We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem on the Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Moncton B&B and Inns
delta bc canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The gem on the Hill”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

In a maritime town that is going through many changes this established B & B and winery are amazing.
The hosts welcome you like family, They join you for breakfast in the completely renovated kitchen of their heritage home. They share the stories and pictures of their hard work in restoring the property and building the winery.
They are helpful in finding places to visit and explore, where to eat , driving distances and even laundry facilities!
They gleefully relate their expertise in wine making including holding tastings, There is a gift shop on site. They will also ship cases of wine to your home!
Location is a great junction in reaching PEI and Nova Scota.
The rooms are amazing and the beds extremely comfortable.
The decor is just as lovely as the hosts.
We will definitely revisit!

Room Tip: book early! fills up fast between june and september - only two rooms The oak room over looks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gen3van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
58
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Four of us (two couples) stayed here for one night in June 2012. We very much enjoyed our stay - Janet and Jeff were warm and friendly and the property is beautiful. The rooms are extremely well kept and the bed was probably one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

While it is outside of "downtown Moncton", we didn't mind the short drive into town and preferred the more peaceful surroundings of the B&B. During our stay, Janet gave us a wine tasting at the shop and we also purchased the maple sugar candies and maple butter - delicious! An overall lovely experience and I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Without Janet and Jeff's open hospitality and the unique winery experience built into your stay, this would just be a very comfortable B&B stay.

Although busy with the winery guests when we arrived, Janet and Jeff made sure they greeted us upon arrival, showed us the two rooms, discussed breakfast plans, and invited us down to the winery for tastings and snacks on the patio. They really made us feel welcome.

Both rooms were very clean and comfortable and delightful. There's a large common area which we took advantage of regularly during our two night stay.

As for the winery, the wines are very good, surprisingly varied, and they also stock many local products including cheese, maple and honey products.

Breakfasts were excellent. Just arrange a time the night before and then join the family for breakfast the next morning. You get a chance to sample some local maple products you may not normally have tried.

Overall, a great experience.

Here's the thing - if you are just looking for a great B&B and have no interest in wine, leave the Magnetic Hill Winery B&B to the wine lovers in the crowd. Let them have the experience of staying at the winery, and, let Jeff and Janet generate winery business from their guests. It's a unique experience that you should not deprive others of it you don't like wine or don't intend to indulge in the winery experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef_Baboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our roadtrip honeymoon in May 2012.

We booked through Booking.com and I unfortunately made a mistake and booked the wrong night, but Janet was more than happy to switch to the correct day with no fuss whatsoever.

We were greeted with a friendly smile and after picking our room (I think it was the blue room) we went for a quick on site wine tasting (which definitely has some unique surprises for you). The room was spotless and charmingly cozy.

I'm fairly certain the mattress of the bed was made from the wings of the angels. A tremendously restful sleep. A powerful, glass door shower the next morning was fantastic.

Bacon and eggs breakfast was surpassed only by the sincere conversation of the hosts. We would have loved to stay longer, but we were on a really short time frame.

And do yourself a favour and pick up a jar of maple butter, it will change your life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JyouKnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Janet and Jeff are awesome hosts, along with Zac and Christianna giving us great wine tasting.
We book a night, and end up staying for 2 nights and wanting more nights. You want to book this place ahead of time with only 2 rooms available. We have the pine room, not the blue room. This room with awesome view, clean towels and linens. classy chair, just like the one at titanic the movie.. wifi and cable tv facilitated. Gourmet breakfast every morning, first day with waffle and local fruits. and second day with sausage, eggs and toast with yummy maple butter.

Second night we sit out for wine and chocolate pairing, enjoy ourselves with the views and sunset. Christianna come entertain us with quitar music and her great voice.

Great Hosts, good travellers from Dundas, ON - nice meeting you Wandy and Neil.

This is terrific to having stayed at this barnhouse with duckling and bull frog by the pond, absolutely a great retreat after being on the road for 10 days.

Don't forget to bring home some fruity dessert wine. By the time, we drink up the case we will return to this lovely place again.

Room Tip: pick the pine room, not the blue room... unless you are fantasize about claw-foot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank China_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited the Magnetic Hill Winery before the B & B was open, could see that it was going to be nice. This year coming to the Atlantic Nationals Car Show we decided to give the B & B a try. It was GREAT! The hosts have restored an old farm house and use two rooms as guest rooms. It is like living in an old historical house with every modern convenience. Beautiful rooms with comfortable modern mattresses on old beds. Big flat screen TV and modern bathrooms. There was a beautiful view out of our window of the city of Moncton. We particularly liked that the hosts Janet & Jeff made breakfast and sat and ate with us, telling about their adventure building the B & B and the winery.

There are not a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but Moncton is not that big so it is only a 15 min. drive to the downtown, and here you get the benefit of a quiet country setting for a good night sleep.

Oh . . . the wine is very good too, and the wine tasting was included in the price.

Room Tip: Both rooms are similar. One has a beautiful old tub in the bathroom, but the other room has the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Magnetic Hill Winery B&B. This is a 5 star B&B.Not only are the accommodations excellent, so are the hosts Jeff and Janet .The room was meticulously clean , with very comfy bed. Two excellent breakfasts were shared in company of hosts .Jeff and his son Zach even went out of their way to help us print and fax some legal documents back home to Ottawa.The wine tasting was a treat.What a variety. This place is like home.Thank you Jeff and Janet for your great hospitality. Your B&B is awesome. If in Moncton, this B&B is a must.

Henri and Adriana

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriAdry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
#12 of 29 in Moncton
529 reviews
6.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Inn & Suites Moncton
1.0 mi away
Hotel Casino New Brunswick
9.6 mi away
Auberge Wild Rose Inn
Auberge Wild Rose Inn
#7 of 29 in Moncton
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B

Property: Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B
Address: 860 Front Mountain Rd, Moncton, New Brunswick E1G 3H3, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnetic Hill Winery is a Wine Lover's Utopia. Situated above the Magnetic Hill with a panoramic skyline of the city below, this 1867 Historic Site is a look into the past and one of the only wineries in Canada where you can stay and discover your palate’s pleasure with 14 selections of award-winning wines in the wine cellar. Magnetic Hill Winery offers visitors an authentic roots experience, life as it should be lived. Owners Jeff and Janet will charm you with their story of the farm's history and home restoration, local knowledge of the attractions in the area and expand your knowledge of winemaking. Surround yourself in authentic history and charming vineyards; Come for a wine tasting or heritage picnic and stay for the night in a home as old as Canada, overlooking the city of Moncton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnetic Hill Winery And B&B Moncton, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing