We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an Acadian poutine”

Chez Memere Poutine & Rapee Inc
Ranked #116 of 303 Restaurants in Moncton
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Chez Memere is now the only real Acadian restaurant where you can get poutines almost daily ( closed Mondays and Tues ). It's a small restaurant &take-out located at a mini-mall on Lewisville Rd. They serve acadian food but no longer make " crepe rapee " as they were not selling enough. However, they serve poutines, rapee and tricot. Their poutines have improved significantly in the past few years and I would describe them as being excellent. They go for $ 3.75 each and you can eat in the 5-6 small tables inside.( self serve).

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 647rjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 12 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Chez Memere's is a hidden gem in plain sight being tucked into a small shopping type plaza opposite the Champlain Mall, Walmart, and the former Crystal Palace. A simple Acadian menu: poutines, rappe pie, chicken fricot for entrees with poutine a trou and pet de soeur for dessert. During our visits we have enjoyed each item, always fresh, hot, tasty, and filling. The staff are friendly and luckily bilingual. The dining area was never full but a steady stream came and went while we were there. They also have a strong takeout business so you can enjoy their treats at home. Looking forward to our next trip to Moncton for a stop in.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jeanpaull141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Good poutines! I prefer the rapee! Big piece for just $6 bucks! Where can you eat for $6 bucks! :D Could use a bit better ''ambiance''. Put a bit of music as there is zero ambiance in that place.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

After driving by this place over the years, we decided to try it. The Poutines, Acadian Fricot was really good ,just like it used to be when I was younger that my relatives used to make. It was much better than another place that closed a few years ago nearby. If you want to try this type of food no need to travel out of Moncton. The prices were reasonable as the portions.The day we went they we're sold out of the day old poutine which they sell a little cheaper, it's really popular . One customer brought his own Pot to fill. We will certainly go again, when in the area

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BERandDO_849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016

There aren't many places around Moncton where you get can an Acadian "poutine rapé". They also sell a few other Acadian dishes like rapee, fricot and pets de soeur. This place is very basic with only a few tables to eat in but most importantly, the food is delicious. Most of their business seems to be take out. The location makes it a bit tricky to turn left out of their parking lot because of traffic. Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Luv2travel_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Memere Poutine & Rapee Inc also viewed

Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Chez Memere Poutine & Rapee Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing