We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of V Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
V Hotel and Suites
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Moncton
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were essentially stranded in Moncton because our train was two hours late (so we missed our bus to Prince Edward Island). This hotel was suggested to us because of its decent rates and nice quality - we are definitely not disappointed. The hotel rate is fair and includes cold breakfast, which is great! Rooms large and clean, bed comfy, bathroom clean, fridge, free WiFi, cable tv... also within easy walking distance to town. A satisfying end to an otherwise disappointing day for us. A special shout-out to the friendly staff on the front desk - the lady who greeted us was typical of what I'd consider to be 'friendly Canadian' and it was appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

A group of us stayed here while touring Moncton for the U2 concert that was in town. This was the only hotel we could find to book and the only one that happened to have a cancellation. The staff was friendly and attentive to any need you might have. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are dated. Beds kinda hard but a great flat screen tv and fridge made it all better. Rooms and the entire hotel are in a slow transition from past to present. The outside of the hotel might scare you a bit but inside the friendly staff will put you at ease. The place is clean and outside is much worse than the inside. I will tell you that if you have never been to Moncton before, you are in for a surprise. The entire city is so clean and friendly and helpful. Everyone that we encountered seems happy and full of life. Happy to meet you and happy to help in any way. Strangers greeted us at the food court in the local mall and told us all about how to get to the concert site. Everywhere we went we meet great people. It was a refreshing change from the USA. Sorry but its true.
Canada just seems to be more of a together kind of place and trendy and happy and on the rise. We went out on the town the night before the concert and it was a good time. When we came back from the night out, we stopped at the motel lounge that was open until 2 am and live entertainment. Just go with an open mind and be prepared to be transported back in time a bit. They had the two singers singing songs from the past and it was so fun. All in all this hotel was a good stay and if you don't have high expectations and are able to go with the flow a bit you will have a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stay at the Colonial quite often. Clean rooms, very friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaihtJohnliftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

After reading the review about the people that drove right by, I was apprehensive but decided to walk in anyway. The price was reasonable. Children stay free. We paid $80 plus tax. Continental breakfast is included. The best part of this hotel is the courtyard and pool. The Restaurant looks onto the courtyard with space for outside dining.The restaurant was very clean. Even the plastic covering the tastfully designed room was sparkling. The patio will be nice in summer when the perennials grow more. There is a new small climber for children between the patio for the restaurant and the glassed in pool. The pool was very clean and perfect temperature. ( It is a mineral water pool with hottub attached.) The rooms looked old and were small but were clean. Beds were comfortable. I could tell the carpets had been recently cleaned. The outside though which would be a major drawing card was shabby. I would suggest to patch holes and do more painting- esp behind the front desk. Heard they are working on this slowly. The day staff were very friendly and well mannered. Nicest I've met in a long time. Definately a good family place.- Not so much a party place based on other comments!- I hear they have hired different security though. There is a bar with live music on week-ends. Our room was right above it but could still get to sleep easily. Good Luck to the New management. Job fairly well done.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank homecmunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We took our two sons to Crystal Palace and to do some shopping, and we wanted somewhere with a good price and clean. We got an excellant rate ($89) for two doubles. The rooms, and the entire hotel itself is old. The tub is yellow and the rooms have in window air conditioners. But we enjoyed the pool and hot tub alot. The rooms are small, but again, we just wanted somewhere to unwind and sleep. We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room, but the front desk manager (wish I could remember his name, he was great), got us into another room with no problem. The rooms do come with LCD Tvs, refridgerators and microwaves, and there is wi fi available. They also keep a selection of movies you can request to watch on your tv. Beds are a little small, but clean and comfortable. Contenental Breakfast in the morning is as good as anybody's, including 6 different Kellog Cerials to chose from. It's not fancy, but it was a good value, and the staff were good to us. No real complaints, especially at this price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were booked to stay there for the night for my cousins bachelorette and when we arrived wearing matching tee shirts that advertised the occasion (very tastefully mind you) we were told we were not allowed to stay. They had had bad experiences in the past. Well I must say that anyone that rents a room there could be drunk and disorderly. And of all people we are not that type. I was angry. I am pretty sure that legally they weren't allowed to turn us away unless in thier managment policy it was written that they don't accept bachelorette partys. Anyway, we found another place to stay, that was much nicer, the staff was great and we didn't disturb anyone.
Don't go there, they discrimimate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank kegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I consider this a great find, although it may not be your cup of tea. It's right downtown, on a quiet street half a block from the Crowne Plaza, a short walk from many restaurants. Just a plain old motel, small room with ugly furniture but practical and functional design, and it was comfortable, felt safe, and was cheap. The front desk clerk was extremely nice and welcoming, eager to tell me about all the restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
0.7 mi away
Rodd Moncton Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel
#8 of 30 in Moncton
630 reviews
3.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Moncton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Beausejour
5.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
#12 of 30 in Moncton
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel and Suites

Address: 42 Highfield St, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 5N3, Canada (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Moncton
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — V Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Downtown city centre, this Moncton property provides Free Hot Breakfast and free Wi-Fi. Greater Moncton International Airport is just 15 minutes drive away.A refrigerator, flat-screen cable TV is included in each room at V Hotel and Suites. Ironing facilities are provided for guest convenience.A year-round pool and hot tub are available at V Hotel and Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your V Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Inn Moncton
Colonial Hotel Moncton
V Hotel And Suites Moncton, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing