We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Next time I will find better place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Next time I will find better place to stay”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel during our trip to atlantic provinces.Receptionist was friendly and check in was fast.Room was clean . Shower was clogged and when I opened water it started spraying in all over the place . There was advertized complimentary warm breakfast ( WARM were just tea and coffee).Next time I would find better place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkadi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    108
    102
    67
    61
See reviews for
165
114
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

we had the queen executive it was a pleasant surprise. Kids totally injoyed them selves and staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. Any thing you could need you can find on the same road. It worked great for us

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This motel seemed overpriced for the quality of the room. The rooms are small and do smell of smoke. The pool was a huge disappointment. It closed at 8pm and there was no hot tub as advertised when booked. There had been one but it looks like it was taken out and covered. The pool water was freezing. The receptionists were both very friendly and check in was nice and quick. The location of this motel was fine for us as we have a car and are familiar with Moncton. It is not walking distance to downtown or the mall but is to some restaurants and bars. The mall and downtown area are very easy to get to by car though. It is not too far off the highway. Our room came with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. If this motel was priced a bit lower I would have been much more happy with it.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are obviously quieter but are accessible by stairs only so keep this in mind if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACD123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is one of the most comfortable places to stay in Moncton beds are extremely comfortable nice situation on the mountain road close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed at this motel in late March this year (2012), and while it was a clean place or sleep, that's about all I can say for this motel.

Our room was ready when we arrived, which was nice, however upon entering it, we were unimpressed. Not only did it reek of cigarette smoke, but it was freezing! The hotel was supposed to have a no smoking policy in the rooms, so either someone didn't obey this, or it was wafting in from the walkway outside. It was not a pleasant aroma to arrive to.

While I can understand them wanting to save on heating and perhaps turning the heat down while the room is unoccupied, this was a but much. We had to leave out jackets on until it warmed up.

The other pet peeve I had about this room was the bathroom sink. Not only did it not have a drain guard (I saw a toothbrush down there) but the taps were the kind you sometimes find in cheap public washrooms that don't stay on. It's frustrating enough to have to somehow wash one hand at a time or try and fight with your elbows to try and keep the tap on in a public washroom you may only ever use once, but to have to deal with this for a night ( thankfully we only stayed here one night) was near torture.

The room did have a nice new flat screen TV, and it was clean, which was nice, but you'd think they might have made changes the taps in the bathroom before buying a new tv.

This motel also advertised a free contential breakfast. This was downright laughable. There were a choice of 3 cereals, one tray of small muffins, a bowl of fruit that had maybe 3 things in it (that had been there when we checked in the day before), and a loaf of bread and a toaster (which I didn't see until we were leaving after having eaten our meager muffins). Now, I realize that contential breakfast isn't usually the most amazing breakfast in the world, but I did expect a little more than this. Not being able to have cereal (lactose intolerant) our only option was the muffin and maybe the fruit, as we didn't notice the bread and toaster tucked away in a corner. We ended up going to Tim Horton's for something a bit more substantial after we checked out.

This motel did have a pool, though we didn't use it.

All in all, while it was cheap and clean, there are most definitely other places in the Moncton area that are around the same price that are a much better choice than this motel. Unless it changed drastically since, I would avoid this motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moncton hotels

Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I checked in to room 39. Found a "bug". Brought to front desk. I wanted to cancel my reservation. They gave me another room. This had dried spilled drink all over the night stand. They hadn't vacuumed. There was a hair (could have just been left from laundry). I went back to the front desk. They tried to give me a third room, there was something dried on the night stand. The hotel person scratched it off and said it was nothing. He then went to see what I was talking about in the second room. He picked up the pieces of stuff off the floor. Picked the hair off the sheet. Did admit the spill was definitely something the cleaner should have seen/cleaned.
He asked if I was now ok with the third room. I wasn't. I said if there is something in two rooms I could see I don't know what is there that I don't see.
The reply from the staff person was in part that my expectations, for cleanliness, basically were too high..."You're not living in reality".

Room Tip: Always look over your room first thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, we loved the updated bedding as I saw from one of the responses on this site (The cutain should match the bedding tho) . The bed was ok, it squeaked with every movement you made (you could tell it was older mattress) but still had a great sleep. Loved the heart shaped tub which was very relaxing (the cold water tap leaked though hard to get it to stop) We went to go to the pool however it was freezing!!! We could only stay in for a couple minutes :( The staff were wonderful! Also didnt have the breakfast so couldnt tell you how that was! Overall id give the hotel a 3.5 out of 5. Also please update your hotel directory so it doesnt say beacon lite motel ....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Awilson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisha C, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Moncton, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we will work harder to get 5 out 5 marks from you on your next trip and you will be happy to see our new decor in our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Moncton
Hotel Moncton
#23 of 28 in Moncton
31 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodd Moncton Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel
#8 of 28 in Moncton
555 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
Days Inn & Suites Moncton
#12 of 28 in Moncton
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
2.1 mi away
V Hotel and Suites
V Hotel and Suites
#20 of 28 in Moncton
191 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill
Comfort Inn Magnetic Hill
#19 of 28 in Moncton
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Moncton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Moncton

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Moncton
Address: 1062 Mountain Road | Moncton, New Brunswick, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 2T1, Canada (Formerly Beacon Light Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Moncton 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Moncton where the rooms are clean and the price is right. Our superb central location is near all you want to see and do. Relax in our Indoor Pool (not heated). We are family owned and operated. Choose from our Standard, Deluxe or Executive rooms, full Kitchenettes and honeymoon suites to find the perfect fit for your style and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Moncton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton Hotel Moncton
Beacon Light Hotel
Beacon Light Moncton
Beacon Light Motel
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing