We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel with some drawbacks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Moncton
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel with some drawbacks.”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed at the residence Moncton for a three day weekend in a beautiful 2 bedroom suite... The hotel is well located and very clean... All staff were friendly and accomodating... However there were a number of drawbacks and a problem during our visit... As early risers we normally like to eat breakfast early... On weekends breakfast starts at 730 ... This caused quite a crush at 730 with many folks waiting.... I am a Hilton Diamond VIP and occasionally stay at Marriott products.. This was a very late start time for breakfast based on my past experience... Another drawback is the the parking lot is far too small to accomodate all guests... The charge is 10 per day but you might return from a day out to find no room in the lot... These were minor inconviences for how nice the property is .. however our problem was a guest in the next room decided to leave a barking dog in their room alone ... The dog barked for hours on end... Several guests including us complianed to management ... The were amazing how loud the dog was .. as it could be heard on the entire floor... Management tried to solve the situation and offered us a free night for our trouble... I blame their policy of allowing pets in such a high end hotel . Frankly at 200 per night in Moncton I dont expect such a nuisance...
While I was happy with the hotels response... without being reassured this wouldnt happen again we checked out early... Probably this was an anomaly. Of course the guest with the dog were to blame ... but in my mind the guests with dogs should be not be allowed....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgccme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    146
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
162
121
23
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

I concur with others' praise of this hotel. New, clean, large rooms, great amenities. Very good value for your money. Next time I'm in Moncton for business (or pleasure), here's where I'm staying.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKHuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with friends in early March and it is as good as the reviews say. It looks and feels brand new, the building and decor are beautiful. Flat screen televisions in the rooms, wireless and wired internet, very nice bathrooms. We had a two bedroom and I thought it had a cook top only, but when we arrived we found it had a full size stove as well. The room had everything we needed for a comfortable weekend stay and the hotel was close to shopping for the girls.

Breakfast is included with our stay there, however I found that the buffet area was always too busy and not well staffed or prepared. It wouldn't stop me from returning, but would bring our own food for breakfast, the setup just wasn't very good. Avoid if you can.

Staff overall were good, there was an older gentleman at the desk that wasn't overly friendly, but it didn't ruin our stay.

I would definitely go back to this hotel, if you stay in Moncton, try the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPettipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax,Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Spent a Saturday night.Hotel very busy yet fairly quiet in room and hallways.New hotel that is kept extremely clean.Wonderful modern decor with bright colours.Great lobby.Nice breakfast included in rate.Large shower with fairly powerful shower head.Good location.Downtown Moncton is not very big.Attached Keg is very good for what it is.Great service,decor and food.
Would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Western, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2009

This hotel was a steal from name your own price at priceline.com. I managed to get it for only $36 US. When the hotel rate was $159 a night canadian, you can't do better than that. The location is great with the hotel being right on main street, with the Keg restaurant being onsite/attached.

The room itself is absolutely beautiful and very large for a standard hotel room. You get a kitchen with full-size fridge, dish washer, microwave and stovetop as well as dishes/pots/pans. They even throw in a bag of microwave popcorn for your enjoyment. The kitchen area also has a dining table.

There is also a business table that you can set up a computer on easily. The sofabed is more of a high-class settee than a regular utilitarian sofa. The king-sized bed is very comfortable and the lighting is great throughout.

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic! There is a great selection of food, like they have at most hotels with cereal, breads, bagels, english muffins for toasting as well as fruit and yogurt and juice and coffee. Where this hotel excels is with the eggs, sausages, hash browns and the potential to make yourself a breakfast wrap. There are also cookies for offer. There was such a great selection of food that I'm sure I'm forgetting quite a bit. And staff keep the kitchen area spotless.

There were only 2 drawbacks, but the benefits more than make up for the drawbacks. Number 1 is that there was no bathtub in the room, for a bath - but there was a giant walk-in shower. Number 2 is the $10 parking fee that the hotel charges - but with the great deal I got from priceline, I'm certainly not complaining!

  • Liked — The fantastic breakfast!
  • Disliked — the $10 parking fee
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank k832905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

This new Marriott property is new, stylish, modern and very clean. All good things and things usually associated with Marriott properties in general. This is the best hotel in the Moncton area for sure tied with the new Hampton Inn, I would guess (haven't tried that one though). The Crowne Plaza Hotel and the Delta Beausejour Hotel are both in trouble... Anyhow, rooms are very large and everything is high-end. All rooms are suites with kitchen appliances, like all other Residence Inns. Minor details annoyed us, but the stay was great nonetheless; future guests and management read on... Large HDTV is nice, but no HD programming... what's the point then? A 42'' Sony Bravia with no HD channels, what a waste. Nice glass & tile shower. Sink and vanity/counter is outside the shower toilet area, (thumbs down for some). Regarding noise, you hear what's going on in the halls, but not in the rooms next door, which is good. Parking is 10$, but spaces are limited. Overall a great stay and a great hotel. The area where they need help is... they don't have that Marriott way, yet. There was no laundry bags, no dishwasher tablets, no mouthwash, those little things Marriott usually think about. The second thing is, the staff even if polite, don't know the Marriott way and they need to learn that Marriott Rewards guests are VIPs and should learn more about the program. Security was also lacking when we were there and people were partying all over the property, they should have a security guard at night at least, especially on new year's eve...

  • Liked — Large room, new, clean, stylish
  • Disliked — Noisy, staff needs some training
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Inn the last weekend in October. This was our first time staying at a Residence Inn and we were both very pleased!

The check-in process was so fast I was amazed!! We were greated very nicely by everyone that was working there. It was all smiles. They also had fresh baked muffins at the front desk which was really nice. We were given our room keys within minutes and were given a choice between city view or river view. Apparently the river side is a little quieter so we took the river view.

When we go to the room we were extremely happy! Everything was new and VERY clean! The room looked absolutely fabulous and the kitchen even had a mini dishwasher!! It also had all utensils and bowls and everything you need to cook. There's also no need for ice machines as they have ice in the freezer of your fridge.

The following morning, we went down for our free buffet breakfast. I am a very picky eater and was glad to see that the food was very good! They had everything from cereal to scrambled eggs, sausages and homefries! It was also a very nice atmosphere.

All in all, I would recommend this Hotel to anyone and everyone. We were surpassed by the Residence Inn and will definitaly be using Marriott again!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There is nothing I did not like about this Hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Melaniea85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moncton hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Beausejour
0.2 mi away
Rodd Moncton Hotel
Rodd Moncton Hotel
#8 of 29 in Moncton
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moncton
3.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Moncton
0.4 mi away
Chateau Moncton
Chateau Moncton
#6 of 29 in Moncton
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton
Address: 600 Main St, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 0M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Moncton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Moncton
#4 Business Hotel in Moncton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Moncton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton is an all-suite hotel in the heart of downtown Moncton, just 5 miles from the Greater Moncton Airport. Our 100% smoke free hotel offers guests the convenience of fully equipped kitchens, full size refrigerators, stove top coffee makers, microwaves, dining tables, and complimentary high speed Internet in their guest suite. Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton offers a choice of studio, one, or two bedroom suites - all equipped with Marriott's luxury bedding with plush mattresses and crisp sheets. Additional features at our hotel include a complimentary full hot breakfast daily for all guests, an indoor pool and whirlpool, and an exercise room - which are all ideal for the business traveler or for family fun. In addition, our hotel's The Keg restaurant is located on site and is open for lunch and dinner daily. There are also many pubs and family friendly restaurants located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Moncton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Moncton Hotel Moncton
Moncton Residence Inn
Residence Inn By Marriott Moncton New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing