We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodd Moncton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Moncton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Great location. Directly on the harbour front where we took a stroll on the coast. Close to restaurants and city centre. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Very comfortable beds and clean sheets. Spacious rooms. We booked two rooms for a family of 5. We daughters stayed in one room and our parents stayed in the other. My mother complained that the toilet seat had stains. However ours were clean. This establishment was the least expensive in the city, according to my research before the trip.

  • Liked — location, within reasonable distance from Hopewell Rocks
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miumiu700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    213
    91
    26
    22
See reviews for
144
203
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in November of 2007. While the staff were very accommodating and the location is perfect, the room itself was way below par.

The first issue we had was the smell of the room. It was a mildewy smell, combined with cigarette smoke. As a smoker I'm usually not aware of the smoky smell so it was quite a powerful odour for me to have picked up on it. Our room was labeled Non-Smoking as that's what we had requested.

The room had two Queen beds, a small table in the corner with a little coffee maker and a very small bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, but the bedding had an even stronger smell of mildew/smoke.

The heat didn't work too well but it wasn't overly cold. However there were no spare blankets in the room, only what was on the bed.

The tub had mildew growing around the spout & drain and rust stains coming from the spout.

The room was overall clean, but (and it's high traffic I'm sure) the carpet was filthy. Normally in November the mess would have been attributed to snow & slush, but we had no snow as of yet. (though the next morning when we woke we had gotten a dumping of almost 2 feet of snow).

I was slightly taken aback by the quality of the room as (as is the norm) the hotel's website had lovely pictures of their accommodations. The rates were some of the lowest we could find in the city of Moncton so I didn't expect to be put up in a swanky high-end hotel.

I will say that the location of this hotel was absolutely perfect. It's right on Main Street in Moncton and within walking distance of countless shops, the local market, movie theatre, shopping mall, restaurants and indoor amusement park. It's also right on the banks of the river that runs from the Bay of Fundy right through Moncton so you get to see the tidal bore and take advantage of the lovely boardwalk along the riverbanks. For this reason I would stay at this establishment again, only next time I'll be sure to do a check of the room before settling in.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smelly Room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HoneyDewDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights and didn’t have any problems. We were in one of the “drive-up” motel units so we were able to pull up right to our door which was very convenient. We had an end unit and found it very quiet. The room was quite large with the usual set up - queen bed, chairs and table, TV, etc. with lots of room to hang clothes and store luggage. The bathroom was also quite large. Everything was very clean.

We didn’t deal with the staff beyond checking in and out but they were friendly and professional.

We didn’t use the outdoor pool but looked in as we passed by and it looked nice.

The only time we were in the main building (other than checking in/out) was to get ice in the ice machine. The hallways did seem a bit musty and dark but we never saw into any of the rooms so I’m not sure how they compared to our room.

The hotel has a great location as it’s pretty central to everything. We were a short drive from downtown and close to the highway for easy access to Parlee Beach in Shediac. The hotel is also right beside a Tidal Bore viewing platform and the hotel posts the tide times.

Overall we were quite happy for the price we paid (less than $100) and felt that it was excellent value for the price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

This is a 30 year old hotel in the downtown area, It's OK but certainly nothing special. The staff were generally friendly but the room was a real let down. We booked a 2 night stay in a 2 room suite which did not live up to our expectations at all. The whole floor smelled stale and the room smelled of smoke. There was no fridge in the room & TV reception was bad. During the second night someone on the floor above turned up their air-conditioning system so high that the walls of our room vibrated and it sounded like we were sleeping next to the engine room of a ship. The night desk tried to help but failed. We ended up sleeping on the pull out couch in the living area - not a comfortable night at all. The restaurant was OK - nice breakfasts but not included in the overnight price.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

The hotel was recomended to me for its location and on this account they were certainly right.
I arrived at night and there was no coincierge to unload the bags nor any help to get 2 heavy cases to my room over stairs and passages.
The room allotted had had a heavy smell of stale ciggarette smoke and after complaining to the clerk on duty I was allotted the adjoining room which had a musty unlived smell. I had no strength to argue and adjusted to the smell.
Rates are advertised before tax and hence beware.
Next morning, i understood that the rates are without breakfast and some how it was a misunderstanding on my side. True the site never says B&B...
There are no cupboards to hang your clothes & shoes or space to put the cases, plus the room could do with a touch of extra lighting.
There was an old model A/C and a standup bath.
Good enough for a single person on a budget for a short stay.
Or if you are driving thru with a car and need to park and stay the night.
However I spoke with the manager and got a slight reduction on the price and i guess it was OK afterall.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the fact that it did not feel like a hotel.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SAMY0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2006

We've been here twice. June '02 and July '04. For a modeately priced hotel, really nice rooms. and very clean. and both times, only paid about $100.

Great location, right on Main St. A short walk to bars restaurants and pubs. and being at the east end of main st, easy access to the highway (Parlee Beach - Shediac).

  • Liked — Nice Rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
0.3 mi away
Delta Beausejour Hotel
Delta Beausejour Hotel
#5 of 28 in Moncton
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Moncton
Chateau Moncton
#6 of 28 in Moncton
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moncton
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton
5.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
#12 of 28 in Moncton
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Moncton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Moncton Hotel

Property: Rodd Moncton Hotel
Address: 434 Main Street, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1B9, Canada (Formerly Rodd Parkhouse Inn)
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Moncton
#7 Family Hotel in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Moncton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Moncton is a three and a half Star hotel located in the heart of Downtown Moncton. The hotel overlooks the famous Tidal Bore waterfront and sidelines Tidal Bore Park. The hotel is only one of a few within walking distance of the downtown Moncton business district and Champlain Place Mall. Rodd Moncton features 97 tastefully decorated guestrooms complete with the modern amenities you've come to expect. We are the only downtown location offering free hot continental breakfast and free parking. The outdoor patio and heated outdoor pool are always strong selling points for those hot summer days in Moncton, and Rodd Moncton is the only hotel in the downtown core with this feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Moncton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Parkhouse Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing