We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fredericton must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fredericton Boyce Farmers Market

Fredericton Boyce Farmers Market
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Fredericton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized as one of Canada’s top 10 community markets, the Fredericton Boyce Farmers Market is the City’s traditional Saturday morning (6am-1pm) gathering spot downtown for fresh and healthy foods, craft, creativity and conversation. With more than 250 indoor and outdoor local suppliers from along the St. John River Heritage Corridor and across the Province, The Market (as it’s known here) is the place to discover seasonal products like fiddleheads and blueberries , ultra-fresh produce, including organics, meats & seafood, cakes & confections, breads, cheeses & homemade jams, fresh-squeezed juices & New Brunswick wines, artisan chocolates, specialty coffees & beans. Ethnic delicacies, from Chinese buns to Lebanese stuffed grape leaves and the City’s famous samosas, are also a big part of The Market tradition. A vibrant space with one-of-a-kind gifts, colourful and quirky, finds include pottery, jewellery, paintings, textiles and lawn sculptures. Breakfast is served up on site, either inside from the restaurant or outside in either of our two Food Alleys where it’s falafel sandwiches and buffalo burgers galore.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Fredericton must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Frederictonians always recommend the Market to visitors and new residents of Fredericton, and for good reason. One of the best local markets that we have seen anywhere, it offers a surprising range of ethnic foods for such a small city. As other reviewers have noted, you must arrive early to avoid the huge crowds that flock there every weekend. There is plenty that we have yet to try, but we love our favourites so much that it is hard to try something new. We love the variety and helpful service from The Cheese Market and that is one of the main things that keep us coming back week after week. My husband loves the lobster rolls stuffed with huge chunks of lobster, and I love the Lebanese chicken sandwiches that we have been getting there for over 20 years now.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4isalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    57
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Bustling market, well worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great mix of food and crafts. I used to live in Fredericton and this was a mandatory Saturday experience. Visiting recently, little has changed, and what has is for the better. I particularly liked the charcuterie vendor who had some excellent offerings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank aMarmiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great start to a Saturday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

A typically Fredericton weekend would not be complete with a stop to this market. It is one of the best local markets in New Brunswick. Fredericton beyond being the capital of NB it is also a smaller an more rural urban centre an has a diverse German, Amish, French and Scottish people's that all gather in this unique market to barter their wares.

Helpful?
1 Thank cefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best thing to see in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I grew up in Fredericton and have fond memories of the Market on a Saturday morning, there's always something new to see and something delicious to eat. I always end up buying more than I plan to, and whenever the kids come along they have a great time. So worth the trip. Get there early to avoid the crowds!

(PS people will talk about the samosas but they are nothing to write home about anymore, Patel's--which isn't there anymore--was amazing, the others are just riding on their residual glory!)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank EddyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An unlike Fredericton experiance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is Fredericton's true highlight to a week in this city. The people of Fredericton almost all come out to this event held weekly on Saturday morning in much the same mannor as has been so for hundreds of years. The rest of the week Frederictonians are more reserved and kept to themselves.

Set in the middle of many farming areas the Farmers market still remains the central place to learn of happenings in the community. In addition, you can get everything you need hear. Meat, Produce, German desserts, woodworking, fresh orange juice, sausage, crafts, bottled homemade anything. It is the most true Fredericton experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredericton Boyce Farmers Market also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Fredericton Boyce Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing