We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great late night spot”

Diplomat Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 226 Restaurants in Fredericton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 15 YEARS Reader's Choice Gold Medal Award Winner for Favourite Restaurant, Best Buffet and Best Chinese Food. Open 24 Hours.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great late night spot”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Have been going to the diplomat for years now,I find the take-out food can be sloppy and your best bet is to dine in even though it is pretty much always busy so you might be waiting for a table! Their chinese food is pretty good for canadian chinese although last time I had the almond guy ding it was more vegetables and very little chicken.The breakfast is delicious and the pancakes are thick just like pancakes should be! The cheesecakes are really good and always very tempting because they are pretty much the first thing you see when you walk in! Prices are standard and they offer half orders on many dishes which is a bonus. Service is pretty much always fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    238
    114
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally went”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've lived here for 6 years now and never made it to this restaurant before, although we do eat out a few times a month. Always had the impression that it was way too expensive. Too tell you the truth I didn't even know it was a Chinese restaurant. Anyhow, we went here for my birthday this year and really enjoyed it, other than the fact we all over ate at the buffet. The food was really good and a nice change from some of the other place we've been going to lately. The dessert area was a real hit with all of us because of all their fancy treats, ice creme, and cheese cake! The price overall wasn't that bad, maybe just a bit over average. In the end, paid under a $100.00 for a family of 4 all you can eat buffet which also included the tip. Definitely worth it, especially for a special occasion or a periodic treat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just average for breakfast”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is open 24 hours a day and serves breakfast around the clock. It also has what appears to be an overflowing buffet. I did not eat the buffet so I can't rate that. The breakfast menu was extensive, but the food was just average. The service, however, was great and it was a comfortable place to spend an hour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham Bridge, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chinese Food”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants in the city open 24hours a day... serves breakfast all day ..
best Chinese food around and their seafood dishes are so very good..you will not be disappointed with the food or the atmosphere..And also very reasonable prices and big portions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not our best dining experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was great from a plentiful buffet, however, the tables are very close together. We were literaly rubbing elbows with the guests on both sides of us. Management is attempting to over compensate their lack of available table space at the risk of not getting repeat business. We probably won't go again for a long while.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMcF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diplomat Restaurant also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Diplomat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing