We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

The Schnitzel Parlour
Ranked #7 of 222 Restaurants in Fredericton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Your German destination in Fredericton (Northside). We also offer handmade chocolate Truffles and Desserts. We are now air conditioned.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were looking forward to a nice German meal after reading the reviews. We love schnitzel and have eaten it often in different countries. Perhaps it was because we visited on a week night and there weren't many customers but it was clear the schnitzel had been cooked in advance. It was dry, barely warm and not very tasty. The hunter sauce on top was too thick, there was too much of it and it wasn't very hot. The salad of greens that accompanied the meal was excellent with a very good sweet, nutty vinaigrette. And the spaetzle was good too. The atmosphere was great and the service was prompt. I really wanted to like my meal but unfortunately it fell short of my expectations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MissBeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uwe K, Owner at The Schnitzel Parlour, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that your dining experience was not to your satisfaction. Our goal is that you leave our restaurant with a good memory of our food. I encourage you to speak up immediately when you are not fully pleased with your meal so we can act right away. Yours sincerely Uwe Kuester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    29
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Schnitzel Parlour (note the spelling)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I were very impressed with this restaurant, which is located a few minutes outside Fredericton, but well worth the little drive. The service was great and the food excellent. We were welcomed by the chef and enjoyed conversation with our server. One thing though, be sure you are hungry. for the portions are more than generous,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uwe K, Owner at The Schnitzel Parlour, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for the review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at The Schnitzel Parlour. Looking forward to welcome you again. Uwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We loved our visit to Fredericton and this was a highlight. My husband stuffed himself on goulash soup and Bavarian schnitzel and chocolate mousse cake. He ate it all because it was good and, as he said, maybe we'll never get back there. I had a much lighter meal of Nova Scotia salmon in dill sauce. Delicious! And so was the lemon cake. I wish they had had strudel when we were there but we loved our food and had a great night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sjp500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uwe K, Owner at The Schnitzel Parlour, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. I'm sorry that we could not serve the Applestrudel on that night. I like to use ingredients when they are in season. Hope to see you again and call before you come in and let me know that you would like to have the Applestrudel. I will do my very best to have then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wunderbar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Clean, beatiful little restaurant. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent food at low prices. I wish we had found this place sooner! And the truffles are to die for!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish_Soulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uwe K, Owner at The Schnitzel Parlour, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I'm happy that you enjoyed the German Cuisine and our Chocolate Truffles. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at The Schnitzel Parlour. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Uwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Authentic German food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Ate here 1 night but wished we were staying in the area longer just to come back! The schnitzel was the best, perfectly cooked. The owner and his family are german and know the value of customer service. Beer was good, atmosphere is very inviting. Low lighting but can still see what you are eating. They also offer homemade chocolates there. Would highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NY-HAWGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uwe K, Owner at The Schnitzel Parlour, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm happy you enjoyed the German Cuisine. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at The Schnitzel Parlour. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Uwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Schnitzel Parlour also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to The Schnitzel Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing