We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I could give a zero!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mexicali Rosa's

Mexicali Rosa's
Ranked #110 of 222 Restaurants in Fredericton
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: “Since the first Mexicali Rosa’s opened its doors over 30 years ago, we have done our absolute best to bringour guests the finest food and drinks possible. Because of you, we have been able to pursue our passion tomake every event a fiesta. We welcome you to experience the authentic sights, sounds, and of course,the delicious flavors of Mexico.Muchas Gracias!Thank You
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I could give a zero!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

After our SECOND attempt at Fredericton Mexi Cali's, I will not be returning. What used to be my favourite place to have drinks in my hometown in Ontario, is now the place I will remember giving my son the worst vomiting and unmentionable diarrhea of live, as well as turning my and my husbands stomach. Pretty sure the musty old towel smell of the table should have tipped me off, but after spending 80 dollars on sub par food that left us hungry, I won't be returning. I was hoping to contact the head office to make a formal complaint about the health standards of this place... But apparently, no such head office exists anymore... Probably for the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Western43526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    30
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont ever go there, EVER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Horrible, sterile, unwelcoming, empty, atmosphere. Totally unappealing to the senses. Extremily over priced. Rediculous excuse for a "parking lot" you are pretty much forced to back out onto a MAJOR downtown street. There was literelly nothing good about the experience. Before the change in location this was my favorite restaurant, this was my first and last time back!! I will only be telling people not to go here. We walked out after less than five minutes, cancelling our two drinks- fountain pop $2.99!!!! And a dave mathews $7.99!!!! Rediculous. Once I was able to find a way to turn in the driveway and get out of there we went right across the street and had a fabulous time and amazing meal at mcginnis landing which I recommend completely

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank experiences2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was just not good Mexican food- everything was very bland. The enchiladas and burritos we ordered had huge chunks of carrots in them, with very little meat or chicken. The pop was watered down so much it was undrinkable. The only food that those at our table really enjoyed was a club sandwich and a burger.

This place could be so much more- it is really a shame.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4isalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good mexican place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

this place is good.we had ensilada and salmon steak.washrooms are clean the waitress are very friendly

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank titly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, NB
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's Canada; too far from the Mexican border, apparently”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Friendly, efficient wait staff, but we went for some Mexican FOOD. What we got was bland rice, runny flavourless beans, and a crunchy corn enchilada trio (The Mexican Flag featured on the menu) that anyone could have made better with a supermarket "Mexican food" kit. This wasn't Mexican; it wasn't flavourful, and it was far from satisfying. If you want beer & chips & mediocre salsa in a spacious restaurant to socialize, you'll love it, otherwise, no recommendation here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maritimeloverNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Rosa's also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Mexicali Rosa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing