We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump”
Review of Gomotel.ca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gomotel.ca
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Moncton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dump”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Subject: Gomotel.ca
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick
Title: Dump
Jones Lake.

Don't waste your money! this motel will make you sick to your stomach!! Trust me DO NOT STAY HERE!! It's gross. Reservations were made in advance for a non-smoking room. We arrived at the motel too late to go to another. The room was dirty and smelled as if it was used for a smoking room. Cigerate stains were on the sink and the odor in the room would nausiate any non smoker. There were hookers going in and out of rooms ,and the cops where there. His girl friend or wife sprayed air freshener in the the room and said " there the smell is gone" my daughter said " no it's not then she sprayed air freshener at my daughter then he (the owner) starting yelling at my wife. We told him we are not staying here but charged our credit card anyways, we were on vacation and not looking for trouble so we left. This is the worst experince I have ever had with a motel and I will never use there services again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mollybart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Owner at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
True reviews bad or good are important - However when someone indicates events that never happened in a review , it warrants a response. I am the owner of this business, I know these events did not happened because I don `t spray children or anyone. As a matter of fact, we charge guest who choose to ignore rules $500 if they smoke in a room and we do not rent it again until it is cleaned (walls- comforters- furniture- blinds etc.) Yes we do have policies in place to provide peace and quiet time to our guest. When a guest is out of order, we will resort to police assistance and charge the guest $500! Qualifying my establisment as a Dump on the internet is malicious and i could find out who wrote these malicious statements I would consider legal action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
13
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Val-Brillant, Qc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I went to GoMotel for a holiday, for a full week. Our room was very clean, very nice and the bed was very comfortable. Cable tv, internet, fridge, micowave, conditioned air. The washroom was very clean. People who work there are very friendly and smiling.
And we have a great deal for a weekly rental.

I recommand this motel to everyone !

We're going back next year !

Ben and Jany

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benoit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.....
We have many guests thanking us for our rooms but
only a handfull will take the time to tell others and write
a positive review. Thank you again for your business.
Positive reviews makes us feel like doing more and is good for morale!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very good motel - the bed was amazing. The room was really clean and very well decorated. We could tell it was recently renovated. The staff was very friendly! The room had no carpet and that was a plus! We will stay there again and would recommend it to anyone looking to rent a motel close to downtown!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, NB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in room no 1 and we were more then impressed!! Really clean room, no carpet, really big room with a king size bed, the decor was cute and felt like home!

Great service!! We will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Room no 1 was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

When my family and I called this motel, we were told that we could see the room before we checked in and that if we didn't like it, we wouldn't be penalized with a cancellation fee. After we saw the disgusting condition of the room, we said we were going to be staying elsewhere, and they charged our credit card anyway. The following is a list of reasons why we left the GoMotel and stayed somewhere else, even after we had already been charged for the room.
- The woman at the "front desk" (basically a table in the porch of their house) was wearing sneakers, jeans and a baseball shirt (sign #1 to get the hell out)
- Room smelled like moth balls, bathroom smelled like rotten cheese (my friend actually gagged in the bathroom)
- No telephone in the room
- Towels were clean but had numerous brown stains
- Bathroom supplies (shower cap, shampoo, etc) were from the Holiday Inn and looked VERY old (the writing on them was faded)
- One roll of opened toilet paper was provided
- Found 2 spiders crawling on the walls
- Furniture looked like it was from a dump (scratched, dented)
- Dust EVERYWHERE
- Lamp with no lampshade
- No TV remote
- Microwave and fridge were filthy and sticky
- Dirty toilet
- No Bible in the nightstand
- Sheets weren't tucked in under the mattress
- Garbage/dust behind the dresser
- The shower curtain had a hole in it
- The shower was so grimey looking that I actually stood on a towel IN the shower with my flip flops on to avoid standing directly on the shower floor
- Towels seemed clean but had noticeable brown stains
- Sheets and pillowcases were NOT clean and smelled terrible
- Stairs leading to the second floor were unsafe and the railing was plastic and about to fall off
- In the room there was a sheet of laminated paper that stated their ridiculous 'rules'. They included doing all cooking in the 'cooking shack' outside and if we left the room with a "nasty smell", we could be charged up to $500 on our credit card for ventilation costs. Also, it was plainly stated that long showers were not tolerated.

Overall, this motel was disgusting and unsanitary and the person who booked our room lied to us. The manager was not even willing to refund ANY of our money and we only stayed there 2 hours before deciding it was too dirty to stay. I wouldn't recommend this motel to anyone! Also, the manager told us that he and his girlfriend (woman at the 'front desk') had just bought this motel two months ago, so don't let the other positive comments made before two months ago convince you to stay here. They were probably written when it was run by the previous owner and clearly better taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bree6079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Customer
In this case we had to check the reviews you write about other hotels.
You reserved 2 rooms on BOOKING.COM. The rooms you reserved were the lowest price rooms with shared washrooms. Upon arrival, you indicated you were not satisfied with economy rooms and indicated that you would simply go at another hotel. You were informed among other things that we did have regulat hotel rooms with private washrooms. You chose to view the regular hotel room BEFORE PAYMENT. You checked the room and indicated that the room was fine. You paid after viewing the room with debit card. You used the room and after a few hours, you came to front desk and indicated the room was filthy and unsuitable and demanded a refund which we refused to do. We notice you had moved most of the furniture in the room which we now believe was to check if dust was behind the furniture since you obviously could not find dust in other places.
We also noticed that in another reviews where you indicate about another hotel being creepy yet you did not even stay at the hotel. For the same hotel that you found creepy and bad we noticed all the other guest had a good stay! Just like our hotel, your review contradicts our other guest reviews.
What you write is diffamatory and mostly untrue. Yes, if a shampoo or soap that is good enough for the Hilton we believe it is also good for our customers! If anyone stained the towels, it was you since you left our towels full of make up stains. We like reviews good or bad but when they are not truthful, we believe we have to say something and hope that other do not find your review helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moncton hotels

Dieppe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recently spent a week at the Go Motel and had a good experience. I am a corporate suit wearing relo and I had no issue at all with this hotel. The people were very nice. The room was small but was fine. This is a small motel, not a big place but more then enough. The rooms was nice, it had a TV, Fridge, Microwave, decent bed, was decorated nice. I had no noise or security issues of any kind. It was a great location as it is very easy to get to anywhere in Moncton or Dieppe and is a fraction of the cost of the big hotels. If you have issues with small rooms and every tiny thing being perfect then this is not the place for you. If you want a great affordable place then I would recommend you try it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeZmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My transmission blew up on the Transcanada just before Moncton. It was Sunday so my family and I had to stay overnight til the repair facility opened the next day. Fortunately for us we discovered the Go motel just a couple of blocks away. The young people running it were very friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable compared to other lodging in the area. The rooms though a bit cozy were very clean, attractively furnished and quiet. A modest continental breakfast was tasty and included with the price. Overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco P, Manager at Gomotel.ca, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moncton
5.8 mi away
Hotel Moncton
Hotel Moncton
#24 of 29 in Moncton
37 reviews
7.1 mi away
Restwell Hotel
Restwell Hotel
#26 of 29 in Moncton
15 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Moncton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites Moncton
Travelodge Suites Moncton
#13 of 29 in Moncton
674 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#16 of 29 in Moncton
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coastal Inn Moncton/Dieppe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomotel.ca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomotel.ca

Property: Gomotel.ca
Address: 1650 Main St, Moncton, New Brunswick E1E 1G6, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gomotel.ca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GOMOTEL.CA (previously Jones lake Motel)is located downtown Moncton 5 minutes walk from train bus station. GOMOTEL.CA faces a beautiful lake (Jones Lake) which has walking or jogging trail. Rooms are carpet free and also contain fridge-microwave. GOMOTEL.CA was completely renovated and is approved by Canada Select. GOMOTEL.CA offers BBQ access and a cozy glass hut to enjoy smoking. GOMOTEL.CA is 10 minutes to Casino NB, Magnetic Hill, Magic Mountain, Beach and more. GOMOTEL.CA is 15 minutes from International airport. GOMOTEL.CA offers affordable short term weekly - monthly rates. Please note our office is open from 8 am- 9 pm. After 9 pm, we are closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Gomotel.ca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomotel.Ca Moncton, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing