We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
50
70
60
34
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
70
60
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast vouchers the pool area was lovely glass dome retractable roof attached restaurant free parking and breakfast door leading salt water pool price point wifi password rooms are small an older hotel the ac unit hotel restaurant the ground floor central location one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 233 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

A group of us stayed here while touring Moncton for the U2 concert that was in town. This was the only hotel we could find to book and the only one that happened to have a cancellation. The staff was friendly and attentive to any need you might have. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are dated. Beds kinda hard but a great flat screen tv and fridge made it all better. Rooms and the entire hotel are in a slow transition from past to present. The outside of the hotel might scare you a bit but inside the friendly staff will put you at ease. The place is clean and outside is much worse than the inside. I will tell you that if you have never been to Moncton before, you are in for a surprise. The entire city is so clean and friendly and helpful. Everyone that we encountered seems happy and full of life. Happy to meet you and happy to help in any way. Strangers greeted us at the food court in the local mall and told us all about how to get to the concert site. Everywhere we went we meet great people. It was a refreshing change from the USA. Sorry but its true.
Canada just seems to be more of a together kind of place and trendy and happy and on the rise. We went out on the town the night before the concert and it was a good time. When we came back from the night out, we stopped at the motel lounge that was open until 2 am and live entertainment. Just go with an open mind and be prepared to be transported back in time a bit. They had the two singers singing songs from the past and it was so fun. All in all this hotel was a good stay and if you don't have high expectations and are able to go with the flow a bit you will have a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stay at the Colonial quite often. Clean rooms, very friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaihtJohnliftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

After reading the review about the people that drove right by, I was apprehensive but decided to walk in anyway. The price was reasonable. Children stay free. We paid $80 plus tax. Continental breakfast is included. The best part of this hotel is the courtyard and pool. The Restaurant looks onto the courtyard with space for outside dining.The restaurant was very clean. Even the plastic covering the tastfully designed room was sparkling. The patio will be nice in summer when the perennials grow more. There is a new small climber for children between the patio for the restaurant and the glassed in pool. The pool was very clean and perfect temperature. ( It is a mineral water pool with hottub attached.) The rooms looked old and were small but were clean. Beds were comfortable. I could tell the carpets had been recently cleaned. The outside though which would be a major drawing card was shabby. I would suggest to patch holes and do more painting- esp behind the front desk. Heard they are working on this slowly. The day staff were very friendly and well mannered. Nicest I've met in a long time. Definately a good family place.- Not so much a party place based on other comments!- I hear they have hired different security though. There is a bar with live music on week-ends. Our room was right above it but could still get to sleep easily. Good Luck to the New management. Job fairly well done.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank homecmunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We took our two sons to Crystal Palace and to do some shopping, and we wanted somewhere with a good price and clean. We got an excellant rate ($89) for two doubles. The rooms, and the entire hotel itself is old. The tub is yellow and the rooms have in window air conditioners. But we enjoyed the pool and hot tub alot. The rooms are small, but again, we just wanted somewhere to unwind and sleep. We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room, but the front desk manager (wish I could remember his name, he was great), got us into another room with no problem. The rooms do come with LCD Tvs, refridgerators and microwaves, and there is wi fi available. They also keep a selection of movies you can request to watch on your tv. Beds are a little small, but clean and comfortable. Contenental Breakfast in the morning is as good as anybody's, including 6 different Kellog Cerials to chose from. It's not fancy, but it was a good value, and the staff were good to us. No real complaints, especially at this price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were booked to stay there for the night for my cousins bachelorette and when we arrived wearing matching tee shirts that advertised the occasion (very tastefully mind you) we were told we were not allowed to stay. They had had bad experiences in the past. Well I must say that anyone that rents a room there could be drunk and disorderly. And of all people we are not that type. I was angry. I am pretty sure that legally they weren't allowed to turn us away unless in thier managment policy it was written that they don't accept bachelorette partys. Anyway, we found another place to stay, that was much nicer, the staff was great and we didn't disturb anyone.
Don't go there, they discrimimate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank kegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews