We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, friendly staff excellent scotch, and good food.”
Review of Lunar Rogue Pub

Lunar Rogue Pub
Ranked #19 of 228 Restaurants in Fredericton
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great pub, friendly staff excellent scotch, and good food.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Typical pub fare, happy hour before seven, and excellent friendly staff. Bring your friends and enjoy some beer or drinks in a cozy and relaxed atmosphere. Just watch out for Michelle, she will sample your drinks taste test your food and generally make you feel special with her good natured abuse (she only charges double for that). But it's worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dan3048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    94
    33
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All ages welcome”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

When you get to a certain age you may be hesitant about going to some pubs where everyone looks really young. The Lunar Rogue is a place you will feel welcome no matter your age. It has a kind of old pub atmosphere and staff are genuinely friendly, and not in a phoney way. They make you feel they really appreciated your coming in. It is somehow relaxing and yet lively at the same time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Only had a drink”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We weren't hungry so didn't eat here. We did however ask for an IPA beer and had the harvest release from a local company (sorry...can't remember the name!). It was very good and my husband said the best beer he'd had in Canada. High praise! The waitress was very nice and welcoming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Good pub, great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited the Lunar rogue pub during Harvest jazz and blues festival this year and the atmosphere was great. There was a live band playing and this added to the authentic atmosphere and under the guidance of the pub landlord I tried whisky for the first time!
The pub is deceptively big inside and also had some nice outdoor seating with patio heaters which would have been nice to sit at had it been sunny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeychops181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Degraded by Manager”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We ordered a main each, two appetizers, and five glasses of Scotch collectively. When we received our bill, we had been charged for a much more expensive Scotch. We took it up with the manager, and were essentially accused of defrauding the restaurant and attempting to scam the place out of an ounce of scotch. The manager lectured us on the perils of 'playing with the big boys', even though we are all seasoned Scotch drinkers. Although he dropped the Scotch price for us, the atrocious customer service we received put such a bad taste in our mouth; we will not be returning. Otherwise, the food was decent and well priced. We had a regular customer with us, and she will not be bringing guests back. Simply put, we were made to feel responsible for our servers' mistake. In the future, don't degrade your customers and and assume the worst of them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunar Rogue Pub also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Lunar Rogue Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing