We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for price”
Review of Rodd Moncton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodd Moncton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Moncton
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good choice for price”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Rodd Moncton for one night in June. We felt this hotel was a good deal for the money. Staff were very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and included much variety. From our room, we had a nice view of the river. The only drawbacks were that the hotel was a little farther out from town, and the elevator was not working while we were here (which was okay, as there are only four floors). We would definitely stay here again for the price that we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saved_by_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your experience at Rodd Moncton. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, the relaxing view of the river and most importantly the service from our staff. I want to sincerely aplolgize for the inconvenience of our elevator being down during your stay and thank you for your understanding. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    227
    98
    29
    23
See reviews for
155
220
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

good location, reasonable price, and is my usual hotel in Moncton for business stops, but most of all I want to comment on the free breakfast and the great job by Kim... she keeps the breakfast area well supplied, tidy and clean... she makes a difference compared with most other hotels offering a free breakfast! Kudos to Kim!

Room Tip: select a room away from the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to Rodd Moncton. Thank you for recognizing Kim and the service she provides to our guests. Our staff take pride in the service we offer our guests and I know they will be as pleased as I am to hear of your review. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback, we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreyBruce, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights, customer service was excellent, all staff were very friendly and helpful. Renovations are upscale and trendy. Comfy beds, pillows could be better, terrific breakfast with lots of choice including real scrambled eggs. Room was a little small for 3 people however the renovations and staff more than made up for the slight inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our renovations, Simmons beds, the complimentary breakfast and most especially the service you received. We also appreciate your feedback on our pillows, giving us an opportunity to monitor for future purchasing. We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review and look forward to your next visit to Rodd Moncton!

Warm Regards,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bad from beginning to end. Carla checked us in and she was rude and disrespectful. We are two couples in our late 50s (travel for biz and pleasure) and have never been treated so poorly. It was 4pm and she said one of our two rooms was not ready so we would just have to hang out in the one room for awhile (arrogant/bossy). Both couples did the paperwork, signatures, and credit cards and headed out in our car to the furthest room from the lobby. As soon as we got to our room the phone rang and Carla said the other room (right next door to ours) was ready. The husband of the other couple walked back to the lobby to get the key but Carla said she would only give the key to his wife as it was her name on the reservation. OMG!!
Then comes the room. The smallest motel room we have ever encountered with the absolute smallest bathroom we never could even imagine! Knees hit the wall when sitting on toilet! Bathrooms on cruise ships are larger! Door swings out and the light switch is outside the bathroom, behind the door. As for the motel room door. The second lock is missing/removed and there is so much space around the door that we heard outside noise all day and night. Oh but no matter because thru the thin walls we could hear the occupants next door talking and laughing. Next was the TV. Snowy picture on all channels. To wrap it up, at 2am was the pounding on a door somewhere. That happened on and off until 2:20.
We do NOT recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawdustsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for the issues you encountered during your visit with us and assure you they are not our standards. I welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further.
Please feel free to contact me at
tsteeves@roddhotelsandresorts.com or 506-382-1664.

Warm regards,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed our night at the newly renovated Rodd Hotel. We have stayed here many times in the past and love the handy downtown location. The (mostly) renovated room is really nice, great comfy beds and pillows with lots of space in the room. Part of the bathroom was updated (sink area), but the shower tub/tiles and baseboard could use some updating as well! We stayed right by the elevator, but surprisingly we didn't hear any noise through the night. The breakfast was fine, not great but good! We will absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the hotel rather than the motel and one facing the back of the building to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islanderx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent visit. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our downtown location and our rooms with the comfy Simmons Beds! Thank you for continuing to choose Rodd Moncton, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPTON
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The following is a copy of a letter I sent to the Rodd Moncton Hotel.

We stayed at the Rodd Moncton on Saturday 25 May 2013 and we were very disappointed with the room due to how small it was. It was definitely the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in but to make matters worse, the bathroom was miniscule, so small you could hardly turn around inside there with the door closed. I'll bet the whole bathroom only measured about 3' by 6'. If you were anywhere near obese, you wouldn't be able to use the toilet in there. Also, there was no fan in the bathroom so that did not do much for privacy in such a tiny room. NOBODY RENTING A HOTEL ROOM DESERVES TO BE GIVEN A ROOM LIKE THIS! PERIOD! When I mentioned this to the front desk at check-out I was only given excuses about this being the older section of the hotel. I don't care what section it is, it is simply NOT ACCEPTABLE. Perhaps, because I booked through Priceline I was given the blow-off but as far as I'm concerned I should have gotten what anybody else would have gotten. Then to be brushed off by the lady on the Front Desk only goes to show that Rodd simply does not care!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CSANTANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate hearing feedback from all our guests as it helps us improve our services, I will respond directly to your letter and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Warm Regards,

Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The room was small, but everything was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable. During the night, there was so much noise coming from the other rooms that we had to call the reception to advise them about it. It took them a while to solve the situation, but it finally stopped at about 4 AM.

It would suggest to try another hotel in Moncton. It was too expensive for what you get. We took the room "Standard Single" with a queen bed at 99$ + taxes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoddMoncton, General Manager at Rodd Moncton Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms so I was glad to hear everything was to your satisfaction. I would like to apologize for the noise and that you were unable to sleep and I am sorry that you found the room small, we do have different sizes of rooms throughout the hotel. Please contact me at your earliest convenience as I would like to discuss your experience with us in order that we may improve our services.

Warm Regards,
Tammy Steeves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton
5.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
#11 of 29 in Moncton
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Moncton
Chateau Moncton
#6 of 29 in Moncton
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Beausejour
3.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Moncton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Moncton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Moncton Hotel

Property: Rodd Moncton Hotel
Address: 434 Main St, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1B9, Canada (Formerly Rodd Parkhouse Inn)
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Moncton
#7 Family Hotel in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Moncton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodd Moncton is a three and a half Star hotel located in the heart of Downtown Moncton. The hotel overlooks the famous Tidal Bore waterfront and sidelines Tidal Bore Park. The hotel is only one of a few within walking distance of the downtown Moncton business district and Champlain Place Mall. Rodd Moncton features 97 tastefully decorated guestrooms complete with the modern amenities you've come to expect. We are the only downtown location offering free hot continental breakfast and free parking. The outdoor patio and heated outdoor pool are always strong selling points for those hot summer days in Moncton, and Rodd Moncton is the only hotel in the downtown core with this feature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Moncton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Parkhouse Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing