We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Osaka Hibachi

Osaka Hibachi
Ranked #18 of 268 Restaurants in Moncton
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Finally got around to visiting this restaurant and enjoyed it immensely. We had reserved on the grill side but switched to restaurant as our party increased but that got us a small private room which was nice. The service is excellent and the restaurant looks very good, hopefully it won't chance in the coming months.

The menu is varied with other options than sushi or japanese food so even people who hate sushi 'because it's all raw fish' should find something they enjoy. The bulgogi was good though I can't say I've tried authentic one. Sushi wise they have more rolls than the other restaurants in Moncton and the ones we tried were all excellent. There do stick closer to traditional rolls though, not many fusion or fancy rolls like you'd find in a larger city like Montreal for example- but since not everyone is a fan of fois gras or maple syrup on a sushi roll it's good enough for 99% of us.

Price for larger rolls are between 12-18$ and 4-8$ for makis. The other meal options vary between 13-25$ so the price is very reasonnable in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feneant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    87
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best. Ever.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I consider myself a veteran restauranteur and lover of food and this was one of the best experiences I've ever had in my life.

I can't even describe it. Our server was great and the chef was incredible. The entire staff defined hospitality in everything they did.

I will be back again and again. They can have all of my money! It was so good!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“marbog”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

First, but not last, dining experience at Osaka. The tappanyaki experience was entertaining and the food delicious. The decor is highend, service is great and although prices are higher end, it is well worth it. Can easily compare to any high end restaurant anywhere. What a welcome addition to the dining scene in Moncton.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, NB
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Popular spot. We couldn't get reservations for the hibachi grill the first night we tried. Second night we were seated promptly, and drinks ordered in minutes. Place is clean and nice decor. Menu is sufficiently varied with sushi, fish, chicken & meat available. Food was fresh cooked in front of you by a very entertaining chef. Lot of laughs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Discovery169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my second visit at Osaka Hibashi. This time around, we tried the sushi (i.e. the sushi section vs the tepanyaki section). All in all, the sushi was very good, the service excellent and the price just right. The number of offerings is almost daunting, but thanks to our server's suggestions, we made out just fine. Worth trying.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yqmflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Hibachi also viewed

 
Moncton, New Brunswick
Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Osaka Hibachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing