We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine restaurant indeed!”

Red Satay Grille Rouge
Ranked #10 of 271 Restaurants in Moncton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Saint John, NB
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine restaurant indeed!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Not much to say here but that it's great!

We were a group of friends, and split three big meals, including a fantastic soup; all items were very tasty and very generously portioned.

Our server was VERY helpful while we tryed to figure out which of the appetizing menu items we were going to try.

I chatted with the owner and said something along the lines of "now wonder this place is the top restaurant in Moncton on tripadvisor". He then downplayed his restaurant, saying it's not the best food in the city, but they just get better reviewers. I found this odd and slightly awkward that a restaurant owner doesn't believe he makes the best food. But this was the only awkward thing about this restaurant. I highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank light_knight22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red S, Owner at Red Satay Grille Rouge, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for the kind words regarding our restaurant. As mentioned, we are truly fortunate to have so many great customers who take the time to review our restaurant and speak so highly about us. Thank you very much,,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    75
    11
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Saw that Red Satay was well rated in tripadvisor so decided to try it whilst in Moncton. Great decision! Won ton soup was tasty (and large portion). Jenny Special was a great recommendation by my server. Look forward to a return visit in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FBP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red S, Owner at Red Satay Grille Rouge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Yes, a lot of people like the Jenny Special and always positive input regarding the Wonton Soup. Thanks for the comments,, see you next time through...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had dinner with family there and overall it was pretty good. We had Jennie Specials and Pho. The meats in the Jennie dish were a bit dry but very tasty, Pho was satisfying but could have been seasoned up a bit more and fresh coriander would greatly improve the dish too, otherwise good. Also had fresh salad rolls with very tasty dipping sauce. Friendly helpful service, clean environment and we will go back for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkglauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red S, Owner at Red Satay Grille Rouge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
happy to hear you're enjoying the food and friendly atmosphere. we are fortunate for the wait-staff we have as well as the great customers. see you next time.. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always a great place to eat!!!!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Well this is one of the places that is a bit out if the way but worth the detour!! The food is incredible and if you are lucky enough to get Martine as a server, you will be in great hands!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red S, Owner at Red Satay Grille Rouge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Many thanks, yes it's a humble spot off the beaten path. great servers yes and tasty food. thank you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of dining at the Red Satay before going to a local theatre production. The food was delicious as always - we shared an order of Chicken Curry and Chicken Stir Fry Vegetables, along with a side order of noodles. Both dishes were top notch - the curry was especially good!! Our server was attentive and always on hand to top up our water. Overall a great start to our evening out. One note, as has been previously mentioned, reservations are a good idea as the restaurant is small and fills up quickly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red S, Owner at Red Satay Grille Rouge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
thanks for the review. yes, many people have been enjoying then curry in one form or another. thank you for the comments on the wait-staff, we have Moncton's best (I am sure) serving Moncton's best customers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Satay Grille Rouge also viewed

 
Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Red Satay Grille Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing