We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant 1-night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant 1-night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had to make a quick trip to Moncton and spent a night at the Crowne Plaza. It was neat for me because I had stayed at this location many, many years earlier as a kid when the hotel was under different ownership.
They've done a good job with the renovations. I would say it's a solid hotel in a very good location. On a nice day, theatre, pubs, shopping and restaurants are all within a very easy walk along the main drag. If you have a vehicle on the trip, there is a garage with ample parking.
The room we stayed in was quite spacious with a separate sit-down area. Again, the room isn't flashy but solid. The bed was very comfy.
We used the fitness room. It wasn't big, but it wasn't busy, so it was fine. They had all the basic equipment covered and it was all in good shape.
The pool was super busy with kids. It was very basic.
The hotel is easy to find because it's a taller building with the clear Crowne Plaza sign.
It was a short stay, but a pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    169
    74
    31
    20
See reviews for
91
105
21
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torbay, NL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a fine hotel.Clean and functional. Nice dining room and small bar on main floor. Reasonably priced buffet or 'to order' breakfast. Dinner was good and reasonably priced as well. Bar is basic, just off dining room area as you enter, doesn't have beer on tap, just bottles.

Room was very clean and well appointed. (I had a Queen Executive on the 8th (quite floor -sign says no children or circus animals allowed), I got this as an automatic upgrade from 5th floor due to my priority Club status.) They also provided free water and chocolate bars as a priority club bonus. There is an attached parking Garage accessed via the back. Only funny thing is the steps inside the front entrance to get up 1/2 a floor to the lobby.. but the have a concierge /bellhop to help with bags. Very friendly staff. The location is a little further down main street than most of the other hotels and eateries... but not by much..you can be at a nice restaurant in a few minutes walk. there was a mall and Hudson bay across on Main Street but they have closed and are to be torn down for a new stadium(?) I believe, so you may want to check in the future if construction noise is an issue.
The main st. side offers the best view, but also is nearest to the train tracks so you can hear and see the trains go by.

A cab ride from the airport is about 15 minutes and cost ~$25.
I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Main st. Rooms may overlook construction in the future, check before booking Main st. Upper floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife, 6 month old daughter and I stayed there as part of our 2 week trip to the East Coast. I opted for Moncton as it was central for where we wanted to visit.

There are not a lot of options in Moncton to stay when it comes to higher end hotels. We needed a place that would be guaranteed to be clean etc. for the baby.

They do their best to accommodate at the hotel. That I will definitely give them. However, it is just a dated hotel that needs some renovations. Their parking lot is at the back in a very small and dark 3 level garage. It's also not so convenient when checking in or out as you need to lug your luggage quite a distance to arrive to reception. There are very limited ramps, so if you have a lot of luggage and/or a stroller... be prepared to wait for the elevators as they take a long time to arrive and are quite small.

We had asked for a kettle for our room to boil water for making baby formula. Unfortunately, they did not have one for the rooms, so they did their best to accommodate by giving us a coffee thermos from the kitchen. It was a nice gesture... however, a coffee thermos... is going to smell like coffee... no matter how you rinse and wash it.

There are some nearby restaurants that we visited without needing to take the car which was nice. Overall it was a satisfactory hotel. Not cheap by high end standards. Not high end by my standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I booked the room via the Crown Plaza website as it was actually a cheaper rate than the Priceline or hotels.com rates (which is strange). We just needed a place to stay after a long day of shopping and the price was right. Our room was just fair, the top blanket didn't seem super clean (I have an issue with hair & fuzzies) but the sheets were fine and that's the biggest thing for me. The carpet was dingy but it is an older hotel so that's almost to be expected. Other than that our room was good. I've stayed at the Crown Plaza previously and it seemed the room was a lot nicer so I'm not sure if we had an older room or not. It was very noisy, which obviously is no fault of the staff but it did interfere with our sleeping a bit. It was the same night as Wine Fest which I didn't realize and so the hallways and the room next door was a bit loud but it quieted down when they left to go to the bar (with a short time of rowdiness when they came home at 2:30). These were not deal breakers for me but they may be for some people.

Complimentary buffet breakfast was delicious and one free parking space was great, front desk was wonderfully helpful and friendly. Put us in a larger room when they found out there were four of us and not two. Great value for what you pay, and at least 70 cheaper than most other hotels in the Moncton area.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators so you don't have to listen to people going to and coming home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laulau9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night while on business in the city. Free parking. Lobby is bland but room was very nice. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Purchased through Priceline so very happy with the value. Bed was very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FBP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed there this past weekend and found the room to be very large and comfortable.
The bed was so comfortable and it certainly had everything you would want.
On the down side the coffee maker didnt work.
I would recommend this Hotel for security and comfort.
parking was excellent as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbnersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road again
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is excellent, especially if you are doing business in Moncton downtown. Rooms are spacious with nice views, especially if you get a higher floor. The property is well maintained, and service staff were very competent and helpful. They do limit the volume on you're TV, which can be a problem if you're hard of hearing. Clean and comfortable, overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
0.4 mi away
Delta Beausejour Hotel
Delta Beausejour Hotel
#6 of 28 in Moncton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodd Moncton Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel
#8 of 28 in Moncton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton
0.9 mi away
Chateau Moncton
Chateau Moncton
#5 of 28 in Moncton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Moncton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown
Address: 1005 Main St., Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 1G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Moncton, close to local shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. A full-service 4 1/2 star hotel with 14 meeting rooms, an in-door pool, onsite restaurant, free wireless internet,24 hour fitness facility, and 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown Hotel Moncton
Moncton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Moncton Downtown New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing