We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wineing a bit never hurt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Moncton B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2011

A fine combination . . . arrive before dinner for a wine-tasting and tour of the property hosted by Janet (their own wine, of course), then a couple minutes to town for dinner. We enjoyed the city-view from the second story of their old, completely rebuilt and restyled farmhouse.
It was great to sit at the farm-kitchen counter and hear Janet's stories (and look at pictures)of how they brought the old place back to life after twenty years of abandonment and neglect. Even physically moved the old barn to improve the overall house-winery arrangement.
Breakfast included home-made preserves, etc. from the farm -- no breakfast wines, 'though. After that, a brisk walk down their country road got us in the mood to tackle the day.

Room Tip: The room to the back of the house offers an excellent city view. The one forward has a view of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stopped at the Magnetic Hill Bed and Breakfast and winery while driving north to Nova Scotia and Newfoundland. The inn was a convenient stopping off point after a long drive — very close to the highway, yet so much nicer than your typical just-off-the-freeway motel. Our room was lovely (especially the large bathtub!) and Jeff and Janet were so accommodating. We got in late, but Janet still gave us a great wine tasting in the cellar and told us about their winery. The next morning Janet made an incredible waffle breakfast with fresh strawberries Jeff picked that morning. A great and relaxing start to the day! When I realized (several weeks after our trip) that I'd left my spare pair of glasses behind at the inn, Jeff responded to my email right away and offered to pop the glasses in the mail. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Friendly and relaxing atmosphere, Janet and Jeff (and Zach too!) make you feel more like friends than patrons in their home. The house has been updated using many of the old pieces from the original house. The flooring and cabinets are magnificent! The rooms were incredibly clean and no ammenities were penny pinched. Would definitly go back for another trip!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipersbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Magentic Hill Winery for 2 nights. We enjoyed this B&B (a renovated farm house) very much. The owners, Janet and Jeff, have taken great care in renovating this home and modernizing the room with luxury. Comfortable bed with quality linens and the ensuite bathroom (we stayed in the Pine Room) was stunning. Clawfoot tub, separate shower, and rustic vanity for the sink worked so well together. The hardwood floors have all been refinished and look wonderful.

We ate with Janet both mornings in her kitchen. Most B&Bs serve breakfast in a seperate room, but we enjoyed this experince. Family members were also staying in the home for an upcoming wedding (that very weekend!) and passed through the kitchen. A very warm and friendly family. We were amazed that even though the owners were planning and getting the grounds ready for their daughter's wedding in just a few days, they took the time to get to know us and share breakfast with us each morning. Their generosity with their time and company will not be forgotten.

The owners also operate a working fruit winery and grow their own fruit. These people are busy, but never made us feel that we were in the way.

We were given a free tasting while we were there and both nights enjoyed a bottle of their wine on the deck overlooking Moncton. We enjoyed their wine so much, we ordered a whole case of wine to be sent home. Janet also makes maple butter. You must try it while you are there!

Janet and Jeff, if you read this, thank you so much for an enjoyable stay!

-AW

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiderFanSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for one night as part of a trip to the Maritimes. The B&B is located on Magnetic Hill and offers a stunning view. Jeff and Janet (the owners) have done a great job restoring the house that the B&B is in. It is absolutely beautiful and elegant, but also very comfortable. Jeff and Janet also operate a winery that makes a variety of fruit wines, and gave us a tour and tasting during our stay. In the morning, they served us a great breakfast and gave us plenty of tips on what to do and see as part of our trip. Fro an experience that is much more enjoyable and unique than I hotel stay, I would highly recommend the Magnetic Hill Winery B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laranbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Whilst on our recent trip through Canada were struggling to find somewhere reasonably priced with a little bit of character in this part of the country and happened to stumble across Magnetic Hill Winery on a google search. What a find! We pulled up to the house that sits on the top of the hill and absolutely oozes homely Canadian charm.

There was a little sign on the door asking us to pop down to the winery - that is below the house where we would find our hosts. There we got to sample some of their delicious fruit wines and then were given our keys to the house. The rooms were beautifully decorated - very in keeping with the restored 1800's house. But the added bonus was all the mod cons - sky tv, wifi, new bathrooms with a roll top bath and shower. etc. So many beautiful little touches that really gave this B and B the wow factor.

The hosts were extremely accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful and fresh - homemade pancakes with fruit from their farm.

We couldn't recommend this place enough. They even have a little terrace where you can enjoy a glass of wine ( unfortunately it was too cold when we were there.)

We would definitely visit again if we were in the area.

Laura and Tom

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura160782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bergamote84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
6.8 mi away
Chateau Moncton
Chateau Moncton
#4 of 30 in Moncton
411 reviews
9.6 mi away
Auberge Wild Rose Inn
Auberge Wild Rose Inn
#7 of 30 in Moncton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Downtown Bed &  Breakfast
Downtown Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Moncton
28 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glory Inn Downtown B&B
Glory Inn Downtown B&B
#6 of 10 in Moncton
28 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
#11 of 30 in Moncton
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B

Address: 860 Front Mountain Rd, Moncton, New Brunswick E1G 3H3, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Moncton
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnetic Hill Winery is a Wine Lover's Utopia. Situated above the Magnetic Hill with a panoramic skyline of the city below, this 1867 Historic Site is a look into the past and one of the only wineries in Canada where you can stay and discover your palate’s pleasure with 14 selections of award-winning wines in the wine cellar. Magnetic Hill Winery offers visitors an authentic roots experience, life as it should be lived. Owners Jeff and Janet will charm you with their story of the farm's history and home restoration, local knowledge of the attractions in the area and expand your knowledge of winemaking. Surround yourself in authentic history and charming vineyards; Come for a wine tasting or heritage picnic and stay for the night in a home as old as Canada, overlooking the city of Moncton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnetic Hill Winery and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnetic Hill Winery And B&B Moncton, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing