We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fredericton Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaverbrook Art Gallery

Beaverbrook Art Gallery
Ranked #3 of 52 things to do in Fredericton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are currently renovating part of our existing building to provide an enhanced visitor experience, as well as in preparation for joining the new pavilion under construction to the existing facility. Because of the central location of this work, and because of the nature of the projects involved, the building will be temporarily closed to visitors from January 18, 2016, until May, 2016. We regret the inconvenience to visitors, and look forward to welcoming you into our renovated space in May. The Beaverbrook Art Gallery, a gift to the people of New Brunswick from Lord Beaverbrook (Sir Max Aitken), features works by Canadian and British artists and a unique sample of works from international artists. The Gallery exhibits an exciting mix of works from its own collection as well as works and exhibitions on loan from other institutions.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Fredericton Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I love cruising around this place. The staff are friendly, the exhibits are interesting, and (bonus!) UNB students can get in for free.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    58
    29
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Dali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This gallery is a hidden gem - well worth the stop and a great Salvador Dali collection (I'm a fan). Reasonable and enjoyable way to spend an afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best gallery in NB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have been travelling the east coast for a few months now and the beaverbrook art gallery is a place that stands out in our trip. It is an exceptional gallery, absolutely beautiful paintings showcased and everything is eye catching. The staff is great, everyone is organized and friendly. Definitely one of Fredericton's gems! Can't wait to return on our way home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Though the Beaverbrook Art Gallery is not particularly large, the collection includes a number of first-rate pieces, dominated by the enormously impressive Dali picture. But other 20th-century work, including Canadian art, as well as older works by names such as Turner, Gainsborough and many earlier artists (going back to late medieval times) make it a fascinating and worthwhile visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Musicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very interesting art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

an excellent place to visit and see all the paintings that have been done over the years by very talented painters.
shows the history of many years ago.

Helpful?
Thank irish194960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaverbrook Art Gallery also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Beaverbrook Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing