaurants, shopping and entertainment. It was the perfect spot for us to celebrate a significant milestone birthday.
For the traveler who wants all the comforts of home, I highly recomend the Chipman Hill Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Elizabeth, from Saint John;

It is always an honour to have someone from "home" come to stay here at Chipman Hill Suites, especially when it is for a significant occasion. Thank you for staying with us and I am so glad that you enjoyed your suite and had a great time.

In particular, I would like to comment on your observation about our beds. We purchase the absolute BEST beds and mattresses that we can, and pile them up with lots and lots of pillows and fabulous linens, and find that we get many, many compliments on them. Thank you for adding your voice to this chorus. I think that a really great bed is one of the most important things that we can provide to our guests.

In closing, I am delighted to inform you that as of just this week, Chipman Hill Suites has achieved the coveted goal of being rated #1 in the Province of New Brunswick in addition to being rated #1 in Saint John, based on guest reviews.

Thank you SO MUCH for yours.

Sincerely

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 871 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had never stayed at the Chipman Hill Suites before but completely enjoyed our time spent there. The building felt comfortable, quiet, and with a charming character that one would not find in a hotel chain. It was clean, well appointed, and had everything we needed to spend a delightful sojourn away from home. Our suite was centrally located in the uptown Saint John area within walking distance to all the wonderful restaurants and amenities. Thank you for a first class experience! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a King size bed. They also have WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardCormier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Bernard;

Thank you very kindly for taking time to write us this lovely review.

We were so very pleased to host you here at Chipman Hill Suites for your special occasion, and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

I really appreciate your comment about the uniqueness of Chipman Hill Suites. I always say that we have "no cookie-cutter rooms here".........The heritage of our City is shared with Chipman Hill Suites guests on a nightly basis, and we are very proud to offer our product to the travellers, as well as to local residents for a "staycation" or special event.

At the time of this writing, I am thrilled to inform you that Chipman Hill Suites is now not only rated #1 in Saint John, but also for New Brunswick.

Thank you so much for your review.

Sincerely

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were lucky enough to have the pleasure of staying at one of the suites at the Chipman Hill location. We attended the Saint John Wine Fair so this location was perfect, it was a quick walk to the inside connection to get the Trade and Convention Centre. The suite we stayed in was absolutely beautiful with skylights throughout. It had an antique feel with modern touches to make for a cozy, comfortable stay. I would recommend this suite to anyone looking for a weekend getaway or for a business stay as there is a kitchen as well!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Richard;

Thank you very kindly for choosing Chipman Hill Suites for your recent stay in Uptown Saint John while you were attending the wine fair. I very much appreciate all your very kind comments, thank you.

We are especially proud of our penthouse suites which showcase views of the harbour and have multiple skylights.

We thank you so very much for your review, and I am thrilled to tell you that we are now not only rated #1 in Saint John, but also in New Brunswick. We are thrilled. Thank you so much for your review and your stay with us.

Sincerely

Susan Fullerton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stay 4 week in The Chipman Hill suites on the Coburg St. Is really good place for live. Quiet, all the time clean, big place, great staff & service. I really enjoye my time here. The room look for studio. You have kitchen and bathroom in you room. I recommend this place for everyone to want pay for the good service and good place for live in St Jonh NB.

:)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melane_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Moncton;

Thank you so very much for writing us such a great review for our property on Coburg Street. We were very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you had everything that you needed to be comfortable.

Our staff join me in thanking you most sincerely for all your very kind comments.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future, and once again, thank you VERY much for your wonderful review.

Sincerely

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I found this gem while searching for someone comfortable & cozy where 6 woman could get away. Two laides per room, located on teh second floor of one of the suites. The owner's were very co-operative & gave us the perfect spot. Rooms were spacious & well kept. The beds were awesome. So comfortable,with cozy pillos & duvet. Certainly will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piper2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Fredericton;

We were so happy to host your Friends Retreat for you and your friends. It is always fun for us to have a group like yours come to stay.

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about the comfort of our beds. We have always purchased the VERY BEST BEDS that we could find, and have had many wonderful comments about them over the years. We love to imagine the positive feelings that our guests have of our beds, from the beautiful oversized headboards, to the piles and piles of pillows and the wonderful linens to the comfort of the beds themselves....Obviously, beds are the most important thing when you are looking for a place to sleep!

Thanks for choosing us here at Chipman Hill Suites and we hope that you and your friends will return for another getaway weekend soon.

Sincerely

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very clean quiet suites with ample room. Very much enjoyed my stay. Traveling with my dog this was an ideal place for her to feel comfortable.

Wifi included in the very reasonable rate. Will be returning here for sure during my next visit.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you very much for taking time to write us this great review.

We were very happy that you were pleased with your suite, and that it worked out well with your dog. We have several dog-friendly suites and have found that more and more guests are travelling with their pets, and appreciate it.

We hope that you will stay with us again soon and once again, thank you for your business and the wonderful review.

Sincerely

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I would like to thanks to all members of staff
of Chipman Hill Suites(Saint John) for providing
such a wonderful service.
I found suites clean, cozy and
comfortable ...If you have chance to visit Saint John
Chipman Hill Suites can definitely be your home away from
home.
D.Karki, Toronto, ON

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharmendra K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Toronto;

Thank you SO VERY MUCH for taking time to write us such a lovely review.

COZY, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE are exactly what we are aiming for here at Chipman Hill Suites, and I am so delighted that we succeeded in having you feel this way about us.

We very much appreciated your business and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Once again, thank you very much.

Sincerely

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.4 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
582 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.2 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
1,064 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipman Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipman Hill Suites

Address: 1 & 5 Chipman Hill and 76 Union Street, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range: $81 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chipman Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chipman Hill Suites has a beautiful collection of Victorian mansions located in the historic "uptown" of Canada's oldest city, Saint John, New Brunswick. Designed for your comfort and convenience, each of our rooms has a private bathroom (of course) as well as a fully equipped kitchenette (some even have a full kitchen). Each totally non-smoking building has complimentary on-site laundry machines (complete with soap!) for your convenience. Our buildings are located within easy walking distance to the top restaurants, tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping venues, and business offices. Our beds are the very best, with piles of beautiful pillows and wonderful linens. Come and let us share one of our beautiful historic buildings with you, and make it your home away from home for your stay in Saint John, whether for a night, a week or an extended stay. We welcome you to Saint John and to Chipman Hill Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Chipman Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipman Hill Suites Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing