We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Pieces of Fish”
Review of Skipper Jack's

Skipper Jack's
Ranked #30 of 268 Restaurants in Moncton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Big Pieces of Fish”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Good Food,service was quick,the fish and chip are 2 big pieces of fish,fries are good,seafood platter is the same big piece of fish ,shrimp,scallops and clams ,all good you don' t get that greasy bloating feeling as Deluxe food after eating .The atmosphere is nice,restaurant tables and booths. Good place for a meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BERandDO_849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    49
    20
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food - unfortunately a poor experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Food was very good; I had crab cakes; others had chowder, fish & chips, seafood platters. All very good.

However, we waited over an hour for our orders to come, despite the restaurant not being terribly full. Waitress was very pleasant, friendly, and apologetic. But despite following up, and asking for at least for some rolls for the table for people to eat while they waited, there was little accommodation, and when they finally came... we were charged for the rolls.

Poor performance from the kitchen and house staff - who didn't even come to the table, despite us being the last group in the restaurant because of the wait. Unfortunate - could have been a very nice dinner without the negative experiences.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The seafood was cooked to perfection. The best seafood chowder I have every tasted. Friendly staff, very reasonable prices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HHTAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The food is good”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The food is great and they are open late they close at 10:00 it is a seafood and grill.There is no outdoor table and/or service (drive thru) the fish and chips is good same as the lobster. It is very good with your family to enjoy seafood

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have never seen such slow service in my life. I don't really know that the wait staff had ever had any training. They let the line up to pay grow so long with everyone waiting about 20 minutes to pay their bills. I am sure they did not get any tips. Once we were able to order everything was quick. The food was delicious.

Would go back if not for the service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Liza2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper Jack's also viewed

Moncton, New Brunswick
Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Skipper Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing