We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk staff Nice... Only positive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Moncton
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there recently with some family when they were in town for a hospitalization. They put my elderly grandmother upstairs in a very tiny room.. was not too impressed but the lady at the desk appologized and offered to give a call if something else came up as it was very busy that day. Around 7 that night we had a call from the gentleman at the desk and he offered to help us move our stuff into a new first floor room as it was easy for my grandmother that way. We very much appreciated those two staff members (dark haired lady and a shorter gentleman with an interesting accent)... and that was the only positive point of the stay. The room was tiny but clean... but paper thin walls means I could here everything from everyone around me. there seemed to be a traveling circus staying at the hotel that weekend.. or so it seemed from some of the sounds I was hearing. Breakfast isnt even worth mentioning.. days old bread and muffins some bagels but nothing really to put on them and some funky tasting milk. Great place down the road called Hynes.. reconmend them for breakfast. Overall I couldn't reconmend this property to anyone other then hockey teams or men with "lady" friends. Pool was freezing and dirty as well as in a seperate area of the hotel which you had to walk outside to get too.. which in the winter i can see being hypothermic in a matter of minutes. Snow removal was not done until late in the afternoon as well.. the walkway infront of room we had to shovel ourselves out to get grandmother to car for her appointment.

Room Tip: make sure your specify away from team or not in the pool building if you want any chance of sleep on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klash59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for acknowledging helpfulness of our staff. Our smallest room is 160 sq ft. There was huge bowling tournament in town and we were fully booked and we apologize for not being able to upgrade to larger suite. We offer two types of bread, three types of muffins, bagels, four choices cereal, oatmeal, fruit yogurt, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, choice of apple & orange juice and milk, coffee and tea and if that was not enough to please you we will make sure that you have even a bigger choice.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 444 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this motel and will be sure to stay again on our next trip to moncton . The staff was very helpful the room was clean a good size with a big comfortable bed ,guess you could say it was an all around good deal , over the years we've payed more for a lot less . We stayed in the building with the pool once we learned that not all the rooms had inside access to the pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building with the pool . Very impressed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you IslandMe to take your valuable time to write the review. It will inspire our staff to even do a better job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had booked a much needed weekend away but just as we arrived got news of a family emergency requiring us to return home.
Sherry, front desk clerk gave a much needed hug, offered us fresh coffee before we left and offered to email the booking company to confirm our problem.
Needless to say we rebooked . Had a lovely stay with them...comfortable king bed , clean room albeit a bit small, nice complimentary breakfast ,relatively quiet even though the place was fully booked. Price was good and they are pet friendly ! Central location helps .Staff are all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you Mr. & Mrs. Wayurs for your kind comments. You made Sheree's day by acknowledging her great service to you. Thanks, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Other reviewers have mentioned that this "hotel" is actually an old motel with a new owner. That was a bit of a surprise for us. The other thing that struck us immediately was the size of our King Suite. The king size bed took up almost half the room. Not really a big room here. Although the room is designated "non smoking" the residue from cigarette smoke was very strong in the room. We had to leave the windows open for several hours just to air it out. Bathroom was very clean and bright. We had a very early morning flight out, so didn't get to sample the breakfast. However, we want to say right now that the front desk clerk was as pleasant and professional as most hotel/motel staff we've dealt with in recent years, and much better than a lot of them! Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a cheap, no-frills room in which to spend one night in Moncton, this will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you Tom for writing your experience of your stay with us. We will investigate the problem and we will make sure it is taken care of. Our front desk staff appreciates expressing your positive remarks about them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
2.6 mi away
Rodd Moncton Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel
#8 of 31 in Moncton
642 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Moncton
Hotel Moncton
#25 of 31 in Moncton
68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Suites Moncton
Travelodge Suites Moncton
#16 of 31 in Moncton
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
V Hotel and Suites
V Hotel and Suites
#20 of 31 in Moncton
216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
#11 of 31 in Moncton
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill
Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill
#17 of 31 in Moncton
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Moncton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Moncton

Address: 1062 Mountain Rd | Moncton, New Brunswick, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 2T1, Canada (Formerly Beacon Light Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Moncton
Price Range: $60 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Moncton 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Moncton where the rooms are clean and the price is right. Our superb central location is near all you want to see and do. Relax in our Indoor Pool (not heated). We are family owned and operated. Choose from our Standard, Deluxe or Executive rooms, full Kitchenettes and honeymoon suites to find the perfect fit for your style and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Moncton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton Hotel Moncton
Beacon Light Hotel
Beacon Light Moncton
Beacon Light Motel
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing